We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“It was wonderful-manali log huts and orchard huts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of HPTDC Log Huts

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manali
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
HPTDC Log Huts
Ranked #13 of 282 Speciality Lodging in Manali
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It was wonderful-manali log huts and orchard huts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

Went for a holiday to manali -orchard huts-was great could not be a better location ,dont think any other place i would have liked location wise.Only problem was the cottage was far way and too many steps needed to be climbed to reach there.Was with my in -laws who are old and frail, but the HP TDC team -Mr Kuldip Sharma and his team were very thoughtful and immediately shifted us to the nearby cottage the next day inspite of the rush season.

Further i found the service very responsive and any call would get immediate attention.

Finally as my in laws wanted to rest and continue their stay in manali we requested if our stay could be continued at manali log huts cottage,Mr Sharma when found that the cottage was available gave it for 2 days additional before we proceeded for Naggar

The breakfast and dinner too was excellent...good north Indian food.

One should only go for Manali log huts or orchard huts as the first preference..

Thank you very much Mr Kuldip Sharma and team for making the holiday memorable

Finally when we left ,we forgot 2 important CDs taken as momentos from Naggar Roerich museum.the Naggar Palace team and Mr Kuldip Sharma coordinated and My CDs were couriered to Mumbai.This was unbelievable....I am really grateful.It was not just hospitality ,it was Indian tradition of taking good care of your guests.

Thank you once again

Mrs Shah and Family

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shahrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    36
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
63
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northants, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

The hut we stayed in had 2 bedrooms with 2 en-suits, living/dining room (with flat screen tv) and a kitchen.

The bedrooms are of a good size but are not exactly modern, however this just adds to the charm of the place! The bathrooms are more up to date and include shower with hot water etc.

The kitchen is very basic and not really up to UK standard but as we did not use this it was not a problem.

The huts are set away from each other with their own bit of greenery, meaning you have a lot of privacy and can enjoy a peaceful stay here.

We ordered room service of local cuisine which was top notch along with the service.

It does get quite cold here in the evenings but 1970’s style retro heaters are provided in the rooms.

The views from these huts are breathtaking and definitely worth the extra 5 minutes drive.

Overall this was a great place to stay and I would definitely recommend it to anyone who is looking for a quite place to relax away from the hustle and bustle of Manali.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KingK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

I always loved HPTDC places. Most of the properties are colonial structures. At loghuts the premium huts (3 units) i guess are quite old and nicely designed.
The location has one of the best views of snowcapped mountains which one can see from the window of the living room.
Each hut has a private lawn and inside 2 bedrooms, a living room & a kitchen. The kitchen has a backdoor entry so if you choose to have a cook for you during your stay (a wise decision) you have the food cooked in your kitchen with out compromising your privacy.
Its a perfect place if you wish to spend most of your time relaxing in and around your room.

There are smaller huts as well, they seems to be build recently. don't know much about the inside.

This place is around 2 KM from the bus stand.Taxis can be arranged from the travel desk.

The staff is helpful with in the laid guidelines (remember its a govt hotel)

PS - in summer, if you wish to play in snow. Check if the snow is there at the ropeway @ solang vally and avoid the trip to Rohtang / Gulaba.

Room Tip: All teh 3 Huts are equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IDelta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

A couple friend of mine and I went to Manali for a few days and we decided to stay here because we could get cottages here as opposed to hotel rooms. Best decision ever.
For one thing, we went in an off-peak season, so the place was not crowded. So, not only did we have our own cottage (with two bedrooms, a living room, and a kitchen), it felt like we had the entire area to ourselves. And the view was gorgeous -- there were snow-capped Himalayan peaks all around us, just outside our cottage. There was a nice wooden bench outside the hut where we would sit and read some days.
These cottages are maybe a 20-25 min walk from the main drag in Manali, and are up a hill. So, if you plan to walk everywhere, it can be a bit of a hike. We sometimes walked, and sometimes just took a cab from the city, which wasn't too expensive.
These guys have a kitchen of some kind so if you give them advance notice, they'll bring you meals. We had a couple of meals here, and they were simple, tasty, and we didn't set sick, so that was good. When my friends went for a hike, they even made us some packed lunch. Service was decent, but slow, so don't expect hotel-like facilities.
The feel was more rural, and slow, and very quiet.
Even though March is not the peak of the cold season, it can get pretty cold at night -- and they only had an electric rod room heater in each of our rooms. So we had to use a lot of blankets, and often slept in our sweaters and socks, to stay warm. That was probably the only drawback for me. I believe some of the bigger hotels in manali offer central heating.
Overall, however, I would definitely recommend it, but suggest being prepared for the cold (depending on when you go).
Oh, and be careful of the monkeys that sometimes decide to stop by!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bubblesanand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2010

There are over 20 cottages and each cottage is an experience in itself. It is not like staying in a hotel and it brings the cosy feeling of staying in the house. The view is excellent with snow-capped peaks and the Beas river.
The rooms were very spacious. It was like a two bedroom apartment.
The food was ok and the service can be improved a little.The toilet flushes needs to be upgraded.The staff were very polite and courteous. The facilities that they have made to face the harsh cold is commendable.
Whatever are the trivial shortcomings, everything vanishes in front of the location,ambience and the breathtaking view of Manali that this hotel offers is very unique. You need to experience it.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ramachandran_kannan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manali hotels
3.7 km away
The Anantmaya Resort
The Anantmaya Resort
#1 of 128 in Manali
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
1.1 km away
Honeymoon Inn Manali
Honeymoon Inn Manali
#6 of 128 in Manali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
1.4 km away
Holiday Heights Manali
Holiday Heights Manali
#2 of 128 in Manali
5.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Himalayan
The Himalayan
#3 of 128 in Manali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.8 km away
Johnson Lodge
Johnson Lodge
#4 of 128 in Manali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
1.6 km away
Snow Valley Resorts
Snow Valley Resorts
#12 of 128 in Manali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HPTDC Log Huts? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HPTDC Log Huts

Property: HPTDC Log Huts
Address: HPTDC, Manali, Manali Tehsil 175131, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kullu District > Manali Tehsil > Manali
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 282 Speciality Lodging in Manali
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,696 - ₹ 9,535
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing