We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tender Loving Care...”
Review of The Himalayan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Himalayan
Ranked #2 of 123 Hotels in Manali
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Tender Loving Care...”
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Those who are frequent to Manali dig for cottages that offer personal care by the owner family. There are some beautiful cottages at scenic locales in Manali that are comfortable and offer a blissful stay in the lap of nature. Well here is a new addition that offers much more.

We recently visited The Himalayan in a group of 25. Yes, you would say that when you have good company of friends one can make merry anywhere. But, if a Hotel is able to delight a group of demanding friends with kids, they must be doing things right.

The Himalayan is a big property with tastefully done duplex cottages and rooms. View is good overlooking the mountains and the location is apt with enough parking for the accommodation. Located near the Hadimba Temple the Hotel offers recreational facilities and a pool.

Now there is no reason for anyone to doubt the grandeur of the property. It is made on the lines of a modern Hotel with a vintage theme. But, don't get confused by booking through travel websites, it is a pain. Rather, book through website of the Hotel.

The owner family goes out of the way to ensure that you have a good time by suggesting you why to do and what not to do. You can see who's who of Delhi, HP and Punjab frequenting the place....and that is cause of the feeling of security the owners ensure the guests enjoy. Nice crowd to mingle with.

The few things that the Hotel could do better is the culinary offerings that are perhaps not in harmony to the standards they maintain. The food is not bad, but for a foodie in Manali, bombarded by out of this world cuisines from every part of this world the Hotel offers basics only. But then, Manali is a heaven for a person who lives to eat. Another improvement could be a heated pool and a professional spa experience. I would give it 5 stars then.

A nice place for a family vacation with friends. Phone, 3G, wifi, tata photon all work, so business is as usual. I will visit again in winters to see white snow on The Himalayan.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
24 Thank JatinAgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    91
    22
    2
    3
See reviews for
169
147
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ambala, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Ours was one of the first families which had the pleasure of staying at THE HIMALAYAN. But describing the experience is even a bigger pleasure. I was on a holiday tour with my wife & kids to manali for the first time. And i can surely say that GOD also wanted us to have a rejuvenating & unforgetful vacation.
Me & my wife were awestruck by the very first sight of THE Himalayan. We were so exited to have a grand castle welcoming us. We loved to imagine about our stay as we've never had such experience. We were very appreciative as there was not a single compromise made to bring out the grand, gothic castle.(it took 9 years to construct the marvel.)
The property belongs to two brothers, Neeraj & Nishat Mohi who along with their sweet & efficient wives manage the resort. We were very keenly & warmly welcomed by both the families. We were delighted when we reached our cottage as it was very spacious, comfortable and neatly done up. The bedrooms gave us a fantastic view of snow-capped mountains on one side and orchards on the other. It had a fully furnished kitchenette too with adjoining dining. We were impressed by the detailing and were instantly drifted to the nostalgic period of Royal Catles. The fireplace in the cottage made the place even cosier and thus completed the look.
The hosts were very concerned about all the guests in the resort and we had a staff to serve us round-the-clock. The meals tasted heavenly & we loved to explore different cuisines. The calm surroundings of place engulfed us.
We were amongst friends and we still boast of the personalised castle tour given to us by both the lady owners. And equally cooperative and friendly were Neeraj & Nishat.
Truly we had the time of our lives and this first trip to manali will always be afreash in our memories. Thanks Guys. Keep the GOOD WORK ON. GOD BLESS.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank neerajhanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

First and foremost, The trip advisor has linked up with Make My Trip.com, who has recommended the Himalyan regency which is not recommended by me. i took the pain for relocating the Himalaya as per the snap shown on the website, please refer to the website http://www.thehimalayan.com and kindly use the website for booking and the kindly use the contact details as mentioned.

Room Tip: if you travelling with the whole family, then please go ahead for a cottage stay/booking and if a co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank GSBhanot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

The Himalayan is an oasis of calm and beauty amidst the crowds, hustle and bustle of Manali. It looks up to fantastic snow-capped mountain views and is ensconed in orchards. Rarely will you get vistas of the mess that Manali has become. The place is run by two brothers and their super efficient and pleasant wives. The small, amiable staff is also on their feet whole day to make your stay comfortable. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the cottages can host two couples and are well planned. The food menu is limited but excellent. There are a few things they need to look into, like providing hair dryers, putting on the generators when electricity has gone, seeing if intercoms are working, etc. But, for the one year old resort we were not sure where we would have stayed in Manali. Really a nice place.

Room Tip: Take either cottage 1 or room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Seema B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We took a holiday at the Himalayan Resort and Spa at Manali for a week in May 2012 and I must say we had a great time. The place is very beautiful, neat and artistically done up. The owners have not compromised on the quality of anything related to the hotel decor or facilities. Right from the furniture to the photos everything is delightful. I was also very impressed with owners of the property, they are very helpful, hospitable and go all the way to make you feel comfortable. The staff at the hotel are well behaved and very promt. Had it not been for the Himalayan resorts, our memory of this trip won't have been the same.
I wish them all the best and for sure would like to come back.

Luna and Lavish Bangia
Gurgaon, India

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank LunaGurgaon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manali hotels
1.4 km away
Sun Park Resort Manali
Sun Park Resort Manali
#4 of 123 in Manali
974 reviews
1.8 km away
Honeymoon Inn Manali
Honeymoon Inn Manali
#6 of 123 in Manali
880 reviews
1.0 km away
Apple Country Resort
Apple Country Resort
#8 of 123 in Manali
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
The Manali Inn
The Manali Inn
#7 of 123 in Manali
704 reviews
0.6 km away
Johnson Lodge & Spa
Johnson Lodge & Spa
#11 of 123 in Manali
533 reviews
2.2 km away
Rock Manali Hotel & Spa
Rock Manali Hotel & Spa
#32 of 123 in Manali
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Himalayan? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Himalayan

Property: The Himalayan
Address: Hadimba Road, Manali, Manali Tehsil 175131, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kullu District > Manali Tehsil > Manali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 123 Hotels in Manali
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,639 - ₹ 15,102
Hotel Class:4 star — The Himalayan 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched at an elevation of 2003 metres & built in the Victorian Gothic Revival style, The Himalayan is an exclusive boutique resort with an al fresco swimming pool overlooking Manali town. Tucked away in its own cul-de-sac amidst an apple & cherry orchard are 8 opulent guest rooms in the Castle (all with four-poster beds & antique armoires) and 8 cottages (each with 2 Bedrooms complete with en-suite bathrooms, dining & drawing space with functional fire place). The Cottage kitchenettes are equipped with all modern amenities/appliances. All cottages have their own cosy gardens, balconies & mountain views. All rooms come with tea/coffee makers, in-room safes & bespoke bath amenities. Bar, Restaurant & In-room dining is available. Croquet, Trampoline & Table Tennis is provided for children & adults alike. Gymnasium is offered on the premises. Fully equipped Boardroom. An elaborate Spa will be added in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, MakeMyTrip and Agoda so you can book your The Himalayan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing