We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Goa Chitra Museum
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
48
30
6
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
48
30
6
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews personal collection rich history agriculture victor wheel tools goa curator cart era treasure knowledge utensils parts beaches
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2020

Kudos to Mr. Victor for amassing a private collection of Goan and Indian antiquities.

It is obvious it is a labor of love and passion. This is out of the way in South Goa near Colva beach.

It is wonderful stop for kids who are a bit older perhaps 8th Class and above who are academically inclined.

Don’t take kids below 10. Don’t touch stuff .

Date of experience: January 2020
1  Thank Rroy1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaishalibali, Marketing Partner at Goa Chitra Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2021

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the five-star rating to Goa Chitra Museum. We appreciate you taking out the time to review us and recommending us as a must-see.

Thank you for appreciating the efforts and dedication of our Founder-Curator, Victor Hugo Gomes to preserve the rich history of Goa and the country to enrich future generations.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2019 via mobile

Very well maintained and the efforts is seen in each article. The guide was very good and patient and explained neatly. Overall a good informative place.

Date of experience: October 2019
2  Thank Murali_blr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaishalibali, Marketing Partner at Goa Chitra Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2021

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the five-star rating to Goa Chitra Museum. We really appreciate you taking out the time to review and recommend us as a must-see.

We are so glad that you loved your experience and commend our guide as well. We do hope to see you again sometime. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2019

So far this is this is one of the best museum's that i have seen. I have been here thrice and have loved it every time. Over the years they have been able to maintain it well my,compliments to Victor for this.
They have now made three small differentiation, one is the museum of wheels, the other holds Portuguese artifacts and the last one has Goan artifacts.
They have also tried to explain the artifacts with descriptions wherever possible.
The setup of the museum is in a beautifully house, which has its own water harvesting.
The staff is warm and welcoming, the guided tour is very informative.
The rooms are literally crammed with artifacts, and if you have have a liking for how things used to work in the old world then this is the place for you.
I have lost count of time all three times i visited.
I read a few posts that say that the entry fees are high. My take is looking at what and the way the artifacts are maintained, and knowing that it is private museum, i think the fee is well worth it.
More over i have learnt that the management take in the school children at discounted prices.
If you have the liking and time this is a must see place.
My best wishes to the Management and lots of luck.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank GautamBhende
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaishalibali, Marketing Partner at Goa Chitra Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2021

Dear Gautam Bhende,

Thank you so much for the five-star rating and detailed review of your visit to Goa Chitra Museum. It's so good to know that this was your third visit and we sure look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you for appreciating the efforts of our Founder-Curator, Victor Hugo Gomes and the entire team in preserving and maintaining every artefact displayed. Yes, we do get feedback that our entry fees are high, especially when it's compared to other Government-run museums. We are glad that you found the fees worthy of your time.

Children and students are our most important visitors because the museums were established with a vision to educate and enrich future generations into becoming self-sustained, take care of the environment and live a fully enriched life.

Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2019 via mobile

This was an amazing place to visit. Totally packed with great historical exhibits.
Really informative tour guides.
We would highly recommend this hidden away gem of a museum.

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank Moespots
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaishalibali, Marketing Partner at Goa Chitra Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2021

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the five-star rating and detailed review of your visit to the Goa Chitra Museum. We are so glad that you had a wonderful time and recommend us.

We certainly look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2019

What a wonderful experience to visit this 3 in one museum.. strating witht the carriages section, one gets to see so many varities of them. From diffefrent states and for different uses, one can visulise life in those days. Some palanquins also can be seen. You then get to see different sections where they have pottery, baskets and weaving, barbers shop and so on. Next you get to see implenets used in various vocations, agriculture being prominent. The thridsection was one with ancient artifacts , clocks, table ware, medical equiplents, furniture etc. Guided tour is there and one needs to pay Rs.300 per head as entrance charges. It was fully worth and I spent about 75 minutes there... one can spend a bit more if one plans accordingly as theres so much to see and relish.

Date of experience: February 2019
1  Thank RadhakrishnaM19
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaishalibali, Marketing Partner at Goa Chitra Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2021

Dear Guest

Thank you for the five-star rating and detailed review of your visit to the Goa Chitra Museum. We are so glad that you had a wonderful time and recommend us.

Thank you for appreciating the efforts of our Founder, Victor Hugo Gomes to help preserve our rich history to enrich future generations and make our ancestral wisdom accessible to everyone.

We certainly look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews