We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel with great location”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Srinagar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shahenshah Palace Hotel
Ranked #101 of 129 Hotels in Srinagar
Chennai
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel with great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012 via mobile

We were very scared with the past reviews about this hotel, but the moment we got in and got our rooms allotted, it was a very pleaseant surprise. The check in was smooth and fast. The rooms very neat n large and comfortable. The bathrooms very clean. Staff was co operative. Ideally located pop the dal lake with good eating options around.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Amitlapasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    15
    17
    7
    4
See reviews for
27
9
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
159 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

The hotel is very conveniently located oppposite Dal lake, we stayed in the hotel for 2 nights, we were four families. Recently there are lot of political meetings taking place in the hotel, which makes the parking crowded. The rooms are neat and tidy. The serving staff is very good and helpful, definetly would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ketan27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patiala, India
Level Contributor
119 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

I stayed in this hotel with my wife and two kids. The first impression you get when you enter this hotel is that it has lot of woodwork interiors with teak paneling etc. The hotel is right near the lake bank and good view of Dal Lake is there. There are other hotels and restaurants nearby. The reception staff is quite polite and lot of negotiation takes place before you settle with tariff. Normally due to terrorism problem the hotels offer 50 % discount even in peak season. This hotel also offered us 50 % discount when we told them that we had stayed in this hotel earlier. In Srinagar the circular road hugging the Dal Lake has most of the gardens and other site seeing places.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akashbansal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

in the month of may in 2011 i stayed with my family (wife, 2 daughters and our aunt) in the first floor suite,facing dal lake booked by my uncle sabir ahmed (gugu mama),belive me since i went back to srinagar after 20 years gap it was like coming back home (since we had lots of relative before) the rooms are neat and very comfortable,food and sevice is excellent.also with good house keeping,the restuarent behind ve a beautiful garden with big roses,the dal lake view from our room is superb,worth it price,its decent,healthy and safe too we stayed for five days in this hotel and would come and stay here again without any regret...! regards rahil obhan (babloo)

Room Tip: go for dal lake view its worth it,but book in advance for confirmation... corner suite !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank babloo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

good budget hotel in srinagar, next to dal lake. Good food, good rooms, and frndly service. even if u dnt like food, you have plenty of options nearby. still a good hotel in srinagar. take a evening walk on dal lake right in front of this this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tusharkhandelwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Srinagar
8.0 km away
Grand Mumtaz Srinagar
Grand Mumtaz Srinagar
#46 of 129 in Srinagar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.8 km away
Hillscape Inn
Hillscape Inn
#25 of 129 in Srinagar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Zamrud
Hotel Zamrud
#55 of 129 in Srinagar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Welcome Hotel Srinagar
Welcome Hotel Srinagar
#44 of 129 in Srinagar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
7.4 km away
Hotel New Prince Inn
Hotel New Prince Inn
#29 of 129 in Srinagar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.0 km away
Shaw Inn
Shaw Inn
#12 of 19 in Gulmarg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shahenshah Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shahenshah Palace Hotel

Property: Shahenshah Palace Hotel
Address: Boulevard, Srinagar 190001, India
Region: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar District > Srinagar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 129 Hotels in Srinagar
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,000 - ₹ 6,000
Hotel Class:1 star — Shahenshah Palace Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 48
Also Known As:
Shahenshah Palace Hotel Srinagar, Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing