We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent hotel with excellent staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gateway Hotel Athwa Lines Surat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Athwa Lines Surat
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Surat
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel with excellent staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

Excellent quality of suites in Surat, Staff very helpful and food excellent. The bakery has amazing cakes and pastries. Price wise, it is very good too.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Purav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    266
    69
    11
    12
See reviews for
119
62
35
430
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

good locations, friendly staff, okay rooms with not a lotof space, great multi cuisine restaurant, Good gym and a good value of money. It is 1 of the best in surat although grand bhagwati comes a close 2nd

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Priyanshu_jha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

Stayed at this hotel for six days in November 2011 and throughly enjoyed our time there.Rooms were of very high standard and comfortable.Management and staff very helpful and accomodating.Have stayed here previously and will stay again on our next visit to Surat

Room Tip: Rooms with river view very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rameshchandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

You have to always be on your guard here. I was twice seen naked by men who just walked in.The first time, which was about three months ago, a male employee opened the door to the sauna while I was undressed, and the second time, which was today, a male walked into the change area while I was naked. I immediately covered myself and asked who he was. In the meantime, the male receptionist and another male staff person came to the area and found out what had happened. Ten minutes later, as I approached the elevators, I saw the male receptionist as well as the female receptionist standing at the counter. Their faces looked like they were in shock. The manager, who was standing right next to them, was looking at some papers in her hands. When she saw that I was upset, she feigned ignorance and asked "Hello, Ms.__________. Is something the matter?" This took the cake, since I find it very hard to believe that her staff, who were standing right next to her, and one of whom had actually come in when he heard the commotion, did not inform her about what had happened. More importantly, I very loudly shared my experience with a gym staff person as I approached the elevators, and the area is small enough for all to have heard me. In fact, I would have expected her to approach me about the incident. Also, be prepared to have no slippers for almost 2 weeks,no soap in showers for 9 days straight so one is forced to use hand soap, and exercise equipment that stays out of order for months at a time. Staff watch you while you use the toilet with half transparent doors, and in fact refuse to go away even if you want your privacy. Unfortunately, the one toilet with a solid door did not help me at all since an employee barged in and I almost fell off the seat and almost broke my computer. After sharing this with the manager, she herself opened the door to the toilet while I was inside, and in fact did not knock to see if it was occupied. The water temperature can change drastically from hot to less than lukewarm, and yet when you ask for help, the manager questions your judgement. The sauna has been cold quite a few times even if you give at least a half hour notice to start it. A massage therapist is usually unavailable even if you call a few hours ahead of time and are willing to pay more than you would in Canada. Unfortunately, this review comes after a 4 month stay at this hotel during which time I have continuous feedback in order to create an opportunity for things to improve.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Mittens27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

Great property right at Surat city. Big property with good rooms, nice decors. Restaurant is a big attraction though closes quite early. Lobby and hotel approach is impressive, being large and spacious. Real value for money. Impressed with the maintenance and upkeep.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joymumu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surat hotels
6.0 km away
The Grand Bhagwati
The Grand Bhagwati
#3 of 32 in Surat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
6.3 km away
Budget Inn Bellevue
Budget Inn Bellevue
#2 of 32 in Surat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
5.8 km away
Lords Plaza - Surat
Lords Plaza - Surat
#5 of 32 in Surat
3.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
Hotel Ginger Surat
Hotel Ginger Surat
#4 of 32 in Surat
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Sifat International
5.9 km away
Hotel Central Excellency
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel Athwa Lines Surat? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Athwa Lines Surat

Property: The Gateway Hotel Athwa Lines Surat
Address: Ambika Niketan, Athwa Lines | Dumas Road, Surat 395007, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Gujarat > Surat
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Surat
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,807 - ₹ 17,996
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gateway Hotel Athwa Lines Surat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelGuru, Agoda, Indian Hotels Company Limited and Expedia so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Athwa Lines Surat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gateway Hotel Athwa Lines Surat Gujarat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing