We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to spend half a day”
Review of Solang-Nullah

Solang-Nullah
Ranked #7 of 60 things to do in Manali
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place to spend half a day”
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Do not miss the cable car and have your food in the restaurant on top. Para gliding is risky but good.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nazz_Cochin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    148
    59
    17
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Must see Place in Manali”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Well finally we have a world class ropeway to travel by, dont miss it although a bit expensive at Rs. 400/- per seat, but still worth it, the view is breath taking and awesome

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 99srk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“spectacular view”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

A trip to the solang valley is a special treat to your eyes. i witnessed some of the most spectacular and breathtaking sights while paragliding and while driving from manali to solang.

But a word of caution . i was hurt while paragliding during take off and the landing was also abrupt and jerky. While taking off , i guess the wind wasnt enough , and yet they decided to continue and i was dragged along the hill . and i was lucky because after that i saw someone being dragged a long way and the parachute didnt even open. we were witness to many bad landings where one person was seriously injured. there are no safety measures , no helmets . no tickets. one just has to negotiate with one of the guys hanging around there . there is absoultely no system or authority visible where one can complain. They all gang up against you if you try to argue . They pass off everything in the name of "adventure". There are tons of boys ready to take you on a ride and i have serious doubts about all of them being thoroughly trained. Pls be cautious and dont rush into one of these rides like i did!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank niti1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent sporting arena”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Missed out an opportunity to get the snowfall on top of the mountain if we had visited previous day. Just a ferry on top with cable car and we wuuld have got it. The paragliding is a lot of bargain. You can bargin from 2500 per head quoted figure to almost to the level of 1800 (depends upon your skill). Check with 2-3 different guys independently before you finalize on one for negotiating. Go got high fly option only. When on top, please take a jump only if you have good wind flow. Else you will have a very short ride.Ask for parashute based on your weight so that you have long ride. Zorbing is another game where you can enjoy unless you have giddiness problem. Then you should not take this.Beware of the photographers. Before you take paragliding jump, you can finalize the video-shooting taker and negotiate with him for the rates. They charge INR 150 per photo-shoot or video-shoot and give it to you on CD.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ajaynerkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agra, India
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Solang Valley is nice place for Paragliding”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We all went Solang Valley in the month of June and the view was very good.
Nice place for paragliding as well you can see all of the nearby high peaks so if you are into mountaineering it is advisable to go up and have a look around the magnificent view during paragliding

Avoid hidden photographers taking your snaps; you can only discover when they want to sell your images taken from the staring till you are on the ground …..Funny activity at all..

Recommend to all visitors going to Manali

Amin

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
10 Thank AminTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Solang-Nullah also viewed

Manali, Manali Tehsil
Manali, Manali Tehsil
 
Manali, Manali Tehsil
Manali, Manali Tehsil
 

Been to Solang-Nullah? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing