We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Goa - Chitra
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
44
30
6
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
44
30
6
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private museum personal collection entry fee ethnographic museum musical instruments local artisans organic farm vasco da gama agriculture victor wheel benaulim pottery artifacts tools palanquins furniture
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2019 via mobile

Very well maintained and the efforts is seen in each article. The guide was very good and patient and explained neatly. Overall a good informative place.

Date of experience: October 2019
1  Thank Murali_blr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2019

So far this is this is one of the best museum's that i have seen. I have been here thrice and have loved it every time. Over the years they have been able to maintain it well my,compliments to Victor for this.
They have now made three small differentiation, one is the museum of wheels, the other holds Portuguese artifacts and the last one has Goan artifacts.
They have also tried to explain the artifacts with descriptions wherever possible.
The setup of the museum is in a beautifully house, which has its own water harvesting.
The staff is warm and welcoming, the guided tour is very informative.
The rooms are literally crammed with artifacts, and if you have have a liking for how things used to work in the old world then this is the place for you.
I have lost count of time all three times i visited.
I read a few posts that say that the entry fees are high. My take is looking at what and the way the artifacts are maintained, and knowing that it is private museum, i think the fee is well worth it.
More over i have learnt that the management take in the school children at discounted prices.
If you have the liking and time this is a must see place.
My best wishes to the Management and lots of luck.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank GautamBhende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2019 via mobile

This was an amazing place to visit. Totally packed with great historical exhibits.
Really informative tour guides.
We would highly recommend this hidden away gem of a museum.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Moespots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2019

What a wonderful experience to visit this 3 in one museum.. strating witht the carriages section, one gets to see so many varities of them. From diffefrent states and for different uses, one can visulise life in those days. Some palanquins also can be seen. You then get to see different sections where they have pottery, baskets and weaving, barbers shop and so on. Next you get to see implenets used in various vocations, agriculture being prominent. The thridsection was one with ancient artifacts , clocks, table ware, medical equiplents, furniture etc. Guided tour is there and one needs to pay Rs.300 per head as entrance charges. It was fully worth and I spent about 75 minutes there... one can spend a bit more if one plans accordingly as theres so much to see and relish.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank RadhakrishnaM19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2019 via mobile

We visited with a thought to see about goa heritage. Chitra museum of decicting various kinds of wheels, chariots. But it was of pan india. Nothing more about goa. Owners effort is appreciable for collections, but it's not worthy to see after paying entry ticket of 300/- per head. May be good for foreigners but not for indians.

Date of experience: February 2019
3  Thank Vivek2829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews