We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jai Maa Vaishno Devi”
Review of Vaishno Devi

Vaishno Devi
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Katra
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Greater Noida, India
Level Contributor
89 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“Jai Maa Vaishno Devi”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Jai Mata Di!
Just returned a few weeks ago from a trip to J&K. This was my second visit to the holy shrine. We used the webs ervice of the shrine board to book beds in the dormotory and for yatra parchi. We started to climb bare foot from Katra at around 07 pm (ideal for those with kids). The size of the crowd was just below the estimated numbers. The first 3 kms were filled with shops on both sides and the streets were bustling with life. We had our first darshan at Charan Paduka .The spirit of the devotees added to the unique charm all the way to Bhawan. Even late at night we had enough company and never felt alone. We had a very good darshan at Bhawan. Post darshan we collected our prasad and had some sumptuous Poori Chole at the shrine board restaurant.
Few tips for first timers (thought this may help) Visit the official web site for tons of info on the yatra www.maavaishnodevi.org Plan in advance atleast one month ahead for helicopter tickets if u cannot trek by road Try to book accommodation at Bhawan (can do it online) if you wish to participate in the Atka aarti that takes place early morning / late evening. Better to stay up than at Katra since there isn’t much to do down. Can also book for aarti (optional ) and the yatra parchi (mandatory) online to save time. If trekking, start late evening so that you can reach Bhawan well before the aarti time since during aarti and post aarti the queue can take abt 2-3 hrs Don’t forget to buy the bhaint – either before Darshan Darwaza / when u reach bhawan there is a shrine broad store The electric cars from adhkuwari to bhawan and back operate every halfhour / hourly ONLY during the day, so do not depend on them if ur travelling late evening/ night, also the tickets are issued at a separate counter so do plan in advance ( these are meant for old and handicapped but mostly they allow general public too) Make sure ur wearing good shoes (unless u plan to do barefoot), take enough warm clothes if your trekking at night as it gets quite cold even during summers, esp the early mornings, also weather is quite unpredictable so an umbrella or jacket will be helpful in case of sudden rains If you are walking then make sure you pick up the sticks which are on hire for Rs.10/- , they are very useful The pithoos are more useful if you have a young child since its difficult to keep pace with the pony And finally, rest all your concerns and go ahead, all will be taken care of!!
Jai Mata Di!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank kudurgesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    939
    147
    30
    8
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jamshedpur (Tata Nagar), Jharkhand, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Darshan”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We were allowed Darshan by Mata Vaisno Devi in total peace, there was not much crowd, may be due to monsoons & tradegy at Sri Kedarnath ji.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Avinash1456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Maa Vaishno Devi”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

The excellent holy place. It takes long time to get up on the mountain, but now helicopter facilities & ponnies are available. Cooling, soothing & getting your wish fulfilled.
Complete your darshan by visiting mata vaishno devi bhawan & baba bhairon mandir.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank atuldigital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
navi mumbai
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“jai mata di”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

best devotional place of mata vaishnodevi. excellent facilities are available on yatra route. There are restaurent avaiable on the route. if required docter and hospital is available. helicopter service are also available from Katra to Bhavan.

Helpful?
Thank shantanuparadkar
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Vaishnodevi visit-unforgettable experience”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Jai Mata Di! Just returned last week from a trip to J&K. The visit to Vaishnodevi was unplanned and we made it against all odds. Since i was travelling with my 8 year old daughter i was very apprehensive about many things , whether there will a waiting period at katra itself due to peak season ( since the website had said so ) how we would reach Bhawan ( main temple) and when we should start from the hotel etc. Based on the apt advice of the hotel staff we started the climb by foot from Katra at around 10 pm ( ideally those with kids could start much earlier , i would recommend 8.00 pm) . The size of the crowd scared us so to keep together we preferred to walk thru the entire distance ( though now am assured its safe to use a pony or pithoo) What we saw was True Night Life in India (beats all the metros !)..the first 3 kms were filled with shops on both sides and the streets were bustling with life. We had our first darshan at Charan Paduka .The spirit of the devotees added to the unique charm all the way to Bhawan. Even late at night we had enough company and never felt alone or unsafe. We had a very good darshan at Bhawan ( though we waited for abt 3 hrs since the queue had increased post aarti ). Post darshan we collected our prasad and had some sumptuous Poori Chole at the shrine board restaurant .We missed visiting Bhairon Temple and Adhkuwari cave as my daughter could barely walk any more ..surely looking forward to our next trip to make up .Few tips for first timers (thought this may help)
Visit the official web site for tons of info on the yatra www.maavaishnodevi.org
Plan in advance atleast one month ahead for helicopter tickets if u cannot trek by road
Try to book accommodation at Bhawan ( can do it online)if you wish to participate in the Atka aarti that takes place early morning / late evening. Better to stay up than at Katra since there isn’t much to do down.Can also book for aarti (optional ) and the yatra parchi ( mandatory)online to save time.
If trekking, start late evening so that you can reach Bhawan well before the aarti time since during aarti and post aarti the queue can take abt 2-3 hrs
Don’t forget to buy the bhaint – either before Darshan Darwaza / when u reach bhawan there is a shrine broad store
The electric cars from adhkuwari to bhawan and back operate every halfhour / hourly ONLY during the day, so do not depend on them if ur travelling late evening/ night, also the tickets are issued at a separate counter so do plan in advance ( these are meant for old and handicapped but mostly they allow general public too)
Make sure ur wearing good shoes (unless u plan to do barefoot ),take enough warm clothes if your trekking at night as it gets quite cold even during summers, esp the early mornings, also weather is quite unpredictable so an umbrella or jacket will be helpful in case of sudden rains
If you are walking then make sure you pick up the sticks which are on hire for Rs.10/- , they are very useful
The pithoos are more useful if you have a young child since its difficult to keep pace with the pony
And finally, rest all your concerns and go ahead, all will be taken care of!! Jai Mata Di!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank vgs_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vaishno Devi also viewed

Jammu City, Jammu District
Patnitop, Udhampur District
 
Katra, Reasi District
Jammu City, Jammu District
 

Been to Vaishno Devi? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing