We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location....Best Experience”
Review of Peacock Houseboats

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Peacock Houseboats
Ranked #15 of 133 Hotels in Srinagar
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Location....Best Experience”
Reviewed 23 June 2012

The room provided to us was excellent with lake facing view. The staff is very caring though the service is slow. The architecture is marvelous, the rooms are very spacious. The best thing is that the location is isolated & not like crowded Dal Lake. You can also take a walk towards a splended garden which is on the back side of the boat. Enjoy fishing - all equipments are provided free of cost by the staff. We would remember this stay for long. There are no TVs in the room but you dont visit these places to watch a soap opera.

Room Tip: Ask for lake facing room and order you food well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarabhjit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    121
    21
    9
    8
See reviews for
174
95
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Its just because of one thing I have rated the stay as "Average", otherwise its a great place to stay. We reached the Nigeen Lake Shikara stand at around 7 PM and it was drizzling. I met the Shikara guy (Munir) at the stand and he called the houseboat folks to check which houseboat have been allotted to us. After the conversation he told us that we have allotted a different houseboat and we can go the place by car. I told him that I have booked the houseboat in Nigeen lake. But, he said as per the houseboat folks that is the one we have been allotted. We had no other option so we just did whatever he said. We went to place mentioned by him by our car. The place where he took us was operated by Tulip group and not by Peacock group. The entrance itself was very shabby, pitch dark - no lights what so ever and on top of all it was looking creepy and scary. We immediately decided that we are not staying here at any cost. We called the houseboat folks again and told them we are not staying at this place and this final. We can stay in any hotel but not here. After so many phone calls and high pitch conversation finally, they allotted me the houseboat which I have booked. We went back to the shikara stand and the shikara guy dropped us to our houseboat.

That was the only problem we have had. Once we reached the houseboat it was very nice. Neat and clean room, good & timely service and the most important awesome view from the houseboat.

Later we came to know from the folks staying in other room that the houseboat folks allotted the same Tulip property to them. But, they also bluntly refused to go over there. If this is happening very often then this very bad and indeed its a clear cut case of cheating. I hope Mr Bashir is listening.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Prabhat_vnit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We had booked a deluxe room in peacock houseboats through makemytrip going by its good rating and reviews - both on mmt and tripadvisor. However, when we reached nagin lake, we were taken to a small and old houseboat (named Jozilla)....and it was not a deluxe houseboat at all. It was an ordinary houseboat with small rooms, no provision for extra bed (we'd paid for it) and a terrible looking deck. We were not sure that it was a part of peacock houseboats (there was no name board - all other houseboats had the name) and objected to the quality of houseboat. We were told that all houseboats were booked, though there were no guests visible. As an option, we were shown another houseboat of Jaffer group (the owner claimed it was owned by his brother). This houseboat was decent but smelled of rotten wood and we were also not sure of the service quality. After lot of haggling, we decided to stay on Jozilla. What followed was bad food and terrible night stay. In the afternoon we were offered the option of getting food on the houseboat or buffet at a distant place outside the houseboat. At night, that option wasn't even available and we had to eat the terribly cooked food at the houseboat. As we had taken an all meals plan, we couldn't help it. At night when we asked for an extra bed, we were given an option to take two rooms in the next houseboat or sleep on the sofa itself or on floor using the thin mattress from the sofa. The owner said there was a mistake in our booking confirmation at their end and hence the problems. We asked for a refund of extra bed charges,which he agreed to instantly. None of us could sleep properly on the small bed in dark rooms and after having a horrendous breakfast (comprising of non edible upma, bland poha and dry breads for toast), we felt relieved when we checked out for our next stay at Pahalgam...Fortunately, we had opted for only one night stay at houseboat... It was an immensely forgettable experience - not to mention the non working 12" tv set, uneven and dirty crockery and most of all the irritating vendors who kept bothering us on the houseboat throughout the day.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank abhijaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aaaexplorer, Owner at Peacock Houseboats, responded to this review, 22 July 2012
I would like to respond to the discrepancies in this review. This client had booked and paid for a deluxe room for two people for one night. When the guests arrived, to our surprise they had two older children who hadn’t been booked and paid for. If we had known they were bringing their children we would have allotted two rooms when they booked.

Hotels and houseboats in Kashmir have a maximum number of guests allowed in a room. The maximum for Peacock Houseboats is 3 guests (unless one child is under 5 who would sleep in the parents’ bed). Our houseboats have a double and a single bed in each room.

Upon arrival we took them to one of Peacock Houseboats’ Deluxe houseboats called the Islamabad. The name board was clearly visible on the houseboat. Many other guests have stayed on this houseboat and found it to be lovely.

The guest asked for an extra bed so we suggested two rooms in another houseboat. They looked at the rooms but commented that the houseboat smelled. Houseboats are made of cedar – the smell of cedar is one of the things most guests love about staying on a houseboat! There were other guests who had gone out sightseeing for the day that were very satisfied and comfortable on the same houseboat. The guest decided to stay on the Islamabad.

In the afternoon we asked if they would like to have food in the houseboat or at the buffet and were told they would have food in the houseboat only. Later when I spoke to the guest he said food was fantastic. I am concerned that he wrote that he didn’t like the food, which was contrary to what he had told me. I also don’t know why he criticized our crockery as we have matching sets on each houseboat, which are always kept very clean.

In the evening, he again asked for an extra bed and we told him again that we couldn’t accommodate an extra bed in their room on the houseboat. We did offer him a proper mattress for the children. We even offered him a complimentary second room if he wanted.

I was very surprised when he stated in the review that he asked for a refund for the extra bed charges, which was not true as he had never previously booked or paid for an extra bed.

The “irritating vendors” come up to every houseboat both on Nigeen and Dal Lake. It’s unfair to single out and criticize Peacock Houseboats because the guest had pressure from salesmen to buy their handicrafts. (We suggest that if shikara salesmen pressure our guests that they tell the management and we will speak to the salesmen directly). This guest never mentioned to us that they were being pestered.

We will continue to strive to do our best to serve our guests with integrity and excellent service.

With warm regards,
Bashir Ahmed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Very Friendly and caring people.
We traveled Srinagar in July 2010, almost at the peak of Kashmir violence. We were picked by a trusted cab that was also booked by Mr. Bashir to pick us from Jammu. They are expert in local conditions and always gave us advise in terms of what to visit and what not.
One of the most important things we liked about Mr. Bashir was that he was not pushy on anything. He was not like buy this thing or you definitely have to go this place.
We needed a relaxed trip and we got it at peacock houseboat.
Nigeen Lake is very good and house boat position is also excellent.
Food quality was also very good. Home cooked and hot food is served always. Which is very important if you are looking for few nights trip.
If I visit Srinagar again, I am likely to stay at peacock houseboat.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anuj A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
202 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

This was our first halt in Srinagar. On landing at the airport, our cab driver said he knew everything and took us to the dal lake and kept searching for peacock houseboats. Then when we told him it was nigeen lake, he cribbed a lot and took us to the ghat where he said said shikara would take us to the house boat. We were already tired from the long day of travel by flight and road. The shikara on which we were to go just would not start saying it was too windy and risky. He then said it can be accessed by road and so we again called our cab driver. On reaching the location, we were surprised to see that there was no name of the boat mentioned. So, were wondering if were paying for something and getting something else. The attendants however were good enough to get us a nice hot lunch though it was nearly 4 pm. The interiors looked well maintained and the carvings were exquisite. There was a nice sitting room with well carved sofas and a tv. The food was served in the dining room which too had an antique feel. They said the shikara would pick us up right from there for the joy ride. Due to the windy condition, this too got delayed. Then, we went on a long trip in the lake. The dinner again was homely and nice. The room was comfortable and the bathroom too was neat. In the morning though we ran into trouble with a jammed lock in the bath due to which we had to have a cold breakfast. Though he offered poha and omelette in the night, in the morning, he said we could only choose one. So, we had a cold omlette. The attendants are not available always and we had to wait for them after they served the other boats.There was also a group of cox and kings who I think had their own kitchen and different food. I am still wondering if I did stay in the peacock house boat on which I was booked or adjusted somewhere else. . I was given to understand the nigeen lake is more quiet than the dal lake, but I think I will stay in the dal lake or jhelum lake the next time I go there.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prema_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aaaexplorer, Owner at Peacock Houseboats, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review and for the complimentary remarks regarding the attendants, the food and the houseboat you stayed on.

I would like to address your concerns. When customers book with an online travel company they receive a voucher. Clearly printed on the voucher is the location of Peacock Houseboats on Nagin/Nigeen Lake. If the customer has not elected an airport pickup the voucher clearly states that they should go to Nagin Club where they will be picked up by shikara (boat).

I realize that guests are very tired after their flights, but it is very important that they read the information printed on the voucher carefully. There are over 1200 houseboats on Dal and Nagin Lake and most taxi drivers would only be familiar with some of them. Many customers choose our airport pickup, which makes their arrival much simpler.

It was regrettable that at the time you arrived on Nagin Lake there was a strong wind. Due to the weather we had to explain that it would be too dangerous to cross at that time. The safety of our guests is always our priority.

Yes, you stayed on one of the houseboats of Peacock Group of Houseboats.

Name boards are on the front of each houseboat facing the lake. This is very typical of houseboats on both Dal and Nagin Lake. After reading your review we will put an additional name board on each houseboat on the landside. We can see that this will help our guests.

Thank you again for your constructive comments. We always want to keep improving. We value our guests and always aspire to give excellent service.

I’m sorry that everything did not go smoothly for your visit. We hope you will consider revisiting Peacock Houseboats. We would like to give you a complimentary airport pickup if you come again.

With sincere regards,
Bashir Ahmed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Srinagar hotels
0.5 km away
Akbar Group Of Heritage Houseboats
0.4 km away
New Jacquline Heritage Houseboats
0.3 km away
WelcomHeritage Gurkha Houseboats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
The Shelter Group of Houseboats
0.6 km away
Wangnoo Houseboats
Wangnoo Houseboats
#19 of 133 in Srinagar
234 reviews
5.2 km away
The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peacock Houseboats? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peacock Houseboats

Property: Peacock Houseboats
Address: Ghat No: 1 Nigeen Lake West, Opp Nigeen Club | Hazratbal Road, Srinagar 190001, India
Region: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar District > Srinagar
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 133 Hotels in Srinagar
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,521 - ₹ 4,396
Hotel Class:3 star — Peacock Houseboats 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peacock Group of Houseboats have deluxe (3 star) Houseboats on Nigeen Lake, the most beautiful, cleanest lake in Kashmir. Handcarved of cedar furnished with Victorian style wooden furniture. Each houseboat has 2, 3 or 4 bedrooms and has a carpeted sitting room and dining room. Bedrooms have western bathrooms attached. Cushioned veranda looks out over lake. Choice of authentic Kashmiri, Indian or Western meals are served by the houseboy in the dining room. Pack lunches available. We feel pleasure to Present Peacock Houseboats as a Guide to many activities and tours that we offer in the valley of kashmir and ladakh (Little Tibet). Since 1930 ,We have been in the Houseboat Business arranging a numerous activities and has a very wide experience in guiding tourists safely as Professionals. Kashmirs greatest attraction is the Houseboat:Life on the houseboat offers you Homely atmosphere, Basic amenities and your very own staff to cook delicious meals for you. Vendors Glide past in shikaras offering a floating market of fruits and flowers and experience not to be missed.The Houseboats of Bashir Ahmad(Peacock Houseboats) are moored on the serene Nigeen lake abashed with Flower Gardens .We Look forward to Welcoming you with the garlands of Long living flowers. Host Bashir Ahmad. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and TravelGuru so you can book your Peacock Houseboats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peacock Houseboats Srinagar, Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing