We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picture Perfect!!”
Review of Hari Niwas Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hari Niwas Palace
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Jammu City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2011

I stayed in Hari Niwas Palace immediately after my wedding. I had not set any expectations, but the semi suite which I was provided was simply superb. The old palace feel of the hotel makes one feel really good. The room was big and the bathroom was even bigger.
Although the noise from a marriage taking place adjacent to the hotel lawns was a slight dampener, we did enjoy very good sleep. The morning was simply superb......the view of the Tawi river from the balcony attached to the room cannot be explained. I could only spend a day there and was in a hurry to leave the next morning, but the experience was so delightful that I would love to go back there. Breakfast was professional and quite unlike a typical Jammu hotel. A brief stroll in the garden filled us (the newly wed couple) with a lot of sunshine and joy. I could have spent the whole day there.....

The only part which was a bit strange was that in spite of having booked in advance and paid the entire tarrif by money transfer, they didn't acknowledge the payment for nearly a month. Also the manager refused to come on the phone and would answer emails. I sent about 4-5 emails before I received a response and a booking confirmation. One should also be careful about the website since there exist two of them. I sent a booking email 6 months in advance and got no response till I realised that the gmail address and website accessible was probably an old (and wrong) one. The right one is www.hariniwaspalace.in

Inspite of initial let down the experience was memorable and I will definitely go there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VishnuB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 145 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2011

Very good Hotel. Specifically Restaurant is very good. Decent atmosphere everywhere. Hotel having very large area. Gardens are very good, everywhere is greenery. Also having a Museum open publically. One will definitely love to stay and eat there. Food is also very good having many verities. Service and housekeeping is also recommendable. Rooms are comfortable and good space.

Room Tip: garden side rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alok_agg24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

When you are going for Darshan of Matarani (Vaishnodevi), this is perfect place to stay. You will be feel like a Royal King staying in Palace. The food is excellent and the view, garden, temp controlled swimming pool, modern Gym, is really great. One can not expect such great stay in Jammu at so competitive rates !!! Should have a good time at this palace before and after tiring journey to Matarani Darshan,

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank amit2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Hari Niwas Palace
April 24, 2011

An exquisite destination for the discerning traveller. Luxury at its best offerred with a smile.

I booked this hotel on my return trip from Vaishno Devi, wanting to rest for a day before going back to the grind of a routine life.

Having stayed here, I can comfortably say, that it has been an amazing experience at this hotel. You are in the lap of luxury with the beautiful Himalays on one side and the tiver Tawi on the other.

Tastefully done up rooms backed up with amazing room service and great food makes it worth every penny spent here.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbugsBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

Hotel Hari Niwas was the first Palace of the exiting princely dynasty to be converted into a commercial purpose.

The hotel is at a breathtaking place full of scenic beauty, surrounded by hiils, very spacious, looked upon by the flowing river and a very calm place.

The hotel is surrounded by a contemporary museum and beautifully maintained princely charm .

The staff is dignified and full of magnificient hospitality.

The quality of food is very good and has a very good taste.

The rooms are good, spacious, with full modern amenities and full of light.

Plush lawns/interiors of the palace hotel gives a goos treat to the eyes.

Recommended for the personal & business use. The hotel arranges for pick up and drop but yes be prepared to be humiliated at the airport as the outside vehicles not allowed at the airport and intensive search at the apt but relaxed atmosphere at teh hotel relieves you of the same.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nikhilbaijal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jammu City hotels
3.9 km away
Radisson Blu Jammu
Radisson Blu Jammu
#1 of 30 in Jammu City
94 reviews
2.8 km away
Fortune Inn Riviera
Fortune Inn Riviera
#3 of 30 in Jammu City
277 reviews
4.0 km away
Cygnett Park Asia
Cygnett Park Asia
#2 of 30 in Jammu City
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Lords Inn Jammu
Lords Inn Jammu
#4 of 30 in Jammu City
164 reviews
3.1 km away
K.C. Residency
K.C. Residency
#7 of 30 in Jammu City
160 reviews
4.6 km away
Le ROI Jammu
Le ROI Jammu
#5 of 30 in Jammu City
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hari Niwas Palace? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hari Niwas Palace

Address: Palace Road, Jammu City 180005, India
Region: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Jammu > Jammu District > Jammu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Jammu City
#4 Spa Hotel in Jammu City
Price Range: ₹ 6,057 - ₹ 7,685 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hari Niwas Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We take pride in introducing ourselves as a Heritage Hotel previously the royal residence of Maharaja Hari Singh of Jammu & Kashmir, is open to facilitate guest occupancy. Surrounded by hills and mountains, rivers and valleys, this region forms an incredible tourist destination. Once a royal residence and now a heritage hotel, this palace provides grand services to its guests. Close to the city center shopping and sightseeing in the nearby tourist spots is convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip, Yatra, MakeMyTrip, Agoda and TravelGuru so you can book your Hari Niwas Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hari Niwas Palace Jammu, Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing