We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly Taj - Best In Surat - A Must Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Athwa Lines Surat
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Surat
Certificate of Excellence
MUMBAI
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Truly Taj - Best In Surat - A Must Visit”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Super Quiet Location, Fantastic river view (specially in monsoon), just 15 mins away from all necessary areas like shopping, tourist spots, business area etc...
Almost everything deserves 5*
FYI: The level of hospitality in India is the highest from Indian Brand Hotels Only.

Room Tip: 8th floor suites are the best I would say as we stayed in one ; )
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    292
    71
    13
    14
See reviews for
146
69
39
462
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

A great place to be in Surat, got a nice river facing room on the 7th floor, the sun set and sun raise over the river is a treat for eyes. The stay was comfortable, I needed to ask for some things which are expected to be in the toilet for a hotel of the same class. The service was prompt, staff was very well groomed, very helping.
The food was amazing with a lot of options, has a dedicated South Indian Cuisine restaurant.
I though am not a great fan of south indian cuisine, opted for a continental buffet. The lamb recipe here stands apart from any other I have tested elsewhere, in one word "awesome".
One thing to note i specific, weekends are crowded as most Surti's are obsessed with eating out on weekends, please book your table in advance. The restaurant manager deed a commendable job in managing the rush.
The breakfast offers a nice spread, enjoyed the non-veg in specific.
Probably the best place to stay in Surat...

Room Tip: You would enjoy a river facing room... higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IndranilChakraborty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Stayed there for 2 nights. Very comfortable and centrally located. Excellent food and VERY attentive staff. I wanted to do some shopping in Surat and the staff pinpointed where I should go. Fallout was the poor quality of the internet, which makes it difficult for the business traveller. There was some extensive renovation in progress, the noise from which is very apparent in the corridoors during the day. The rooms however were sound proof. Given a choice as to whether I would stay there again? The answer would be Yes.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydney_on_the_move
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nagpur, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We arrived in Surat at the invitation of a local contact for business who had booked us at the Tennis Club, Surat which for very obvious reasons we had to skip. Then we called The Grand Bhagwati Surat and The Gateway Hotel. To our surprise we got a great weekend package at the Gateway and we decided in favor of the Gateway instead of the TGB (was quoting higher too). I would rather choose a dated, well located hotel with Taj pedagogy than new fresh other option. The check in was smooth. We were allocated a room with a view of the Tapti river. You could simply sit in the room keep looking at the beautiful view it had to offer from sunrise to sunset. We had 4 meals at the hotel. Each meal was a lot of fun. The food at the indian speciality restaurant Spice is very strongly recommended. The management was also forthcoming to give us a change of room as we felt the first room was a little dated. The second room on the same floor was modern and chic. We had a self drive car, and the concierge made sure our car was cleaned for us on both the days we were there. The service is exceptional, its a great place to do business, its one of the best options to stay in Surat.

Room Tip: Lookout for the weekend offers, its an absolute value for money. I preferred the rooms overlooking t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neesej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Yet again............I would always love to come back! What a location... just on the bank of tapi river ...great food and hospitality. Good location ... Posh locality. I wish the hotel team all the very best.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joymumu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surat hotels
6.0 km away
The Grand Bhagwati
The Grand Bhagwati
#3 of 32 in Surat
435 reviews
5.9 km away
Lords Plaza - Surat
Lords Plaza - Surat
#5 of 32 in Surat
436 reviews
6.2 km away
Budget Inn Bellevue
Budget Inn Bellevue
#2 of 32 in Surat
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
Hotel Ginger Surat
Hotel Ginger Surat
#4 of 32 in Surat
284 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Sifat International
5.5 km away
Hotel Central Excellency
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel Athwa Lines Surat? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Athwa Lines Surat

Property: The Gateway Hotel Athwa Lines Surat
Address: Ambika Niketan, Athwa Lines | Dumas Road, Surat 395007, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Gujarat > Surat
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Surat
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,830 - ₹ 8,291
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gateway Hotel Athwa Lines Surat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoftTaj, HotelQuickly, ClearTrip, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Athwa Lines Surat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gateway Hotel Athwa Lines Surat Gujarat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing