We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 6:00 pm
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Goa Chitra Museum
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
48
30
6
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
48
30
6
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews personal collection rich history agriculture victor wheel tools goa curator cart era treasure knowledge utensils parts beaches
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2019 via mobile

Our first outing on arrival in Goa..was very fortunate to be welcomed by the Creator and Founder Victor, who briefed us and then handed us over to a very competent and charming guide, very well versed in her profession and also had a great sense of humour..this is a personal one man individual collection over 30 years and simply unbelievable..the display is very logically done..very impressive, educative and a must see for all visitors to Goa

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank arjunajb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaishalibali, Marketing Partner at Goa Chitra Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2021

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the five-star rating and detailed review of your visit to the Goa Chitra Museum. We are so glad that you had a wonderful time and recommend us.

Thank you for appreciating the efforts of our Founder, Victor Hugo Gomes to help preserve our rich history to enrich future generations and make our ancestral wisdom accessible to everyone. We will certainly share your commendation with our colleagues.

We certainly look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2019

Advertised primarily as a transport museum, this transport part is really a collection of human and animal drawn vehicles, There are no signs and without a guide, they are meaningless. The guide provided us with a personalized tour but it was bit rushed. Other parts of the collection/museum were more of a museum with ethnographic displays that were well documented and explained. nevertheless, this was an interesting and well-spent morning and we were pleased that we undertook it.

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank Boyd J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaishalibali, Marketing Partner at Goa Chitra Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2021

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the four-star rating and detailed review of your visit to the Goa Chitra Museum. We are so glad that you had an interesting time visiting the museum and for recommending us.

We are sorry that you felt the tour was rushed and we will certainly look into improving the experience. We do hope that you will visit us again and give us an opportunity to better your experience.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2019 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The museum has an impressive collection of items from Goa and all over India. The tour guide was knowledgeable and passionate. A must see if visiting Benaulim!

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank Beccac1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaishalibali, Marketing Partner at Goa Chitra Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2021

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the four-star rating and review of your visit to Goa Chitra Museum. We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit and recommend us as well.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018 via mobile

Went with my family on 9 June..Goa chitra part was good and informative but Goa chakra part was not that good..keeping a cart from Rajasthan or any other state doesn't tell anything to us about Goa so Goa chakra part was a misnomer..and 300 rs for this museum is way too much..museum of Goa( mog) takes just 100 rs and is way better than Goa chitra..

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank 29vipind
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 February 2018 via mobile

We have visited Goa many times and were unaware of this little gem until our recent visit. The museum is small but beautifully laid out and crammed with interesting artefacts. There are two sections, one dedicated to the ‘wheel’ which as its title suggests is primarily focussed on transport. There are many examples of carts and palanquins from all over India. The other section is more concerned with objects of everyday life notably kitchen tools and distillery processes, printing and lighting. The guided tour which is included in the entry fee is a delight and helps to bring the objects to life. Well worth a visit!

Date of experience: February 2018
2  Thank rosalyndej
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews