We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved it and would like visit again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Asia Vaishno Devi
Ranked #13 of 55 Hotels in Katra
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We loved it and would like visit again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

We had a lovely large clean room with balcony facing the hill. Beautiful garden, green lawn flowers with swimming pool which was very clean. We would love to go back and cover what we missed and stay in the same hotel.

Room Tip: lovely view facing the hill. It was very quit in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nila30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    40
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
41
16
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
164 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2010

I have been staying at this hotel for the last 10 years. This is mainly because when you go for darshan you hardly spend a few hours in the room. Most of my stays are with my spouse but this visit was alone.

At check in, the receptionist tried to sell me the room at the very expensive rack rate. When I reminded him that I was a regular, he simply reduced the rate by 50%. It shows that tey try to fleece travellers. Most staff are out to make a quick buck in tips in the name of Maata V.Devi. The Katra economy survives on pilgrims.

The hotel is completely vegetarian (no onion or garlic either) which is nice for vegetarians. Also, gives you the feeling of purity.

For pilgrims starting or returning from the yatra during odd hours there is nothing to eat except stale sandwiches or toast. The food is overly priced for the quality. However, I guess for an annual visit its not something to crib about.

The bathroom has very poor maintenance. No, water pressure in the showers. Room way too big and the bathroom way too small. So, kind of misplanned.

The heater went off automatically and so I was shivering through the night. A request for a simple extra banana in the room was denied.

They have a free shuttle to and from the start / finish point of the yatra which is nice.

If you are looking for budget accomodation this is OK but there are MUCH BETTER options for those wanting good accomodation.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MumbaiIndiTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thane, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2010

This hotel is located very close to the entrance for the temple.
Its has the view of the shrine from a few rooms and we were lucky to get one of those rooms for my parents.
its food is ok but the hotel is a good value for money.
I loved the ambiance.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vkboy_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010

I had booked hotel for two nights at katra. The room given to me had bad smell and cockroaches all over in bathroom.
I changed the room and got a different. Strangely that room that room turned out to be another nightmare with toilet dripping on floor and cockroaches.

I had canceled my booking and changed to anothet nice hotel. They claim to be 3 star but , wasnt even in a one star cheap hotel.
Hotel STAFF response was bad and they didnt even cared about problems.

AVOID HOTEL as per my experience.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gaurav999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2010

Hotel Asia Vaishno Devi
Exact Date i donot remeber

We group of friends went there for 3 days and had a really good time.
The hotel is located at the main market of Katra and having deluxe rooms.

After a tiring trip to vaishno devi one can come back to room and relax .

Hotel also provide the faciltity of massge for your legs.
The food is descent as i have not order much there.

Rest facilities are good, you can find hot water every time.

Rooms are aslo spacious enough.
On a whole its value for money.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SourabhArora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katra hotels
0.7 km away
Hotel Shree Hari Niwas
4.4 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Vaishno
0.2 km away
KC Residency
KC Residency
#9 of 55 in Katra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Atrium on the Greens
30.1 km away
Ginger Hotel Katra
Ginger Hotel Katra
#7 of 55 in Katra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.4 km away
AMR Hotel
AMR Hotel
#10 of 55 in Katra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Asia Vaishno Devi? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Asia Vaishno Devi

Property: Hotel Asia Vaishno Devi
Address: BC Road, Katra 180001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Jammu > Katra
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 55 Hotels in Katra
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,593 - ₹ 5,056
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Asia Vaishno Devi 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ClearTrip, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, OYO Rooms, Yatra and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Asia Vaishno Devi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Asia Vaishno Devi Katra, Jammu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing