We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The one palce to visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Johnson's Cafe

The Johnson's Cafe
Ranked #6 of 121 Restaurants in Manali
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 5 - US$ 10
Cuisines: European, Italian, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: The Johnson's cafe is more than just a restaurant. It's an experience under one roof. The finest wine, gourmet food, a perfect ambiance. At Johnson's cafe, we make sure you go back with a feeling of satisfaction and want to keep coming back for more.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The one palce to visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Sweet little place with a nice ambiance. A big relief from the tacky market in town.
The locally caught baked trout was unbelievable and I have never had a better apple crumble anywhere else in the world. ( incidentally they grow their own apples).

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shivens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    157
    41
    15
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Romantic Cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Dinner here was very good. We had the delicious mushroom soup, an average salad and the fruit cake for dessert. Service here is excellent. Very nice place.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ritika A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
79 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian Food - Deserves one evening at least”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

One - do not confuse this with Johnson's restaurant which is next to it. Ask the guard at the gate itself. Get into the one which serves only international food ( the other one serves a mix of indian , international fare ).

The pizzas and other stuff was par excellence. Wooden oven pizza and the trout are a must try. Trout is a speciality of the area and here its cooked to perfection.

We seats are comfortable and ambiance is worth enjoying. We preferred sitting outside, but they have arrangements indoor too.

We did not like one of the preparations ( a apple drink ) , so it was noticed and replaced with another different drink of our choice. We really appreciate this kind of service.

I would recommend this joint for at least one ( or more ) evenings when you are in Manali .

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AshOnGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

This trout specialty restaurant is true to it's claims. They make the best trout this side of europe. The bar is well stocked and the ambiance is quite upbeat.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ok food,a bit over priced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

Had lunch here, we ordered pizza, pasta and dessert. Pasta was good, pizza was not so great, pizza bases were too thick. Had much better pizza in rose garden vishisht, and casa Bella vista and it was also cheaper there. The cakes we ordered for dessert was well present but was too dry. The service was good.
Overall there are much nicer places in manali to eat.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thechacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Johnson's Cafe also viewed

Manali, Manali Tehsil
 
Manali, Manali Tehsil
Manali, Manali Tehsil
 

Been to The Johnson's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing