We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value-for-money stay in Katra”
Review of Hotel Varun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Varun
Ranked #1 of 151 Speciality Lodging in Katra
Mumbai, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good value-for-money stay in Katra”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Hotel Katra's offering is well suited to the needs of a Vaishno Devi pilgrim. I would also recommend it for families (basically if women / children are travelling). My wife and I stayed here in August 2012.

Pros:
1. Rooms are basic, but nice. Most of a pilgrim's time will be spent trekking / on a horse to the Vaishno Devi shrine. Your hotel is Katra will largely be used to rest and have a hot water bath. Hotel Varun is good for both
2. Services offered are tuned to requirements of pilgrims. They had a massage which was at a good price point (around INR 200)
3. Complimentary pick-up-and-drop service to and from Banganga (the starting point of the Vaishno Devi trek)
4. 24 hrs hot water, plus the hotel has a generator in case the power fails
5. Value for money pricing
6. A cheerful manager enhanced our experience
7. The hotel makes small adjustments. We had a room booked for two days starting the day we completed the Vaishno Devi trek. We did not have any booking for the day we arrived (we needed a room only for an hour to take a bath and change). The manager offered us a room for 1 hour without charge. The hotel also held our luggage as we departed on a trek, to come back and stay with them for the next 2 days
8. They have a lift (which will be thanked by legs worn out from the Vaishno Devi trek)

Cons:
1. There were lots of baby cockroaches in the room, and especially the bathroom. They were really tiny, so we got by
2. The food was average, at best

All in all, I would recommend this hotel, and will stay there if I ever visit Katra again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    34
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
45
15
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed here for two nights - 01st to 03rd July 2012. Located towards the end of the busy hotels' strip-that was a relief! It has a lot of plus points. Drop/pick up from Banganga (starting point for the 14km trek), though, at 2am return we did take a rick. Really good staff and manager,(we had a Mr.Pandit). We had booked a deluxe a/c room which was fairly decent. At the start we needed to remind them of a couple of things but they quickly got the hang of it. The towels were a bit run-down but the bathroom was clean. They have a lift - that's handy for people who can't do the stairs. I'd suggest you stick to simple desi food-avoid the hi-fi stuff. The foyer is good. We enjoyed sitting there chatting to fellow yatris and sharing experiences. All in all, I found it Value For Money. Good people and a nice environment. Jai Mata Di.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Trikuta mountain are a bit small so we opted for the one facing the road. Carry you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeenaSheth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 396 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

My husband & I visit Katra every year in the month of April. It is a ritual that we have being following for years. We have now become experts in everything KATRA! After traveling there for so many years, most of the hotels in Katra are tried & tested by us! We have finally settled for this hotel now, because of the following important reasons:

1) Location: Every year we take the helicopter to Sanjichat & the easiest & closet way to the helipad is from Hotel Varun. The hotel provides free pick up & drop to the check point of the helipad, which is very comfortable.

2) Rooms: The rooms are quite big, neat & clean. The bathrooms are nice & big.

3) Service: Though we always try out different eating joints in Katra( there are many ), we need room service, which is not bad considering the fact its not a 5 star & we are not paying in dollars!

4) Cheap accommodation: We always take a package for 1 night 2 days with breakfast, transport, help tickets & special entry passes for the darshan & it turns out to be very cheap for this particular hotel.

Keeping in mind the fact, that we have to spend only a night or two, this suits our budget & theres nothing to complain. Its seems to a safe & right bet for Katra.

Room Tip: Take a room facing the beautiful mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monica j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodhpur, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I would rate hotel Varun very highly just because of the fact that someone as good as a manager Mr. Ishaan is a part of it . Sometimes you wonder what a huge impact an individual can have on your opinion about an organisation's services . I just remember an old saying that '' an organisation is only as good or bad as its employees are ". Coming on to other things , its a good hotel with good parking space and waiting area . Complementary pickup and drop to Banganga is just WOW ! You never need to remind twice . Early FOC checkin was given which was superb. As there is always scope of improvement , i feel room service can be a bit quickrrr!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaiND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gurgaon
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Not a good place. Dirty and smelly rooms and toilets.even the room keys was dirty and oily.
The restaurant staff have no sense of cleanliness and hygiene.the hand wash area had no soap and a the wash basin was dirty and broken.the food is also not cooked properly.the sandwiches were topped with unwashed cabbage.all seemed very 3rd grade.I had to ask the staff to change the bed sheets and clean the toilet seat.there was no soap gel or shampoo. The towels were old and stained.the carpet in the room was full of dust.the tv remote was broken and dirty. Everything it seemed wanted cleaning.lack of supervision and taste.

Room Tip: I would suggest you avoid this place if you are traveling with children or even otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank planmytour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katra hotels
1.7 km away
Hotel Shree Hari Niwas
1.8 km away
The Atrium on the Greens
2.3 km away
Hotel Asia Vaishno Devi
Hotel Asia Vaishno Devi
#18 of 60 in Katra
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Hotel Maharaja Inn
Hotel Maharaja Inn
#10 of 60 in Katra
36 reviews
5.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Vaishno
0.0 km away
Hotel Ashirwad
Hotel Ashirwad
#41 of 102 in Katra
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Varun? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Varun

Property: Hotel Varun
Address: Kashmir Road, Katra 182301, India
Region: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Jammu > Reasi District > Katra
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 151 Speciality Lodging in Katra
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,734 - ₹ 4,623
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Varun 1*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MakeMyTrip, TravelGuru, Agoda, ClearTrip and Yatra so you can book your Hotel Varun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Varun Katra, Jammu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing