We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good package”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Fern Gir Forest Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good package”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

I have jest come from the fern, gir. The overall stay was excellent. The positives:
- excellent food
- good cleaniness
- smiling staff

Negative
-problem with water heating, had to get hot water buckets
-lying front desk persons, they take you for a ride. Told us check out is at 10:30am because they had a group come in and waiting where as in their room rates and website check out is at 12:00 noon.
-maintenance staff not so good.

Overall a good value for ,money and recommended must stay.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hyuma8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    102
    34
    5
    4
See reviews for
176
66
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We stayed in a tent during end of 2011 - situated about 10 min drive from Sinh Sadan, the recently constructed resort over 4 acres including villas and tents is modern and well maintained. Good ambience, food, location and service attitude makes it a great place to stay for a holiday. The tents are fully furnished and offer a good experience for those who have stayed in rooms or villas earlier

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Krishnapv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

When we called the hotel for directions from Junagadh, we were told there are enough signages en route, couldnt find any - we almost missed the resort which is bang on the road a couple of kms before Sasan. The Hotel is has a new feel to it and is very well maintained. Though we had booked for Tents, the hotel kindly upgraded us to Wintergreen "Cottages" which are single storied rooms adjoining each other - blocks of four rooms - two on the ground and two on the first floor. The Rooms were quite well appointed with an attached balcony. Overall the room was quite nice furnished with all necessary amenities - tea/coffee water kettle, mini fridge etc. The access cards were out of order and we were given a key which was a little bit of a bother since we were told that if we left the key inside the room, they had no option but to break into the room to retreive the key ! Given the weather, we did not use the Swimming pool - looked quite clean. The play area is suitable for kids under the age of 6/7. Food was standard fare - like in any resort - reasonably good vegetarian spread. Overall, the hardware is all in place to make it a great experience.

Now for the negatives - In "touristy" destinations such as Gir, you would expect that there is a resident expert/guide to help guests with areas of interest in the surroundings. Sadly, it appeared that none of the front office staff had ANY clue about the surrounding areas. Every question was met with blank stares - very disappointing and frustrating. While checking out, we had to settle part of the bill (we paid 50% in advance on booking) - the staff at the front-office tried using all our cards but to no avail - finally, I settled through a net transfer from my bank account - this may have been a telecom hitch but did cause a significant delay on check out.

Inspite of these shortcomings, I would strongly recommend staying at Fern Gir for the sheer convenience and the good quality of the property.

Room Tip: I heard from one of the fellow guests that the Tents (which are right next to the road) are very noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank DaytripperBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We made a family trip to Sasan, i.e. me, my wife, and my parents. We had booked their winter green cottages. These cottages are in blocks of 04 rooms, 02 on the ground floor and 02 on the 1st floor.

The rooms were nice and spacious with a decent sized balcony. The bed was a really nice and the colours and the furniture used are top-notch. The bathroom too was good enough, but again, there were NO CURTAINS!!! Hope they put up the curtains soon enough.

We had asked the hotel to book a safari for us the next day at 0630 in the morning, and it was booked as requested.

Coming to the food. During dinner, there was a pretty decent spread, and the food tasted quite well. One thing to note for people is that there are no Non-veg dishes included in the dinner spread, which is part of the package. You have to order it extra if you want to. The breakfast was also very tasteful with the usual cereals, fruits, eggs to order, etc.

The service was exemplary throughout our stay.

Thanks,
Sharvil

Room Tip: For someone wanting to try staying in a tent, but wary of lack of facilities, Fern Sasan Gir has amo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sharvilpatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gir National Park hotels
0.2 km away
Lords Resorts Sasan Gir
Lords Resorts Sasan Gir
#1 of 6 in Gir National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
12.6 km away
Vishal The Green Wood Resort
0.0 km away
Van Vihar Farm
Van Vihar Farm
#2 of 4 in Sasan Gir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Gir Jungle Lodge
Gir Jungle Lodge
#2 of 31 in Gir National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
4.4 km away
Saavaj Resort
Saavaj Resort
#1 of 21 in Sasan Gir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
1.7 km away
The Gateway Hotel Gir Forest
The Gateway Hotel Gir Forest
#3 of 31 in Gir National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fern Gir Forest Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fern Gir Forest Resort

Property: The Fern Gir Forest Resort
Address: Sasan Gir, Gir National Park 362135, India
Region: India > Gujarat > Gir Somnath District > Gir National Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Gir National Park
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,753 - ₹ 14,932
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fern Gir Forest Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled by the thick vegetation, picturesque hills, green fields, beautiful landscaped gardens and adjacent to Gir Lion Sanctuary, The Fern Gir Forest Resort is regarded as one of the best forest hotels in India. Enjoy a relaxing holiday with family & friends at one of the best hotels in Gir. A stay at our hotel in Gir guarantees you a memorable holiday.Being amongst the leading hotels in Gir this Fern resort, a Unit of Kotecha hotels and Managed by Concept Hospitality Pvt. Ltd. offers a total of 40 well appointed and aesthetically designed rooms comprising of suites, villas, cottages & luxury tents that exude opulence and style. Our two duplex suites offer a captivating view of the River Hiran flowing by. All our guest rooms are well-equipped with modern amenities like LCD TV, a mini-bar, tea-kettle, digital safe, hair dryer & with flawless service we stand out to be one of the best forest hotels across India.During your stay at Fern Gir forest resort, indulge yourself at the "Sohum Spa", ideally located by the River Hiran and offering a host of treatments, massages, open rain shower etc. Along with it, the state-of- the- art gymnasium, jacuzzi and a swimming pool will completely rejuvenate your mind and body. Indulge in nature and forget the troubles of the world in our luxury resort in Gir. It's because of these unique offerings which make us one of the best forest hotels in India. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ClearTrip, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Fern Gir Forest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fern Gir Forest Resort Gir National Park, Gujarat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing