We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In general impression of the hotel is excellent, I advise lovers of relaxing!”
Review of Alila Diwa Goa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alila Diwa Goa
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Salcette
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We rested at the hotel in December 2011. It was our honeymoon. The situation at the romantic, not a lot of people, quiet, calm music, if you fly just to be alone, to enjoy each other, this hotel is for you. No entertainment, no disco, we were bored. In the vicinity of only a few cafes. I recommend Martin Corner, there is live music in the evenings, many people and delicious food. The hotel is new, luxurious, spacious rooms with terrace or balcony, where you can spend time in the evenings. Service at the highest level and it pleases! Basically the hotel is contingent adult couples, little children. The rooms are cleaned daily, even if you forget to leave a tip. Almost every day Indian wedding, it does not bother the other hand is interesting to observe their customs, the wedding is very interesting, lots of flowers, the women are dressed in beautiful saris. We took breakfast only, not stay hungry, but monotonous. Often a snack at the poolside bar, there are sandwiches, salads, fries, delicious cocktails, the prices at the course is higher than in the cafes. For example, a dinner at a restaurant in the hotel, ordered meat dishes, salads, dessert and a bottle of wine in our money-come cheaply. In general impression of the hotel is excellent, I advise lovers of relaxing!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyl2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,982)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,533 - 1,537 of 1,982 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2012

Stayed here with our 3.5 yrs old daughter at the peak of summer...Different compared to the other five star properties in terms of lay out, structure,etc...The ambience is nice and natural....The USP of this holiday property is its AWESOME infinity swimming pool with submerged relaxing beds with a view of the green fields,swaying palms and the beach at a distance...the pool is crowded in the evenings with a lot of kids as there were a lot of families due to school breaks.....Nothing special about the food to mention...we stayed in the loft room which is nice and spacious...The staff is extremely courteous, cheerful and ready to help.....The only draw back is the distance to the beach...This is not a beach touch resort, which probably everyone visiting Goa loves to stay at...Well if your looking for something different from a 5 star beach property.....This is worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank denzil24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlasdairDavidson, Executive Assistant Manager at Alila Diwa Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2012

Dear Guest, 

Pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Alila Diwa Goa and found our resort surprisingly different! I do acknowledge the fact that we are not a beachfront property, however we have a regular shuttle service to and from the beach at regular intervals. We also rent out bicycles and guests have enjoyed cycling around the vicinity of the resort. I hope that when you visit Goa again, you would choose to stay with us.
Best regards,
Alasdair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Beautiful hotel, big rooms, 2 huge swimming pools, gorgeous interiors and exteriors, everything is very very clean and tidy, lots of towels, helpful staff always smiling and very polite. The food is delicious. One thing is not pleasant: if you have a family room, it is noisy - walls are thin and sometimes between 2 rooms are doors, which makes it even worse. If you come here, you don`t want to leave... Finally we have found a nice and clean place in India.

Room Tip: Don`t recommend rooms in family area - could be very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PragueDweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlasdairDavidson, Executive Assistant Manager at Alila Diwa Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2012

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your positive feedback on your experience at Alila Diwa Goa. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the facilities at the resort. Thank you also for your positive comments on the food and beverage. Should you choose to stay with us again, may we recommend you try our Diwa Wing out? I believe you will enjoy the ambiance and the serenity prevailing here.
Best wishes,
Alasdair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

My 2 day break after a year couldnt have been better. i really owe it to the management of this hotel to make it so beautiful. im surprised to read other reviews where guests r talkin ill abt food whereas my experience was just the opposite
food was amazing n more so the attention that i got from the senior management was outstanding. over 2 days i got a chance to have the fnb head n exec chef come n chck if all was ok which typically never happens in a 5 star hotel. i did have my share of disappointments too.. room that i was given had a peculiar smell, i called front desk twice over but to my disappointment they didnt think it was important to attned to us. Spa was disappointing, went to snip later for a treatment which was blissful.. my hubby n me also relived our childhood memories with the icecream candies that they have by the pool.. i must say its a very innovative idea which no one else seems to ahve thght so far...
looking forward to my next trip here in aug..

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I chanced upon Alila Diwa Goa through the website Splendia.com & got a very good rate of S$400 for the whole stay. I am happy to say that the real deal was as good as it was in the website’s photos.

We stayed for 3 nights from 28.04.2012 to 01.05.2012. It was a holiday period in India & there were a lot of local tourist in Goa. We had a problem getting the train over from Mumbai & the beach at Calangute was over crowded with locals when we dropped by for dinner. But it was not crowded in Majorda & the local tourists staying in the hotel were a little more affluent.

The beach was a short ride away. The shuttle service to the beach was pretty much at our beck & call. There was spot with shaded deck chairs reserved for the hotel guests & a designated staff stationed at a shack to help you prepare your deck chair with a mattress & a fluffy towel. If you want a thirst quencher, this chap will bring you want. He is also in charge of calling the shuttle for you.

The surrounding area seemed a little secluded. There was Alex's place which was deserted & seemed to have closed down overnight perhaps for the lull in the tourist season. A 7min stroll to the right of the beach will take you to lifeguard post & a cluster of shacks. There, you will find Sam's Place & Mish Mar (more on them in my individual reviews) which serve food & drinks. You can choose to enjoy the view of the rolling waves & clear blue sky in the coolness of the shack or laze in the outdoor under a beach umbrella with a Kingfisher beer in one hand.

The room was spacious. The wooden carved out walls were sliding doors that opened up to the toilet. It was luxuriously fitted with a big bathtub, a separate shower area & a wide vanity counter which had silver jars containing your beauty needs. There was also a walk in wardrobe where you could hide your bulky luggage & hang up your clothes.

I love the balcony with the 2 spacious day beds to lounge on & enjoy a cup of tea or coffee provided in the rooms by the hotel. There is an overhead fan to keep you cool - A thoughtful touch.

I remember being captivated by the website picture of the pool & I was not disappointed. The pool overlooked a field which stretched onwards to a forest of coconut trees. It was surreal to see scarecrows flapping in the breeze. It was a heavenly sight. The waters remain hot well past sunset making it comfortable for an evening swim.

The dining area for breakfast was huge. The spread was extensive. From freshly made thin Thosai to pancakes & waffles. On our first morning, we had these delicious corn nuggets. A pity they didn't make them for the second morning.

There is wifi available throughout the hotel & I was amazed by the strength of the signal. However, we experienced some downtime during the stay. The longest was abt half the day when we arrived.

Travelling from Alila to sightseeing destinations was made easy with the private taxis that were available for hire from the front desk. Be prepared to pay cash to the driver directly in order to save on the taxes that would be charged if you pay by credit card via the hotel.

The cost of travelling to various sightseeing venues was not what we expected. A bulk of our expenditure was on transport. Perhaps it was the touristy prices that we were being charged by the hotel. For example, to get to the hotel from the Margaon train station, we were quoted 1000 Rp from the hotel. Having forgotten to book the transport, we took one of the many cabs readily available & paid only 400Rp. You could be better off being a little more hardworking & arrange with a taxi outside of the hotel.

On the whole a delightful stay & it was the icing on the cake to a very memorable Goan holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanduhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlasdairDavidson, Executive Assistant Manager at Alila Diwa Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive review. I am glad that we were able to meet your expectations and provide you with an enjoyable stay at our beautiful resort. Also happy to note that you found the beach experience relaxing and to your satisfaction. Look forward to your next visit and to serving you again.
Regards,

Alasdair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salcette
7 km away
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa Goa
22.9 km away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
16.9 km away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
2,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 km away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 3 in Bambolim
2,413 reviews
0.2 km away
The Diwa Club by Alila
The Diwa Club by Alila
#1 of 4 in Majorda
171 reviews
37.7 km away
The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alila Diwa Goa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alila Diwa Goa

Address: 48/10 Adao Wado | Majorda, 403713, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Goa > South Goa District > Salcette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Salcette
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salcette
#2 Spa Hotel in Salcette
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salcette
#3 Family Hotel in Salcette
Price Range: ₹ 14,548 - ₹ 45,565 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alila Diwa Goa 5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alila Diwa Goa is situated in South Goa along the coast of the beautiful Majorda Beach with panoramic views of vast verdant paddy fields leading out to the Arabian Sea. The resort is also perfectly located just 20 minutes from Goa’s Dabolim International Airport. Alila Diwa Goa blends contemporary Goan architecture with the magic of Goa’s cultural richness to create a stylish and relaxing environment that remains true to the destination. At the heart of the resort is an endless infinity pool that extends out into the paddy terraces. Its 153 rooms and suites are designed for quiet indulgence with an amazing bath experience, luxury bedding and a private terrace to take in the picturesque setting. The resort is complemented by a family entertainment zone that includes a theatre and children’s activity centre, and a comprehensive event centre that can accommodate your need for a versatile and ‘surprisingly different’ venue equipped with a ballroom, meeting rooms and a large outdoor lawn that can accommodate up to 300 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Expedia, Booking.com, Yatra and TravelGuru so you can book your Alila Diwa Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alila Diwa Goa Hotel Salcette
Alila Diwa Goa Salcette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing