We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serenity on Lake Dal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Butt's Clermont Houseboats
Ranked #15 of 563 Speciality Lodging in Srinagar
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Serenity on Lake Dal”
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We stayed with Mr Butt and his staff for four nights in July. We were met at Srinagar airport and greeted with a delicious pot of Kashmiri tea when we arrived at the houseboats which are in a secluded spot adjacent to a small Moghul garden. Since another group had extended their stay we were welcomed to the houseboat where Michael Palin stayed which accommodates up to 10 and is very grand and comfortable. Bedrooms are spacious, each with its own bathroom. Our tariff included all our meals which were excellent and through Mr Butt we were able to organize shikara rides on Lake Dal and car trips around Srinagar at reasonable prices.

Mr Butt is a very attentive host and his staff are very helpful and informative. While we had come to Srinagar to enjoy the peace and calm of Dal Lake we were equally interested to hear about local politics and conditions. The highlights of our stay were the shikara rides with Lassa who told us about the local flora and fauna and showed us the floating gardens, and the time we spent on the houseboat, watching birds and eating the delicious meals that Ramzaan brought us.

Through Mr Butt we were able to arrange for an excellent driver to take us from Srinagar to Leh, so after four nights we left the peace of Lake Dahl for the grandeur of the mountains.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AgedAussies_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    25
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
54
41
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

My husband and I were booked in for 3 nights - but upon arrival immediately extended our stay to five nights. Unlike all the other scores (thousands in fact) of houseboats, Butts is the only one with a beautiful garden. And most importantly it's in a quiet location with no other houseboat neighbours. We conducted a tour of Srinagar and saw where the majority of houseboats are based - we would have hated to have stayed there. It's horribly busy and overcrowded and completely ruins the point of staying on Dal Lake which is still very beautiful. Mr Butt and his family were incredibly lovely - they organised a driver for us and even took us themselves to see how the famous Kashmiri carpets and pashminas are made. It's incredinle and well worth a visit. The houseboats themselves are stunning - it makes you feel like you are back in the days of the Raj. And with the service provided by Ramzaan - who seemed like our own personal butler - we felt incredibly spoilt. Nothing was too much to ask for.
Mr Butt is very proud of who has stayed at his houseboats in the past - including Michael Palin and some very important politicians - and rightly so. And they are still coming - we just missed Bill Gates's right hind man, and were staying next to singer Belinda Carlisle. While you can't be guaranteed a famous neighbour - there are four boats in all - you can be guaranteed of a beautiful stay. And please do take the smaller boats to visit the floating market - and the secret canal areas. Simply stunning.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtimmshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
80 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

The houseboat we stayed in was really pretty and the intricate wood work and carvings took our breath away. Mr. Butt and his team surely know how to pamper their guests.
The place as others have mentioned is at a secluded spot on Dal lake and the view is good. Though it is too close to the road and one can hear the noise of the traffic outside.
We were to stay for one night at the houseboat. The lunch was delicious, especially the kashmiri saag.

It being really hot when we reached, we were provided with table fans in our rooms by Ramzaan kaka. He is a big asset to the place he works. He also arranged for the shikara ride for us. However, when we came back, there was no electricity and it had started raining heavily. They had just enough back up to keep the living area lit. We came to know that the transformer had burned and there would be no electricity for the entire night.

Since we had a 3 year old with us, we decided to move to an alternate place for the night. Inspite of the situation, Ramzaan served us dinner, Mr. Butt was always on the phone and his son was helping us find another hotel. He even offered to drop us to the other hotel in his car. They were truly apologetic that this had happened. So much so that they refused to take any money from us while we were checking out for the day spent at the houseboat. We had to come back next morning and after a lot of insisting, Mr Butt relented to let us pay for the services we had availed.

We really enjoyed oursleves in the short time that we spent at the houseboat and were really impressed by Mr Butt and his team's customer friendly attitude. I dont think they treat people as customers but more as guests and that is what makes all the difference!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrs_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

Just returned from a 5 days trip to kashmir with Mr. Butt's Houseboat as our base. Once we reached here, it was difficult to want to go to other places. Beautifully maintained houseboats in a secluded part of Dal lake is just the perfect place to destress. And it has its own beautiful garden with a variety of flowers, a miniature of Nishat/Shalimar gardens of Srinagar. Houseboat interiors is clean and well maintained. Lots of natural flowers adorn the room. Food is good and the fruits in the room seem hand-picked. We loved the mangoes and cherries.

Mr. Butt himself is a gentleman and very caring about the guests. When he heard that my daughter had a fever, he found out a good doctor and sent us in his own car and ensured that she was well taken care. Thankfully, my daughter recovered next day.

The morning tea on the houseboat balcony, watching the placid dal lake and the sun rise beyond the snow capped mountains makes life feel sooo good. My little daughter loved the occasional visits of the ducks and different kinds of birds around our boat. The Shikara ride in the evening makes you feel like a king.

I am going to visit this place again ! hopefully next year itself.

-Amit

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank luckyamit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Streatley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

The welcome we got on arrival was amazing. Mr Butt is a really lovely man.
The houseboat exceeded our expectations. Given the problems in Kashmir over recent years it is amazing that Mr Butt has managed to keep going.
The staff were all exzcellent. Shaffi met us at the airport and transferred us to the houseboats. He was also our driver for our trips to Sonamarg. Gulmarg amd Pahalagam. He knew all the places to stop for the best photographs. He arranged our guides and pony treks. When we asked to stoip off to look around one of the villages going to Pahalagam he came round with us and we were invited to take some tea with one of the families.
Lassa the shikara boatman was a great guide for the birds on the lake and would put the boat into the best position for photographibg the birds. I got some wonderful shots of the kites in flight.
Ramzan the butler was a gem. Nothing was too much trouble, from early morning coffees to the Kasmiri tea on our return from a day out.
The scenery in Kashmir is fantastic. The people friendlky and welcoming. We always felt safe walking throught the local markets.
We will be back again next year.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Srinagar hotels
2.5 km away
WelcomHeritage Gurkha Houseboats
2.5 km away
New Jacquline Heritage Houseboats
2.7 km away
Peacock Houseboats
Peacock Houseboats
#12 of 131 in Srinagar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
The Shelter Group of Houseboats
6.9 km away
The Lalit Grand Palace Srinagar
5.5 km away
Vivanta By Taj Dal View
Vivanta By Taj Dal View
#5 of 131 in Srinagar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butt's Clermont Houseboats? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butt's Clermont Houseboats

Property: Butt's Clermont Houseboats
Address: On Proper Dal lake,Hazratbal,, Srinagar 190006, India
Region: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Srinagar District > Srinagar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 563 Speciality Lodging in Srinagar
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,191 - ₹ 17,001
Hotel Class:3 star — Butt's Clermont Houseboats 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Butts Clermont Houseboats are moored on the western shores of Dal Lake besides an old Mughal Garden believed to have been built by the Emperor Akbar and called the Garden of the Morning Breeze. BCH is the ONLY houseboat lodgings in Srinagar which combines a secluded and private location with glorious views across Dal Lake to snow covered peaks. Their essence is- Peace and Rest.Just next to the houseboats you can step directly onto Naseem Bagh-the beautiful mughal garden with more than 400 years old Famous Chinar Trees. BCH has a wide spectrum of International/Domestic clientele including Ambassadors, Head of States, Entertainment personalities, Journalists, Members of International Organizations, Business people and discerning travelers from numerous countries. BCH have been awarded for providing one of the best hospitality services by Washington Post, New York Times, Times Magazine, National Geographic, Swagat (In flight magazine of Air India). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Butt's Clermont Houseboats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butt's Clermont Houseboats Srinagar, Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing