We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Little Old, yet comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad
Ranked #127 of 156 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Little Old, yet comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

On checking in the rooms gave an old fashioned look with small rooms yet the overall experience was very comfortable. Service at the hotel was pretty decent. On one the days I fell sick and the hotel staff went out to get me medicines which was very sweet gesture. Food is enjoyable. Only thing left me unhappy is there was no hot water during my early check out which left me cold in very cold weather :(

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Naveen2807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gajanan_Shirke, General Manager at Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad, responded to this review, 28 December 2015
Dear Guest,

It was a delight to having you stay with us. Thank you for giving us this opportunity.

Thank you also for the wonderful review that you have so graciously posted on TripAdvisor. We are over whelmed to read your feedback

We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback on our product, facilities, restaurant, food and our service. Guests such as yourself are the true inspiration behind our philosophy towards hospitality and our endeavour remains to continuously engage in guest satisfaction and service excellence.

The team and I will look forward to having many more opportunities of welcoming you back.

Thank you and regards,


General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    121
    80
    24
    16
See reviews for
35
15
31
222
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

Have stayed at this hotel a couple of times, recent being 12th January. Excellent Food, helpful staff. It's an old property, the rooms are small, riverside view is spoiled by the shabby slums. They need to do proper pest control, as again this time i noticed a small cockraoch in the toilet.

Affordable and nice hotel. Cordial reception. Staff is very welcoming.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amit V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gajanan_Shirke, General Manager at Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad, responded to this review, 28 December 2015
Dear Guest,

It was a delight to having you stay with us. Thank you for giving us this opportunity.

Thank you also for the wonderful review that you have so graciously posted on TripAdvisor. We are over whelmed to read your feedback

We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback on our product, facilities, restaurant, food and our service. Guests such as yourself are the true inspiration behind our philosophy towards hospitality and our endeavour remains to continuously engage in guest satisfaction and service excellence.

The team and I will look forward to having many more opportunities of welcoming you back.

Thank you and regards,


General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
94 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed at this hotel for three nights on two separate occasions and were quite satisfied. Both our rooms were large as we needed an extra bed and they were nicely appointed. Everything was clean and working. We had a great view from the window, however the river itself is not particularly attractive due to large concrete stop banks and there are slum dwellings nearby.

The location is near the old city walls and is fine if you have a car available or are happy to use local transport. We were not happy to walk outside the hotel due to the slum next door.

Food at the restaurant was excellent, very tasty Indian vegetarian buffet although meat was also available. Breakfast was good although a little slow to get going in the mornings which held us up a bit as they were still getting the food out.

Staff were all helpful. Wifi is available but you might need one of the staff to help set it up initially as it is a bit complicated.

We would stay at this hotel again as overall our experience was positive.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank opgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gajanan_Shirke, General Manager at Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad, responded to this review, 28 December 2015
Dear Guest,

It was a delight to having you stay with us. Thank you for giving us this opportunity.

Thank you also for the wonderful review that you have so graciously posted on TripAdvisor. We are over whelmed to read your feedback

We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback on our product, facilities, restaurant, food and our service. Guests such as yourself are the true inspiration behind our philosophy towards hospitality and our endeavour remains to continuously engage in guest satisfaction and service excellence.

The team and I will look forward to having many more opportunities of welcoming you back.

Thank you and regards,


General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

Sarovar Portico near Bhavans College has a rather bad approach to reach the HOtel. But once inside the typical Sarovar portfolio takes over and you have a professional staff to take care of your needs. Ideally located if you have business in Ahmedabad city. Reception is cordial and helpful. The pick up from Airport is helpful as you could get lost trying to reach the place.
The rooms are cozy and comfortable. Nothing special but purely comfortable. Clean, efficient and helpful housekeeping ensures you are comfortable.
Room service is good but can improve a bit more. Restaurant (i Think River view) provides the basic buffet spread. If you have had experience of Sarovar Buffet in Mumbai you could be disappointed. But yes it is basic. Food is tasty, not local but serves cuisine of all areas. (North Indian food is good) Some food items in break fast are menu are great.
A nice cozy place to do business from.

Room Tip: Select the room facing river. You can probably get a nice evening view if you are above 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sachin196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gajanan_Shirke, General Manager at Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad, responded to this review, 28 December 2015
Dear Guest,

It was a delight to having you stay with us. Thank you for giving us this opportunity.

Thank you also for the wonderful review that you have so graciously posted on TripAdvisor. We are over whelmed to read your feedback

We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback on our product, facilities, restaurant, food and our service. Guests such as yourself are the true inspiration behind our philosophy towards hospitality and our endeavour remains to continuously engage in guest satisfaction and service excellence.

The team and I will look forward to having many more opportunities of welcoming you back.

Thank you and regards,


General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

I really liked hotel, specially the food. Breakfast had a very nice spread. Room was good facing river though there is land patch in between hotel and river. It has a very nice open lawn in the side quite big one. Hotel also provides pickup and drop to airport, staff is quite helpful in guiding you about the city.

Room Tip: Ask for riverside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abhimum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gajanan_Shirke, General Manager at Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad, responded to this review, 28 December 2015
Dear Guest,

It was a delight to having you stay with us. Thank you for giving us this opportunity.

Thank you also for the wonderful review that you have so graciously posted on TripAdvisor. We are over whelmed to read your feedback

We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback on our product, facilities, restaurant, food and our service. Guests such as yourself are the true inspiration behind our philosophy towards hospitality and our endeavour remains to continuously engage in guest satisfaction and service excellence.

The team and I will look forward to having many more opportunities of welcoming you back.

Thank you and regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ahmedabad hotels
0.2 km away
Cama Hotel
Cama Hotel
#37 of 156 in Ahmedabad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.7 km away
Treebo Ambassador
Treebo Ambassador
#24 of 156 in Ahmedabad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.8 km away
Riverview Hotel
Riverview Hotel
#44 of 156 in Ahmedabad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Lemon Tree Premier; The Atrium, Ahmedabad
1.3 km away
Lemon Tree Hotel, Ahmedabad
Lemon Tree Hotel, Ahmedabad
#10 of 156 in Ahmedabad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Cosmopolitan
Hotel Cosmopolitan
#27 of 156 in Ahmedabad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad

Property: Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad
Address: Bhawan's College Road, Ahmedabad 380001, India (Formerly Hotel Sarovar Portico)
Region: India > Gujarat > Ahmedabad
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 156 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,078 - ₹ 6,361
Hotel Class:3 star — Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get a cordial reception at Sarovar Portico as you are introduced to this property that promises you every possible comfort and a world-class luxury. The entrance lobby itself is inviting with its wooden feel and plush furnishings. All the rooms and suites come with all of the best luxuries and a dedicated staff ensures that you are attended to anytime during the day. Extra care is taken to provide you with things to pamper you and keep you refreshed throughout the day. The hotel ensures that its guests are always comfortable and well-connected. Business tourists are even provided with the best of business facilities. The hotel even has the capacity to organize business conferences and meetings in its well-equipped conference halls. Dining is a priority for Sarovar. It has an amazing multi-cuisine restaurant that allows guests to enjoy delicious meals as they enjoy a lovely view of the gardens and the Sabarmati River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ClearTrip, Agoda, Hotels.com and TravelGuru so you can book your Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarovar Portico Ahmedabad Gujarat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing