We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Himalayan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Himalayan
Ranked #1 of 114 Hotels in Manali
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Relaxing!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

After a bad experience in Dharamshala, reaching The Himalayan in Manali was the best thing that happened to 17 of us. Stayed here for 5 nights, yet wanted to stay more. The scottish castle like entrance is very welcoming, the staff is very helpful and the luxurious villas (cottages) are made with taste and are well equipped. This place is slightly away from the Manali market and that made it perfect for us. We were a a group ranging from 6 years old to 73 years old and everyone had their share of fun. Nishant you were of great help and thumbs up for what you've created here.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool on one side and the mountains on the other will be your best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank VvkS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    86
    19
    2
    3
See reviews for
151
138
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

My boyfriend & I stayed at The Himalayan Resort & Spa during September this year. We stayed in cottage no 3. After a long exhausting 14-hours car journey from delhi,being very choosy we didn't settle for a couple of hotels we viewed,and thank god we stumbled upon this beauty.The owner himself personally showed us the cottage and we instantly knew this was where we would be staying in Manali.The cottage was charming,there was a sense of serenity and comfort. Every detail of the cottage was perfectly done,attention was given to every interior,from the photographs hanging on the walls to the open concept of the bathtub.The bedroom was spacious and well-decorated.In fact,the cottage was incredibly clean.In addition we had a fireplace,which added a much more homely feel to the cottage.The ambiance was peaceful and beautiful.The view from our balcony were picturesque.Staff were extremely helpful and made us feel like were always ready to serve us. In fact,this would be one of the best hotels I've stayed at.Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone whose looking for a unforgettable stay in Manali.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
29 Thank Narin_Padalecki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

Five of us (me, wife, kid, two domestic helps) stayed at The Himalayan for four days during Dussehra. The cottages -- which come with fully loaded kitchens -- are great and perfect for someone travelling with children/elderly. Far from the bustle of the mall, the resort
Everything in the entire castle -- from the doorknob to the furniture -- seem to have been handpicked with a lot of thought. Even the kid had a blast on the trampoline with the furry one hanging around!

Though the restaurant/bar were yet to be opened, the old world feel -- and the fireplace -- more than make up for them. The warmth of the owners (who also manage the place personally). The rooms in the castle were not fully ready, but four-poster beds and open-air hot baths are luxuries that few places in Manali would offer.

A pleasant relief in a town with a dearth of great hotels!!

Room Tip: The cottages are spacious, come with a kitchen and can easily accommodate five adults, the rooms, Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
26 Thank Driftwoood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panchkula
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

We visited The Himalayan Resort and Spa in June this year and it was just like home away from home! The cottages are just as comfortable as your own home would be,very well thought of designs and executions too! The best part was that my kids were pretty occupied with stuff to do on the property itself! The environment was safe and peaceful.The concept of the cottage suits the typical Indian family setup! A good job done!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
25 Thank Navjyot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stayed at the Himalayan two nights longer than planned on our July 2011 trip to Leh. The stay was the highlight of our trip. Everything else that could go wrong, did.

To begin with our flight from Delhi to Manali was cancelled, and we ended up driving - a process that took almost 15 hours. The Himalayan took that in their stride and when we arrived at midnight their staff were waiting, our well appointed room was immaculately made up, and very comfortable. Since we arrived so late at night we decided to begin the journey to Leh one day later than our original plan and spent the next day hanging out at the Himalayan. Ate a really gargantuan breakfast, got to know the owners and just chilled.

Next day we set out early and spent 12 hours trying to get over the Rohtang pass before declaring defeat. At 9 PM we called the Himalayan and said we were returning. They took our dinner order while we were driving back from Rohtang, stayed in touch with us with several phone calls as we were driving back, had the same room ready (this time with hot water bottles) and gave us a much appreciated hot meal - all of this at midnight.

It's a very nice property, very nice rooms, very helpful staff and good food (despite the kitchen being a work-in-progress). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
26 Thank IttyVarugis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manali
4.4 km away
The Anantmaya Resort
1.9 km away
Holiday Heights Manali
Holiday Heights Manali
#2 of 114 in Manali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
1.8 km away
Honeymoon Inn Manali
Honeymoon Inn Manali
#8 of 114 in Manali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Apple Country Resort
Apple Country Resort
#7 of 114 in Manali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
1.5 km away
The Manali Inn
The Manali Inn
#6 of 114 in Manali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
1.4 km away
Sun Park Resort Manali
Sun Park Resort Manali
#5 of 114 in Manali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Himalayan? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Himalayan

Property: The Himalayan
Address: Hadimba Road, Manali, Manali Tehsil 175131, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kullu District > Manali Tehsil > Manali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 114 Hotels in Manali
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,076 - ₹ 22,883
Hotel Class:4 star — The Himalayan 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched at an elevation of 2003 metres & built in the Victorian Gothic Revival style, The Himalayan is an exclusive boutique resort with an al fresco swimming pool overlooking Manali town. Tucked away in its own cul-de-sac amidst an apple & cherry orchard are 8 opulent guest rooms in the Castle (all with four-poster beds & antique armoires) and 8 cottages (each with 2 Bedrooms complete with en-suite bathrooms, dining & drawing space with functional fire place). The Cottage kitchenettes are equipped with all modern amenities/appliances. All cottages have their own cosy gardens, balconies & mountain views. All rooms come with tea/coffee makers, in-room safes & bespoke bath amenities. Bar, Restaurant & In-room dining is available. Croquet, Trampoline & Table Tennis is provided for children & adults alike. Gymnasium is offered on the premises. Fully equipped Boardroom. An elaborate Spa will be added in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Himalayan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing