We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline$58
Agoda.com$58
eDreams$58
Tripadvisor$58
StayForLong
Expedia.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
24
7
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
24
7
5
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2018

Best budget hotel, safe for girls, family. Peaceful location, easily accessable to visit Srinagar and nearby places. Has lawn with beautiful flowers. Staff is well behaved and helpful. Provides vehicle on hire. We stayed in ground floor rooms, which was good for old age people.

Room tip: Request ground floor rooms for old age people.
Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DayTrip10894002719
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelashai1, Manager at OYO 5735 Hotel Ashai, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2018

Thanks for staying with us. It was a pleasure hosting. Looking forward to your next visit.
Thankyou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

Rooms: we were a group of five and booked two double bed rooms though airbnb. Rooms were clean and bed was neatly done

Washroom: Neat and clean. Oyo branded toiletries. The shower was not properly functioning and water heater was pathetically slow

Food and restaurant: The hotel has a dining space cum restaurant for in-house guests. Food is ok. We have had better food in Srinagar. But since it was the day of curfew, getting food in itself was welcoming.

Gardens: Very well maintained.

Hotel management: Friendly and welcoming. Went extra mile for our requirements

Location of the hostel: The hotel is located in one of the most affluent areas of srinagar. Walking distance from zero bridge. Again since it was curfew day, we did not go out to explore the area

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank vivek_enzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelashai1, Manager at OYO 5735 Hotel Ashai, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2018

Thanks for staying with us. It was a pleasure hosting. Looking forward to your next visit. Thankyou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018

the hotel was a great stay. nice location, good staff behaviour, great rooms. rooms were very clean. property is very near to dal lake and the road. and even then it is very calm place to stay. no much hustle bustle. good food. overall we enjoyed the stay.

Room tip: great rooms
Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PrateekG289
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelashai1, Front Office Manager at OYO 5735 Hotel Ashai, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2018

Thanks for staying with us. It was a pleasure hosting. Looking forward to your next visit. Thankyou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed in this Hotel in 1st week of April. Initially we booked it for 1 day. As our 1st day was very comfortable. We came back again and stayed for another 3 days. Any one looking for a basic and comfortable stay can book this Hotel. Actually it is more of a Home stay. All basic things are taken care of. The rooms bathrooms bedsheets were very clean. The manager and staff were also very good behaving. It is approx 03 kms from Dal lake area. One can reach dal lake by paying 70 to 80 rs by auto. One can definitely use it as a base for travelling to places like Gulmarg and Sonamarg.
We went to Gulmarg twice as 1st time we were having a bookinh for 1 night but that day was foggy so we couldnt mafe it to Phase 2. As we were having 1 day buffer this time we went and return same day from Ashai and we were lucky to have fresh snowfall. It takes only 1 hour 15 mins from Srinagar to Gulmarg hence fro. My experience i will not advise to stay at Gulmarg. Second important thing Gulmarg is extremely cold compared to Srinagar. For persons like us which are from Mumbai or ones who are aged and with babies should stay at sringar. At gondola 3 to 4 hrs are sufficient to enjoy. However in the morning at Gondola their is a queue for aprox 1 hour so be prepared for that. As soon as u reach Gondola. Please take 1st gate which will come on left it is short cut has proper road and one can walk for 15 mins and reach Gondola. Horses are not at all required on this route. Horse owners will try to take u from other gate from where they can charge u heavily. Pretend as u r coming their for second time so that no one can play smarter with you. Before 15 kms from Gulmarg their is Tanmarg from where u can hire shoes and jackets ay reasonable rate of 150 per pair. They wl quote more but they will negotiate. Their are many shops in tangmarg more than Gulmarg. At Kashmir almost everyone gets commission for getting customers to ur place Drivers Guides ghodawala etc pl tell everyone firmly that we will hunt on our own or u already has numbers of few people suggested by ur friends including shoes jackets shops. Pl check jackets v well most of time their pockets are torn. My advise as u wl be travelling to Gulmarg Pahalgam Sonamarg everywhere u wl hire gum boots better to buy at same cost plus you will be sure u have right size and are hygienic. At Gondola many guides will follow and bother you just avoid and firmly refuse that u dont want their services. Because at Gulmarg gondola trolley service is very good infrastructure is v good hence while travelling with kid and senior citizens u wl not face any problem. Some people will try to break the queue these so called guides help their clients. But pl avoid such a nuisance as we are educated and should not support such a nuisance. When sum1 tries to do pl make noise and inform security then they will help u. At kashmir many places u have to make noise and be firm to avoid craps . Pl do that however do not be abusive and avoid discussing politics with locals.
Phase 1 costs 740 and phase 2 950 but it is worth going their even trolleys are better and less crowded. Lastly pl make it clear to the driver that u will spend the whole day and he should not bother u for leaving early. This is v important. We hired Cab from Taxi stand no 20. It is managed by a gentleman and driver of that stand has lot of respect for him i found him to be a thorough gentleman. Hope my review will be useful

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank dheeraj123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zubair A, Guest Relations Manager at OYO 5735 Hotel Ashai, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

We are honoured that your stay was pleasent. Its a pleasure that you enjoyed your stay.
Thankyou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Spacious rooms, nice location, cordial staff, soothing ambience - Hotel Ashai is a nice place to stay. Reaching Dal Gate from there takes only around 10 minutes via Autorickshaw, and basic amenities like medical shop, supermarket etc. are located at walking distance from the hotel. So, all in all, its a decent deal ! The food, though, was a little expensive and not that good.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank amit k
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zubair A, Manager at OYO 5735 Hotel Ashai, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thanks a lot Amit. It was a pleasure having you at our place. We are sorry that the food provided was not upto the expectation. We will surely try our best to rectify the issue. Thanks once again for being at our place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews