We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
One of the Best experience in my life

It was an Awsome experience. Riyas bhai arranged the entire package very properly. Every day was... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Shibisaketh10
Good Hospitality...Good Food...Understanding the capability of the trekker and move accordingly

Guide with Good Hospitality . The trek food was home made and delicious.. He lets you trek on your... read more

Reviewed 20 October 2021
Nikeshhere
,
Nellore, India
Read all 35 reviews
  
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
31
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
31
3
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great lakes riyaz bhai other companies interesting stories sleeping bags his team baba guide arrangements chacha organisers hospitality skills adventure kashmir services mountains
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

Awesome experience and especially the food.
But trekking in mid-sept month is a bit tricky one considering the weather.
But that adds a suspense to the trek.

Thanks

Date of experience: September 2018
2  Thank VAISHAKH T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 September 2018

It was just dream come true for me and my wife. In July 2018 we went for KGL trek also known as Kashmir Great Lakes trek. Initially we were confused for selecting a reliable agency for this trek. As this is Kashmir which is not stable most of the time, it was very very tough decision for us. We were searching for a trust-able agency. Then I have found Riyaz in facebook and his trekking agency. We have visited their website and found that it is way affordable trek than any other company. So we took our decision and went with it.

Riyaz and his team is very very good, caring, reliable and they took care of everything during the trek. The food was good, tent, sleeping bags were good quality and in good condition. They also provided extra mules for emergency situation.

The team was mixed with national and international trekkers. In our 15 people team there were one couple from Australia, one from Poland and one from Canada and rest was from our country India :)

Overall the trek was awesome and will go again with Riyaz and his team. Thank you so much for this life time experience.

Date of experience: July 2018
4  Thank Debarup
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

We spent 5 days on our trek. It was really fabulous time. The landscape was awesome and picturesques.
Our trek team ( guide, cook and horsemen ) was proffesional, experienced, helpful, carrying and kind.
Food was delicious. We would like to come here again.
Thank you.

Sylwia and Zbyszek from Poland

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank _widenkasylwia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

I have 2nd time going to kashmir and Will be Come Come again
Riyaz isok a good tour leader
I'm feels like home

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank mariaaauw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile


The words of Mansoor bhai, our guide for the trek, “I got my guide license for Rs 20. Now the rate in Rs 20000” reflected his pride & superiority of meandering for over three decades in the serenest of the places on Earth. After spending 8 fulfilling days with the crew, camping at seven pristine lakes, crossing large stretches of carpet greens, sheep flocks & grazing stallions and reaching the unexplored or little known places where you can enjoy the herbs and wild strawberries, I feel that Mansoor’s statement was as not an exaggeration.

This is a group managed ably by Riyaaz bhai (9419592631), from Srinagar, whose hospitability was unparalleled. Soon on our arrival, we were treated with the homely local cuisine at his place. The same ethos was carried by the crew, who were simple, sweet, open hearted, with lots of energy and wits. This may not be a professionally run group compared to its tech savvy & well marketed peers, but they more than make it up with the positivity, simplicity and trustability. If you are looking for a free-spirited travel, where you want to remain unbounded by the routine disciplines enforced by so called professional organisers (of playing Dumb charades, exercise, stretching, blah blah), this is the group to be with. During my entire communication with Riyaaz bhai (1 month) before we started our trek, never ever he brought money into discussion. He even customized our trek for a small group size (of 5), with same cost as that of the larger groups. The display of trust and hospitality continued even after completion of the trek when he took personal pains to ensure we get quality pashminas, apples and saffron to add to the sweet memories of the trip. Bhasheer bhai, our cook cum co guide during the trek, arranged for halwa and sweet parathas when we casually hinted of these delicacies. The food preparation, coupled with their warmth and energy, used to end our already high days on an even higher note.

I feel that it is a perfect group for the ones who want to delve into the Kashmiri culture to get the first hand experience of the warmth, joys and cheers of the locals, who would support you and push you during the entirety of the trek, challenging you to explore the unexplored. Plan with them if you are willing to set yourself free. Not for the lovers of Dumb Charades.

Date of experience: August 2018
2  Thank 93anujn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews