We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great expectation - different reality” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apple Country Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Apple Country Resort
Ranked #8 of 128 Hotels in Manali
Certificate of Excellence
Pune, India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great expectation - different reality”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

We stayed here for our honeymoon in Feb, 2008. We booked a package online and reached the hotel with great expectation after reading rave reviews and hearing great comments. The location is nice and so is the lawn.
We reached late afternoon as it was snowing in Shimla and in the surroundings and we could not start as early as planned. We called the hotel to confirm that we were coming but didn't find anyone on our arrival. Literally had to search for the staff and when they saw us, they seemed most unhappy, probably as they were not expecting guests in that weather! They expressed their surprise by saying that road from Shimla was blocked due to snowfall and they didn't expect us at that time even though we had called.
Our room was ok but could have been better maintained. It was feeling damp and cold, however that was gone after the heating was kept on for sometime and view from the room was nice. We had Welcome Drink and Fruit Baskets included in our package but we were not presented those. We had to ask for the same after settling down and was then asked if we would like the welcome drink later! The next disappointment was when we found that the hotel does not serve non-veg. Well, it was mentioned in the website but we missed those small prints. Food was ok and we ate there only once even though breakfast and dinner was included in our package.
Next morning, we found the entire lawn covered with snow and it was a great pleasure to see the same. Overall, a nice place that could be great with service improvements and non veg food!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ananyabinayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    213
    39
    13
    12
See reviews for
246
285
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Stayed here for one night, and believe it or not, I couldn't sleep for an hour in peace !
The bed sheets were very cold & damp, the heater did not work, felt like I was sleeping in a jungle!! Don't even get me started on the food & staff, it's a disgrace that reviews are so good.
Do not recommend it at all. It's better to put up a tent & sleep on the mountains!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dhruv R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Apple Country is worth every penny you pay - Reasonably priced room tariffs with decent rooms - good hygiene and furnishings. Food in the hotel was pretty good albeit vegetarian, the hotel does not serve non-veg food. The resort has Apple trees all around the property - true to its name.
The staff is courteous and helpful, the hotel has all the basic amenities one would need.

The flipside is the location, a bit far from the city center but very peaceful though. Limited doorstep transport unlike other good hotels, one may have to walk a bit - though we loved walking around the area but may not be true for all.

Overall worth the bucks!!

Room Tip: Higher floors with the mountain view or their cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanchit04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaipur, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Nice to stay here, great service and location. I will visit again just because of their quick response, nice food and service. The location is top hill view. Nice clean room and very cooperative staff. They fulfill all requirement which they are mentioned in package. Best place to stay for honeymoon couples.Choose Delux or honeymoon suits.

Room Tip: Delux suits and Honeymoon suits. Nice view from these rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank abhibhatnagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
830 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

A beautiful location,the scenery from the room is fantastic,to see mountain tops covered in snow & the apple trees with blooms was a lovely sight.Would love to see the trees with fruits.The staff is very courteous & very helpful,food is good even for foriegners,we are Sri-Lankan.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DilrukshiH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manali hotels
5.3 km away
The Anantmaya Resort
The Anantmaya Resort
#1 of 128 in Manali
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
1.0 km away
The Himalayan
The Himalayan
#3 of 128 in Manali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
2.9 km away
Honeymoon Inn Manali
Honeymoon Inn Manali
#6 of 128 in Manali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Holiday Heights Manali
Holiday Heights Manali
#2 of 128 in Manali
5.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
2.4 km away
The Manali Inn
The Manali Inn
#10 of 128 in Manali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
0.4 km away
Snow Valley Resorts
Snow Valley Resorts
#12 of 128 in Manali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Country Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Country Resort

Property: Apple Country Resort
Address: Log-Huts Area, Manali, Manali Tehsil 175131, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kullu District > Manali Tehsil > Manali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Manali
#10 Family Hotel in Manali
#10 Romantic Hotel in Manali
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,789 - ₹ 9,059
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apple Country Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome into the land of your dreams.... into the land of lush greens and enchanting mountains, silent valleys and bubbling creeks, songbirds, towering coniferous trees and the sweet scent of apples. Right at the heart of this fairytale, is Apple Country, set at the highest point in Manali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Stayzilla, ClearTrip, Hotels.com, TravelGuru and Agoda so you can book your Apple Country Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Country Resorts Manali
Apple Country Hotel Manali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing