We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply awesome”
Review of Solang-Nullah

Solang-Nullah
Ranked #7 of 59 things to do in Manali
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply awesome”
Reviewed 17 March 2012

too god place. Skiing, Paragliding,the veg maggi, burger, the snow, and do not forget to try the ropeway. Awesome place to play with snow. Just hope you can stay there:)Just beware of agents selling there skiing dress etc.else if you visit manali, you cannot miss solang valley

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank karankamra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    148
    58
    17
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
132 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Solang Valley in Winters and "Nullah" in Summers”
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Had been to this great place in early April 2011, the day when the first snow point on Rohtang Pass road was opened (Gulaba). Had a great time with a big group of friends in Gulaba with fresh and whitest snow. But when we returned to Manali via Solang it was a great disappointment for us.

Huge stock of garbage was piled up at literally at every 100 meters all around the region. Irresponsible ones include road side dhabhas (unlicensed), vistors and the local authorities.

In winters as this place receive a handsome snowfall the garbage is covered with snow and the tourist traffic is also very low.

Avoid this place in summers. Hope The GOVERNMENT/MUNICIPAL authorities are listening to take corrective measures to save such a pristine place.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank royalescape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
177 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Think: India with a twist of skiing”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

This is NOT a ski resort which just happens to be in India. This is India which just happens to have a hill that you COULD ski down...however, skiing is NOT why people come here.

You have the choice of either a gondola pass (1400R/day, $28 USD) or a T-bar (300/half day, $6 OR 500/day, $10). The gondola goes to off piste. I can ski blues no problem and either a fresh snow or freshly groomed black, but no one could tell me what it would be like at the top of the gondola run. So I didn't buy it. Also, my significant other had only been skiing once, so we decided to stick with the full day T-bar pass.

You can walk up the hill to the top of the T-bar, but to get more runs in, we bought the pass. The T-bar worked for 1 hour and broke promptly at 11am. No one chose to work on it until 2pm. The T-bar is supposed to run 10-12:30, 2:30-5 (so 5 hour ski day). So they just wasted three hours. We had decided to keep walking up the hill to get some practice in, but we were exhausted by 3:30pm, so we decided to leave. Asking the manager for a partial refund (because the lift only worked for 1 hr) did not go well. They refused to give us a refund and even walked away. The only way were got a partial refund (after 1 hour of debate) was to threaten to walk off with the lanyard/card pass they gave us for the lift. The manager was nasty to the point of telling us the lift was working. At this point, we were 100m from the lift and could easily tell it wasn't moving. She was insistent it would work if we went over to use it. Another employee pleaded he'd lose his job if we left with the passes. (An acquaintance from our hotel stayed longer than us and told us the lift was definitely not working after we left.)

To make it worse, we were on the lift when it broke. There wasn't even an employee near the top of the lift (where it happened to break), and we had to ski down to tell someone it broke. the snow is crappy. It is bumpy. It is not beginner friendly place. There are paragliders gliding over the ski slope. They land either on the slope or in the crowds at the bottom (no official landing place). There are stray dogs and people wandering around on the slope. There are snow mobiles cruising around you left and right.

The review below does a better job describing the madness. All in all, this is not a ski resort. It is a snow playland for people who have never seen snow. They just happen to have a hill you could ski down if you wish to do so. It really isn't worth the trip.

No lockers...couldn't find toilets.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank LifeDocumented
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Solang-nullah definetly an experience”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

To start this review i should point out i did have a good day boarding it only cost 500 rupees for rental and you could get a drag lift pass for 300/half day 500/whole or gondola for 1400/a day but i must be honest its the worst ski resort ive ever been to For these crazy reasons
1. Only one even vague ski run
2. Drag lift that worked for only an hour of our 6 hour day
3. Stray dogs on ski slope.
4.Paragliders landing on the one ski slope dangerous as so out of control at one point if i turned right rather then going left i would have been nailed by one of these idiots who didnt even shout to warn me.
5. Paragliders that got it right landing in a crowd of people.
6.People  having snowball fights on the ski run. 
7. Ski-doos driving up the one ski run.
8. A zorb being rolled up and down the ski run.
9. Yacks donkeys and horses also just chilling in the way. 
10.No even vague guide to conditions on top of the gondola apparently very hard off piste riding it turns out.
11. Ski onesies stopped being used in the 80s for a reason so manali should stop bringing them back!!!
12. Leather motorcycle gloves and wellys are also in no way ski gear despite the 'hire' shops claims.
13.People sliding down the slope on their bellys.
14. No toilets
15.The magority of people just turning up to look at snow which can be done from town or any of the surronding mountains rather then going for a  wonder up the middle of a ski run or standing on the kickers (jumps) to admire the view!
16.Guys just wondering round stroking their pet rabbits which they for some unknown reason brought to the slope!
17.Guy trying to sell us saffron not on anything just safron on its own
18. No lockers or even ski racks!
19. Animal and im pretty sure i saw human poo on the slope and surronding area i guess to be expected given no toilets.
20. Snowboards only going up to 155 in size and no wide boards apparently no tall snowboarders or people with big feet in india in india!!!
Overall though manali is beautiful and the skiing is cheap just dont have high expectations!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Jon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trivandrum, India
Level Contributor
67 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“The small but beautiful stream”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

This stream also joins the Beas river. Up firther you go and you reach the ski slope of Solang Valley. This is a trourist spot. You can ski, para glide and go in the cable car. Thronged with tourists all round the year.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank SunilVasudevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Solang-Nullah also viewed

Manali, Manali Tehsil
Manali, Manali Tehsil
 
Manali, Manali Tehsil
Manali, Manali Tehsil
 

Been to Solang-Nullah? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing