We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property, buffet was not good”
Review of Alila Diwa Goa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alila Diwa Goa
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Salcette
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed at the Diwa wing, all rooms faced the pool, lots of privacy but still felt like we were out in the open.Room service was excellent so we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. Breakfast buffet was very disorganized and food was sub par, we found the the bistro in the diwa wing was a much better place to eat.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Girish A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,902)
There are newer reviews for Alila Diwa Goa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,408 - 1,412 of 1,902 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2012

We spent a day and a night after meeting friends for dinner at the nearby Pentagon restaurant. Having stayed there before we knew what to expect of the room: Reasonably spacious with both a shower stall and a tub in the bathroom; A small dressing and wardrobe area and a nice balcony with comfortable seating.
Lunch (a-la-carte) and more so the breakfast buffet were dissapointing. There is only one small counter to order eggs and sides from, staffed by a single cook - he made mistakes with both my order and my wife's. We also could not get any Assam tea - the tea we did get arrived cold at the table.
The pool is noce enough, but was crowded all afternoon and during the early evening.
Overall OK for the purpose we used the hotel but not the best place to vacation at.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the west wing on the second floor if you like quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scribble-n-click
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Alila Diwa is a beautifully built resort. Luxurious at the least the resort is a joy to stay at. But the beach is further down the road from it. Though they run shuttles to the beach. Transport to and from the resort also is restrictive. Well priced Goan self drive options here are ruled out by an aggressive taxi union. Our stay was wonderful except for a leaking bathroom but management changed the room.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashish K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

This hotel was in a lovely quiet location opposite a restaurant called fishcar which was one of the best we found in Goa. We were able to hire bikes from the hotel for the day and cycle round to different beaches, villages etc. I'd highly recommend doing this! The hotel also does transfers to and from the beach very frequently. The hotel in itself is luxury. The rooms were of a very hight standard (global standard not India standard), amazing shower and bath tub! The pool was perfect also. Has the sun all day and is very relaxing with waiters bringing you little coolers all day of wet towels and icy fruit drinks. The staff at the pool area were extremely friendly also and treat guests very well. The only thing that let this hotel down was the food. The hotel has two main restaurants. The authentic indian restaurant was trying out a new night for kebabs and beer and decided to run this 'test' every night for the full week we were there. It wasn't cheap either. As I dont drink beer I asked if I could substitute this for something else...which seemed to go past them and be more of a problem than it was worth. This was highly disappointing and we didn't bother using this restaurant at all. The other restaurant was ok, still over priced for the quality of the food compared to other places and the pool restaurant/snacks werent great either. My ceasar salad came with 2 large lettuce leaves and that wa sit and it wasn't cheap either. Breakfasts were much the same. A buffet offering every type of foot, hot and cold but just not very nice. We had a deal that we got afternoon tea brought up to our room every day which we noticed on our booking form. We also had to speak to front desk to get this as they weren't aware it was on our booking.
Other than food, which to be honest I didn't really enjoy anywhere in Goa anyway, this hotel was fantastic and I'd definitely go back. Luxury, relaxation, excellent service!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

July is generally not the best season for Goa, but the beautiful Alila Diwa, made up for the off-season. It is almost a year and half young property with tastefully done rooms. While it is not a beach property, just a kilometer away, but it's huge swimming pool and dining options give one enough reason for feeling at home. Amenities in the room are one of the best I have seen so far and the quality of fixtures is very fine and exhibit a great taste. May be, as I was part of a conference, service could have been better, especially during the breakfast, as staff was unable to cope with the large number if guests and even covers were not replaced as fast as required. Overall a wonderful place and look forward to go there sooner than before !

Room Tip: Try to go for a family room, which has two bathrooms and great space for a family of four.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niticn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlasdairDavidson, Executive Assistant Manager at Alila Diwa Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. I am happy that you enjoyed the facilities and ambience of the resort. I have noted your comment on the issues that you and your colleagues faced in the restaurant during breakfast and will address the same with my team so that we can improve our service delivery in the future.Hope to welcome you back again perhaps this time on leisure.
Best regards,
Alasdair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salcette
7.0 km away
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa Goa
16.9 km away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
2,286 reviews
22.9 km away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 km away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 3 in Bambolim
2,292 reviews
37.7 km away
The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa
26.5 km away
Taj Holiday Village Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alila Diwa Goa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alila Diwa Goa

Address: 48/10 Adao Wado | Majorda, 403713, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Goa > South Goa District > Salcette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salcette
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salcette
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Salcette
#2 Spa Hotel in Salcette
#3 Family Hotel in Salcette
Price Range: ₹ 9,707 - ₹ 42,556 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alila Diwa Goa 5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alila Diwa Goa is situated in South Goa along the coast of the beautiful Majorda Beach with panoramic views of vast verdant paddy fields leading out to the Arabian Sea. The resort is also perfectly located just 20 minutes from Goa’s Dabolim International Airport. Alila Diwa Goa blends contemporary Goan architecture with the magic of Goa’s cultural richness to create a stylish and relaxing environment that remains true to the destination. At the heart of the resort is an endless infinity pool that extends out into the paddy terraces. Its 153 rooms and suites are designed for quiet indulgence with an amazing bath experience, luxury bedding and a private terrace to take in the picturesque setting. The resort is complemented by a family entertainment zone that includes a theatre and children’s activity centre, and a comprehensive event centre that can accommodate your need for a versatile and ‘surprisingly different’ venue equipped with a ballroom, meeting rooms and a large outdoor lawn that can accommodate up to 300 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, Yatra and TravelGuru so you can book your Alila Diwa Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alila Diwa Goa Hotel Salcette
Alila Diwa Goa Salcette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing