We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place but not up to the mark...”
Review of Mango Safari Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gir National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mango Safari Camp
Vadodara, India
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good place but not up to the mark...”
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Went to enjoy the Gir forest safari and camping in tent...it was a different experience.food was not so good.services were ok.There was no transportation facilities.campfire was an exception.Surrounding area was nice ...especially sun set point..

Room Tip: Near entry gate
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vedarora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

7 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    1
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

The resort was below par. Very poor housekeeping. Food was extremely bad. Nobody seemed to be bothered. Waste of money staying in this resort. The resort staff was giving more importance to some VIPs in our stay and forgot that there were other tourists from far away places staying in the resort. We were asked to wait for our dinner till late night since some VIPs family were being entertained in the restaurant. I found this extremely insulting and surprising since a lot of money was paid for staying in the resort and the service we got was pathetic.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sourjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gir National Park hotels

Ahmedabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Very PATHETIC service. WASTE of all money and you can waste the vacation by fighting with them for every thing. Everybody at the hotel had some of the copmlaint and the Management is very Bad. You can experience the Bad service from gatekeeper to reception to house keeping.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NehalK_abd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Though the infrastructure is good, THE SERVICE IS INCREDIBLY PATHETIC.

The management only nod their heads when you go to them with your grievances and do nothing eventually. The 15 minutes I was at their reception, they had 4 families with varied complaints from serving bad food to no hot water to no tea, to missing out on organising safari camp...the highlight of your stay.

The person in charge and the owner named Luv Sharma was actually yawning hearing the families and disrespectfully even talking on his phone instead of attending to his customers. He comes across someone with ZERO people management skills and someone who is truly immature to handle this kind of job. Luv Sharma, and his co-workers will only pass the buck to the other one leaving you in complete dismay.

Please avoid this place if you want to enjoy your holidays peacefully. Thumbs down for this one!

Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank MumbaiBijoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We went to Mango Safari during November end, a Deepawali holidays. But it was not that made the experience bad, it was the fact that during reservations not a single time we were told that they were denied license near Gir Forest, and that they were moving to a location 15 km outside the Gir and that they were not ready to receive any guest, forget about 80 or so people.

For the 4-star equivalent money they charged, we found food at most 2-star. Amenities promised mostly missing. Welcome drink was water in paper cups sitting on a stool. Our tent's AC was not working and no one fixed it for 2 days we were there. The young service crew was doing their best job to pacify guests, who were going ballistic. For 80 tents, there were hardly 4 people to man the whole front office and guest relations.

They were neither able to take us to promised Gir Forest nor even to nearby Sanctuary on first day. Finally second day, they took us the Gir Forest and there was no wild animals other than few deers and so. Forget about lions.

While I can go over list of unprofessional experiences we had, I will close with following: even after telling them in morning at 9 am on the day of check-out, they could not get a car to Gir village at 1 pm. Finally, we left with a family who offered us a ride in their car.

Room Tip: Try other established places near-by the actual Gir Forest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bhramanti-Pune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gir National Park hotels
12.8 km away
Vishal Lords Inn Gir Forest
2.5 km away
Hotel Aditya
Hotel Aditya
#2 of 21 in Sasan Gir
34 reviews
13.0 km away
Daksh Hotel & Restaurant
Daksh Hotel & Restaurant
#12 of 21 in Sasan Gir
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
The Fern Gir Forest Resort
The Fern Gir Forest Resort
#1 of 30 in Gir National Park
353 reviews
3.6 km away
Asiatic Lion Lodge
Asiatic Lion Lodge
#1 of 24 in Sasan Gir
239 reviews
5.5 km away
Van Vihar Farm
Van Vihar Farm
#3 of 4 in Sasan Gir
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Safari Camp

Property: Mango Safari Camp
Address: Sasan Gir, Gir National Park, India
Region: India > Gujarat > Gir Somnath District > Gir National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Gir National Park
Price range (per night): ₹ 500 - ₹ 8,500
Number of rooms: 80
Also Known As:
Mango Safari Camp Gir National Park, Gujarat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing