We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review of Axis restaurant, at Galaxy Hotel, Gurgaon”
Review of Galaxy Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Galaxy Hotel & Spa
Ranked #34 of 234 Hotels in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai, India
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Review of Axis restaurant, at Galaxy Hotel, Gurgaon”
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We had been to Axis restaurant. Good ambience. Well designed seats and well laid out tables. We decided to go for the Buffet dinner and ordered drinks separately. Service quality is decent. Liquor range is good and well priced. Live music is good.
But the food was a disappointment. The range of kebabs put up was very limited, and they were not made well. We Wanted naan's and parathas and agreed to pay extra as they were not part of the buffet but they said, we have to order a platter and specific items that we requested like garlic naan were not available.
We then walked up for rice, daal and vegetables and biryani, but they were a sttep disappointment.
We skipped dessert.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blur2clear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    128
    42
    21
    23
See reviews for
52
58
25
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

I was impressed with the hotel staff who were well groomed and picked me up from the railway station. The driver was also accomponied by a hotel representative.... The momnet i met the hotel representative,.. the first thing he said was " I expected you to give me a call".... What for?? :)
The checkin and checkout process was very long even though the process is automated. The hotel rooms are well designed.. hats off to their interior designer.... But except for the designs of the rooms, lobby and the restaurants... there was not enough to impress a traveller....

Room Tip: There will be many more options in gurgaon for this budget,... Looks out some where else...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nitin_Kalothia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Galaxy Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 July 2012
Dear Valued Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We have viewed your feedback with utmost concern and appreciate your constructive comments.

We apologize for the reported inconvenience caused and your feedback is being addressed immediately.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Galaxy Hotel*Shopping*Spa.

Regards,
Mithun Rao
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

After checking all the Gurgaon good hotels for a night/day spa package to gift to my wife,I finally pinned down to Galaxy Hotel. On a request i was offered their Weekend Spa Room Package which to my surprise was such competitively priced at Rs 8000 inclusive of all taxes on a weekday as out anniversary was on the weekday. The package included a one night stay at the hotel's Special Spa Room which is an upgrade to their basic premium room. The room is huge and comes with a sunroof( u can switch on/off ) a part of room's ceiling and get the sunlight. A superb massage chair , complementary water, huge jacuzzi room. 1 hr swedish massage for the couple with half an hr of body scrub for the couple+ all the 3 meals - breakfast,lunch and dinner at their Axis Resturant .

We had such a great time ,right from checking in to checking out. Though the hotel is not as huge with natural beauty what hotels like Trident or Oberoi Gurgaon provides, however the amazing Retail Experience that the hotel offers is outstanding - high end stores like Anokhi, Mora Tara, Indian Handicrafts Huge Shop ,Tarun Tahiliani, High End Leather accessory and other stores. U can spend your entire day looking around .

Spa ,Swimming Pool & Workout area are on the top floor and the Swimming Pool. We had the best massage experience at their Spa . They have a very experienced staff which is ready to make your stay comortable at every step. Right from the sweeper to the Managers are found greeting you thruout the day .

Even though we are residents of Gurgaon ,still it felt that we staying at a 5 star property abroad.

We loved the buffet lunch at Axis, unlike other hotels who prepare and layout tonns of food on stands. The concept of buffet at Axis is that they will tell you what all they have to offer and will prepare all the dishes fresh at that point that you select. Excellent food and service!

We decided to do our anniversary Dinner at our Fav Chinese Place - Monk which serves the best chinese in Gurgaon by all standards. We were lucky to have reached by 8:30 and grab a table to avoid long waitings that we were surprised to see even on a weekday at 11pm!

Overall we had a great time off and my wife loved the surprise!!!

Room Tip: Try and Request for a Spa Room !!! Worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mayank_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Galaxy Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 July 2012
Dear Reviewer,

We are delighted to know that our accommodation, restaurants and services were up to your expectations. At the Galaxy, we value our guests and work towards providing the best services at all times to ensure a warm, comfortable and memorable stay. Thank you for appreciating us through your wonderful feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,

Mithun Rao
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navi Mumbai, India
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

It was a Business and family trip. Selected the hotel looking at the facilities over the net and also since it was selected as one of the preferred hotels in our companies list. Few good things and few things went wrong. This is only my view of how i look at it. The rating is purely based on my experience.

The deluxe room was offered to three of us with a "King Size" Bed, entry to the Spa, gym and health centers, one way airport transfer, Break Fast and an entry ticket to the culture gully of Kingdom of Dreams.

Well if i start from the airport transfer

It was a pleasant experience. The hotel representative along with the driver was already at the airport entrance with a placard with my name well printed on it and was very well noticeable. They brought a luxurious car (Toyota Corolla is some what luxury in India Still) and on the way the hotel representative completed the check in formalities inside the car itself and handed over the Key Card as well inside the car before we reached. - 100% to that

Reaching the room -

The room was really good. Big enough for a family, enough space, nice and big bathroom, sitting space with sofa and chairs and all required facilities. The ambiance was also nice. - 100% to that

Kingsize Bed - I donno what is the method they used to measure the size of the bed. The size was not even Queen. It was an average size bed which is as good as the same size of the bed in my bedroom way back home. Hard for 3 to fit in. Though did a late night arrival, sleeping wasn't comfortable due to King Size problem - Thumbs down for not looking at this aspect before check in.

The break fast was just ordinary. If you look at the size of the hotel, the facilities and of course the tariff paid, the break fast was did not live up to the mark. There was no variety other than in the baker's section. Every day served almost the same breakfast. - Thumbs down for that

Requested for an extra bed the same day which the staff really obliged to the same with no time to spare. And thanks to heavens they did not charge for that - 100% to that

Spa, Pool, Gym and other facilities - I did not use them since i was on a business trip and my family was not ready to use them in my absence since they were new to the city and hotel - So no comments on that.

Internet facility - Good speed.

House Keeping - Well i will say it is good in terms of the cleanliness of the room and response. However i am not sure if they were updated about the number of guests in the room as the refills for coffee maker was not for 3 persons. We asked for extra and provided immediately. - Thanks

Now came the big surprise

Free Entry to Kingdom of Dreams

It was a part of my tariff. Since the management of the hotel and KOD was same, they offered the entry to Culture Gully in KOD as a compliment which i was waiting for to explore. Called up the front desk and enquired about the tickets. As instructed by the person who attended the call, i was supposed to report at the reception at 6 pm the next day to be transferred by a shuttle bus provided by the hotel at 6.15 pm to the KOD. We reached well before time and explored the shopping facilities after i left office much before my work completed. We tried to enter a bus, since the bus was full we have been asked to use a car parked next to the bus. we sat and one of the hotel representative asked if we were from XYZ Company. And he asked us to get out of the car since it was for that company and informed us that there is no transfer facility available for us. I was adamant as it was the part of the offer and reconfirmed by the front office.(Otherwise what on earth i know there is a shuttle bus). The hotel rep offered a transfer in their car at a price which i refused. Looking at my response and argument, after verifying my terms of tariff they provided with a car which dropped me at KOD and back to the hotel. - So far so good. Thank you for that. But i knew they will surprise me when check out. Since it was expected it wasn't a surprise at all. They have put a good amount against the KOD car rental in the bill. I would have not wasted my time doing this review of the KOD experience if they did not charge me on the bill.
However i refused to pay the same and after some discussion with some one by the reception staff, it was withdrawn. - Thanks for that.

All the above was purely based on the experience.

In general, The hotel is Huge, clean, courteous, provided with good facility. But it gives a deserted look with less occupancy. Need to improve on break fast menu and variety day by day.

One thing to mention. If you are looking at more Indian guests, you may invest in Jet pumps near the toilet. Indians don't believe in depending only on toilet papers. (am i being gross? But this is a reality which i wanted to mention as it caused little discomfort for me and my family in particular)

Loved the room.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rajeevkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galaxy-Hotel, Manager at Galaxy Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Dear Valued Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We have viewed your feedback with utmost concern and appreciate your constructive comments.

We apologize for the reported inconvenience caused and your feedback is being addressed immediately.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Galaxy Hotel*Shopping*Spa.

Regards,
Mithun Rao
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

This review relates only to the spa ... I was gifted a day long spa package as a birthday gift and it was wonderful! The spa ambience was serene and peaceful and the staff was very attentive. The treatments were great and I had a nice lunch at their buffet restaurant Axis as well. Overall, a very relaxing experience!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Meenu14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galaxy-Hotel, Manager at Galaxy Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you for your wonderful feedback ,and we are delighted to know that you appreciated the treatments you had at Spa Soul and also enjoyed your meals at Axis-our multi cuisine restaurant. Here, we strive to give a memorable experience to all our guests with great cuisine, service and ambience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,
Mithun Rao
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gurugram (Gurgaon) hotels
1.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Skycity Hotel
BEST WESTERN Skycity Hotel
#21 of 234 in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
533 reviews
4.8 km away
Anya Gurgaon, New Delhi NCR
Anya Gurgaon, New Delhi NCR
#5 of 234 in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
469 reviews
10.6 km away
Hyatt Regency Gurgaon
Hyatt Regency Gurgaon
#9 of 234 in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
The Pllazio Hotel
The Pllazio Hotel
#30 of 234 in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
319 reviews
1.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Gurgaon Sector 12
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson ...
#36 of 234 in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
413 reviews
7.1 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gurgaon-New Delhi NCR
DoubleTree by Hilton Gurgaon-New...
#8 of 234 in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galaxy Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galaxy Hotel & Spa

Property: Galaxy Hotel & Spa
Address: Nh 8 National Highway 8, Gurugram (Gurgaon) 122001, India
Region: India > Haryana > Gurgaon District > Gurugram (Gurgaon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
#28 Luxury Hotel in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
#33 Business Hotel in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,920 - ₹ 7,005
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Galaxy Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the middle of Gurgaon's Central Business District and a mere 25 minutes away from the domestic and international airports, the Galaxy Hotel & Spa is an island of convenience for the global business traveller. The hotel offers gorgeous accommodations and five-star amenities to enhance your stay. Make yourself comfortable in your elegant room or suite, with its spacious rooms, luxury bedding and complimentary high-speed Internet, Additional hotel perks include our award-winning Spa- Spa Soul, as well as fantastic dining at our seven different on-site restaurants. Enjoy a workout in the fitness center, relax in our outdoor infinity pools, or let the children make a splash in the kid's pool. Those hosting or attending events here in Gurgaon will be delighted with our extensive weddings and conferences event space.Welcome to your luxury hotel getaway here at The Galaxy Hotel & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, MakeMyTrip, TripOnline SA, ClearTrip, TravelGuru, Yatra, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Galaxy Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galaxy Hotel Gurgaon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing