We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good spacious Hotel on the banks of Dal Lake”
Review of Hotel Sun Shine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sun Shine
Ranked #94 of 136 Hotels in Srinagar
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We stayed four nights in this Hotel,in the 1st week June,2012. Room was very good, bathroom was very neat & clean. Front reception of the hotel was very cooperative and helpful.Though some of the rooms are not Lake facing but still you can get panoramic view of Dal Lake from other rooms. The Hotel is very centrally Located, all the shops located are very nearby.Room service was very good and food served was also good. There are veg. and non. veg restaurants very nearby to this Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank prasadkalpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2012

I will not stay in this hotel again. It is worst hotel with worst hospitality shown. But having a good view of Dal Lake, from some of the rooms. If you are a non-vegi then don’t stay, as they serve only veg food. Rooms are too old fashioned, with not so good sofas and bathroom. The TVs are also old. I stayed there in room No. 216. Very down level hotel. Try the hotels like New Park or go in for House Boats such as Subnam or Khar Palace or Crown of India.

Room Tip: Try rooms facing Dal Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DebuChowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

The only good thing about this hotel is its location - facing Dal lake (though most of it's rooms will not be lake facing!!!)
Probably this is the fact which makes its staff arrogant and rude. However, there are numerous other hotels sharing the same location as the road is full of hotels, one after the other.
Hotel staff is rude, ambiance is not pleasant, furniture inside rooms are very shoddy and require maintenance.
Worst of all, as there are power-cuts in Srinagar, they will NOT provide power-backup in the rooms for throughout the power-cut duration while they will have back-up for their reception and restaurant. I had a small altercation as well with the staff for this and then their rudeness was highlighted. Next morning, they even had an altercation with my driver over parking issue and they advised my driver to "check-out" his guests and leave, which we had to do anyway that morning as per our itinerary.
Food is just OK at their restaurant.
Its best to avoid this hotel and look for some better one. I stayed there for two nights and was booked there by my travel operator.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anupam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We were at family tour of Kashmir, Gulmarg & Pehalgaon, in the month of December 2011. Our stay at SUN SHINE were marvelous. We booked 1 room. Room was very good, bathroom was very neat & clean. Owner of the hotel & staff ( Mr. Hamid & Mr Shahnwaz) were very cooperative . Location of the hotel is fantastic , its in front of Dal lake. Food were very awesome and yummieeeee, delicious at Bhojanalaya...
Service was very good.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kriti1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

We were at family tour of J&K, in the month of June2010. Our stay at SUN SHINE were marvelous. We booked 2 rooms, rooms were very good, bathroom were neat & clean. Owner of the hotel & staff were very cooperative. Location of the hotel is fantastic , just in front of Dal lake. Food were very good at Punjabi Hotel. One adjacent hotel Dal View is also avery good hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank GoluMaihar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Srinagar hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Zamrud
Hotel Zamrud
#66 of 136 in Srinagar
46 reviews
0.8 km away
Hillscape Inn
Hillscape Inn
#36 of 136 in Srinagar
84 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Brown Palace
Hotel Brown Palace
#42 of 136 in Srinagar
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Hotel Pacific - A Boutique Hotel
0.6 km away
Fortune Resort Heevan, Srinagar
6.6 km away
Welcome Hotel Srinagar
Welcome Hotel Srinagar
#37 of 136 in Srinagar
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sun Shine? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sun Shine

Address: Boulevard Road | on the banks of Dal Lake, Srinagar 190001, India
Region: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar District > Srinagar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 136 Hotels in Srinagar
Price Range: ₹ 2,524 - ₹ 6,989 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sun Shine 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip, MakeMyTrip, Agoda and TravelGuru so you can book your Hotel Sun Shine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sun Shine Srinagar, Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing