We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem at Utorda beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Ligorio Holiday Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salcette District
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Ligorio Holiday Place
New Delhi
Level Contributor
114 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Hidden gem at Utorda beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

I had gone to Goa on work when while sipping cold beer at the famous Zeebop by the sea restaurant, the setting sun changed my mood and I decided to stay an extra night in the beach city. A few colleagues told me about this 'aunty's guesthouse' nearby which was the perfect place to just crash and chill for the night.
What titled the favors for this was the fact that it was a mere 2min drive from Zeebop. Set behind Kenilworth resort, Casa Ligorio is basically a home-stay kind of a thing. This is an old Portugal property which is run by the owners as a very comfy guest-house. The family stays on the ground floor while the upper floors are reserved for tourist - i got the room on the 1st floor that had two balconies!
Though this is more of a home-stay / guesthouse kind of thingy, you still get stuff like
1. Room service from the near by 'J the top' restaurant
2. Breakfast in room - have it in the balcony for best effect
3. toiletries
4. The usual stuff like a/c, geyser, tv etc
The bed is pretty comfy (on the softer side) and as the property is tucked away in a rather serene environment, there is no sound from any traffic.
The next day, I walked to the Utorda beach which takes around 5-7mins of leisure walking. There are numerous shacks to kill time at, or you can even walk to Zeebop in 10-15mins. South Goa is known for white sands and less tourist and is the perfect place to just laze under the sand, grab a beer and kill time. Do remember though that these shacks can be pretty expensive these days. A pint is for 50 bucks but the food expensive.
Dinner can be had at the 'J the Top' restaurant, a one min walk from the property. The family at the guest house can also arrange for taxi to the airport - an easy drive of 25-30mins.
I paid 1500 bucks for a night for single accommodation and this included breakfast as well.
More details can be had from their website at http://casaligorio.com

Room Tip: Ground floor ones get private gardens, uppers get balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BunnyPunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
21
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Margao, Goa, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

Casa Ligorio is a lovely family type hotel in a superb beach called Utorda, 10 kms from Margao.
If you're prepared to spend a little more than, lets say, staying at Furtados, then I would recommend Casa Ligorio. They charged us 1800/- total for me, my wife and baby.(I checked in at 5pm and checked out at 7pm next day) . It also includes unlimited breakfast (Indian or continental) and evening tea. Breakfast (your choice of items) was scrabbled eggs, cheese grilled toast (a Must!!), french fries, bacon, orange juices, coffee, oatmeal, and fresh milk since they have their own buffaloes. There is a lovely restaurant "J" just next door which serves good Goan food. Must try the Chicken Cafreal - its lovely! The beach is 10 minutes by walk and it is one of the few unspoiled beaches in Goa- infact it takes you back in time to the '70's. The sand is white in color and is the beach is very clean and un-inhabited.
If you like noise and loud music, then this is NOT the place for you. In that case you will have to look at some North Goa beaches like Baga and Calangute where all the Bombay and North Indian crowds flock. Personally I hate the North Goa beaches.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

A delightful place to stay if you want a taste of a real Goan village where the hosts are charming, you can relax and watch the water buffalo munch their way peacefully in the fields and the beach is less than 10 minutes away. My elderly parents stayed at Casa Ligorio in February 2011 and loved the atmosphere - Ortulana made them feel totally at home and could not have been more welcoming, helpful and thoughtful. Two of our party stayed at the spacious and comfortable Casa Zita, a five minute walk away along a road shaded by palms and breadfruit trees. We all met up for breakfast under the palm trees and feasted on seasonal tropical fruits, Goan bread and Cornflakes (for those who wanted it)! There are a variety of eating places on the beach and it's an easy beach walk if you want to find water sports, 5* hotel restaurants or just explore. I would go there again and heartily recommend Casa Ligorio for a homely, comfortable, relaxed holiday.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceciliago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

I had a lovely two weeks at the Casa Ligorio. It's a proper family run hotel, and everyone is absolutely charming, welcoming and helpful. If you want comfortable and peaceful stay in Goa with quick and easy access to the beach, then I would heartily recommend it. I will go back.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deanojohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2011

Still cant believe that that this place exists, if Armagedon ever came this is where I would like to be. Casa Ligorio has had a full exterior paint job this year and Im told from Ortulana that the bedrooms will be getting done soon as well. Please if you are thinking about staying in the South of Goa give this place a visit you wont be dissapointed, after visiting this establishment since 2005 on a regular basis I can honestly say that they are determined to look after the Guests 100%
For the business traveller there is now interenet access, it's obvious that Im not the only talking about this place as from what I can see the majority of guests are repeat ones, if you want to try out this place you have to be quick on your rerservation, please leave me a room though.We even got invited to a family wedding along with some other guests brilliant night and one to remember. Daria and Francis at the Rosary Shack are still there as well brilliant food and watching the sunset is something that you all must try, still mention my name for your free drink.

"J" the Top ( Family Restaurant) is still producing some mouth watering dishes keep up the good service Jarwal this is situated between Casa Ligorio and Casa Zitta ( Brother Geoffrey's) this to is a great place to stay for your vacation, this family have got it right for once the "Guest's Come First" Im priviledged to know this family and to call them my "Friends"
Bobby & Lesley Paterson

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scotchbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salcette District
0.0 km away
Amigo Plaza
Amigo Plaza
#8 of 39 in Salcette District
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.0 km away
Planet Hollywood Beach Resort
0.0 km away
Alila Diwa Goa
Alila Diwa Goa
#2 of 39 in Salcette District
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 15 in Benaulim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,583 reviews
0.0 km away
Beleza...by the beach
Beleza...by the beach
#1 of 5 in Betalbatim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
0.0 km away
Lazy Frog
Lazy Frog
#1 of 1 in Carmona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Ligorio Holiday Place? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ligorio Holiday Place

Property: Casa Ligorio Holiday Place
Address: Utorda Beach | Salcete-Goa, 403713, India
Region: India > Goa > Salcette District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Salcette District
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,586 - ₹ 3,199
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Casa Ligorio Holiday Place Goa/Salcette District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing