We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Goa Chitra Museum
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
48
30
6
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
48
30
6
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews personal collection rich history agriculture victor wheel tools goa curator cart era treasure knowledge utensils parts beaches
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A must visit place. The collection is very nicely curated and tells an interesting story of old times.

Date of experience: October 2021
Thank Gopal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaishalibali, Marketing Partner at Goa Chitra Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

you for the five-star rating and detailed review of your visit to the Goa Chitra Museum. We are so glad that you had a wonderful time and recommend us. We certainly look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2021

Feel truly lucky to have gone to this museum(s), and witnessed the massive collection, that teaches one so much about Goa's history, culture and social systems. The museum guide was wonderful and had many interesting stories. It was also such a delight to talk with Mr Victor Gomes, the founder and curator of the museum, the man behind the collection. Just within a 15 minute conversation, Victor amazed us with his unique insight and perspective into the need of cultural documentation and preservation of traditional knowledge systems.
Would definitely recommend Goa Chitra to everyone interested in knowing and exploring beyond Goa's beaches.

Date of experience: September 2021
1  Thank dnighoskar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaishalibali, Marketing Partner at Goa Chitra Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2021

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the five-star rating and detailed review of your visit to the Goa Chitra Museum. We are so glad that you had a wonderful time and recommend us.

Thank you for appreciating the efforts of our Founder, Victor Hugo Gomes to help preserve our rich history to enrich future generations and make our ancestral wisdom accessible to everyone.

We certainly look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2021 via mobile

Loved this place for type of collection. This is a private museum offering guided tours. They have 3 parts inside u can choose to see any of ur choice and pay accordingly. Full tour is 300 rs per person.
One hour is enough if its not crowded. There is a wheel and cart museum, another is about goan history and 3rd is utensils and agree tools.

Date of experience: February 2021
3  Thank vermagaurav111
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaishalibali, Marketing Partner at Goa Chitra Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2021

Dear Guest, thank you for the four-star rating and review of your visit to Goa Chitra Museum. We really appreciate you taking out the time to share your feedback and we are glad that you loved the collection at the museum.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2020

Visited as part of an organised tour...a step back into time...so many things collected from many locations giving an insight into the development of Goa. It was a fascinating time...would have liked more..staff were polite & keen to show you the history of the area....it has to be said this man has a passion that is almost to the extreme limited only by the funds they have to preserve artifacts found or donated to his cause....well worth the time to visit & take a peek into the ares history...that would have been lost forever without the efforts of Victor Hugo Gomes....Excellent

Date of experience: December 2019
4  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaishalibali, Marketing Partner at Goa Chitra Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2021

Dear Peter, thank you so much for the five-star rating and the review. Thank you for appreciating the efforts and dedication of our Founder-Curator, Victor Hugo Gomes to preserve the rich history of Goa and the country to enrich future generations.

We are so glad that you had a fascinating time and found It worth your time. We certainly look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2020

This museum in South Goa is a private collection of an individual by the name of Victor Huge Gomez. The entry fee is exorbitantly high as compared to other government museums (Rs 300). A guide takes you through the museum. There are three sections of the museum and all these are exhibition of collection of old artefacts by the owner. The artefacts not only concern the old Goan life but also at other places in India. These are mainly pottery, local tools, household items, horse-carts, palanquins, musical instruments and many other items. One will have to weigh the visit of the museum vis-a-vis the price of the entry ticket. Not many people visit this but one has to make his own call.

Date of experience: February 2020
3  Thank ghoomboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaishalibali, Marketing Partner at Goa Chitra Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2021

Dear Guest, thank you for the four-star rating to Goa Chitra Museum. We appreciate you taking out the time to review your experience and we regret that you found the entry fee high, as compared to the government museums.

Goa Chitra is a conglomerate of three museums with over 40,000 artefacts and it's a self-funded and privately managed project with a team that's dedicated to preserving the rich history of Goa and our country. Your entry fee only encourages and enables us to continue on this path through restoring and maintaining the objects.

We do look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews