We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Memoirs in Old Manali” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Drifters' Inn & Cafe

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manali
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Drifters' Inn & Cafe
Ranked #1 of 308 Manali B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai, India
1 review
“Memoirs in Old Manali”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

If you love value for money, lip-smacking food,cozy wooden rooms and a breathtaking view of snow clad mountains every day, then Drifter's Inn is your sole destination is Old Manali. Unlike the cliche resorts which are hell bent on pursuing you to take up holiday package, Drifter's Inn let's you enjoy the Himachal peacefully. The hosts and owners are there to help you in every way possible. From hiring bikes, cycles, cars and daily sightseeing to giving you precious information about some of the most unusual and beautiful spots in Manali, the owners know it all.The staff is really helpful and the chefs turn out some of the most authentic pizzas I have eaten. The thin crust, homemade pizzas are delicious. The masala chai and the chocolate pancake was my staple breakfast for a week.The rooms are spacious,very clean and cozy. You are allowed to bring in food from outside, the entire Drifter's Inn lane has some great restaurants, so try them out. If you want to have an interesting, comfortable and inexpensive experience in Manali, then please stay at Drifter's Inn.

Room Tip: Select the rooms on the 3rd floor, they have the best view of the snow-clad mountains....And make su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 900Voyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    85
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
40
127
66
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
sunshine_183
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

I stayed at Drifters in late November when it was starting to get really really cold. The owner was very helpful and very nice. I arrived on the early morning bus from Shimla so it was really dark and he sent someone down to the bottom of the road to meet me as I was travelling alone and there were no lights on the path up to the hostel. The rooms are really nice, cosy and cheap but the standard is good. You get hot water which is very much appreciated in the cold weather. You can also get heaters which again is a great touch. The food downstairs is also great. Would recommend you stay here if in Manali.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshine_183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

Stayed at Drifters' Inn in Oct 2010. Very well kept place. You should stay here if in Manali without a doubt. Nishant is a wonderful host and food is yummy. There's no room service which is good as you have go down to the cafe where the action is. This place is in Old Manali and quieter/non-commercial side of town which is exactly what you need. Can't wait to get there again. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonJohnF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

all that has to be said has already been said about this place so I won't be redundant. The place is clean, simple and very very homely. The cafe downstairs is where all the action is and is quite popular in the neighborhood. Good choice if you are traveling on a shoe-string budget

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SALondon2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

Right from the first email sent for an inquiry till we reached there and all the advice given by Nishant were extremely helpful for us to plan our itinerary and sight seeing at Manali. We stayed i the superior rooms on the 3 rd floor and the room were clean and the beds were comfortable. we had 24hrs hot water thanks to the boiler in our rooms. we twice had dinner at the cafe and could not help but repeat the paprika chicken dish which was simply excellent, the food was amazing the trout sizzler as recommended simply great. We followed NIshant advice to plan our 3 days stay and sight seeing at manali. he advised us to visit jana falls around 30 kms from manali where we had local himachali food made up of rajma, red rice, makke ki roti, sarso ka saag and kadhi. add that to the cold weather, simply bliss. the local food was excellent. all in all had a wonderful time and would definetly would not hesitate to go back to drifters again. Nishant if you reading this, need the recipe of paprika chicken badly :)

Room Tip: we stayed in the superior rooms on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajesh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manali hotels
1.4 km away
Johnson Lodge
Johnson Lodge
#4 of 131 in Manali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
3.1 km away
Holiday Heights Manali
Holiday Heights Manali
#3 of 131 in Manali
5.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
1.3 km away
The Himalayan
The Himalayan
#2 of 131 in Manali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Honeymoon Inn Manali
Honeymoon Inn Manali
#7 of 131 in Manali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
5.7 km away
The Anantmaya Resort
The Anantmaya Resort
#1 of 131 in Manali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.5 km away
Snow Valley Resorts
Snow Valley Resorts
#14 of 131 in Manali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drifters' Inn & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drifters' Inn & Cafe

Property: Drifters' Inn & Cafe
Address: Manu Temple Road | Old Manali Village, Manali, Manali Tehsil 175131, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kullu District > Manali Tehsil > Manali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Manali
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,141 - ₹ 1,141
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A home away from home for 'drifters' from all over the world - with well appointed & cozy rooms (en-suite bathrooms) and Sun Deck terraces. The views of the valley and the snow capped mountains are unarguably the best you will get to see from anywhere in Old Manali. We lay a special emphasis on your comfort, privacy and safety. We've even got an all day Cafe serving continental fare and a fully stocked bar - where we theme events. Some of the other on-site amenities are: Sun Deck cafe, free WIFI, travel desk, free parking, library of books, musical theme nites, free cloak room etc. Its definitely one of the best stay n hang-out options in Old Manali. Happy Drifting! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing