We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Stunning location and design- service failed to impress.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alila Diwa Goa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alila Diwa Goa
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Salcette District
Certificate of Excellence
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stunning location and design- service failed to impress.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Had a very comfortable stay at the Alila Diwa Hotel in February 2012. The Hotel and it's surroundings are absolutely stunning, the gardens are beautifully designed. We stayed in the Alila wing in a very spacious, lovely room with large balcony overlooking lush green vegetation. The staff were great, all very friendly, they made us feel extremely welcome, but unfortunately the service is disorganised and inconsistent and the staff are either badly trained or poorly supervised. On occasion we had to return food that had sat going cold on the bar whilst waiting staff walked past it, on another occasion we simply left after waiting 25 minutes for a coffee that didn't arrive, and were quite surprised on another occasion to have ordered a coffee and to see the waiter boiling the kettle for a cup of instant. So, the pool bar, not recommended for those with high blood pressure, low blood sugar or coffee lovers.
Breakfast in VIVO is good there's a lot of choice and the fresh eggs are worth the short wait. We ordered a la carte on the balcony one morning the eggs benedict were fantastic!
The Spice Studio is a bit pricey compared to outside and we didn't find the the food any less tasty in Fish Ka or Martins corner.That said, it's a stunning restaurant . What would stop me from returning or recommending it to others is the bizzarre and seemingly inappropriate choice of entertainment. Any attempt at a sophisticated night out goes out of the window when the electric organ strikes up and the singer gets out her 1980s cruise ship song book. Surely it wouldn't take much effort to provide a more more authentic Indian experience? Mine is not the first post to mention this, so hopefully somebody out there is listening as it was sad to see such a lovely restaurant empty night after night.
The beach is lovely and only a short walk. If you fancy a change of scenery hire a scooter from outside or take a car and you'll find some slightly more secluded beaches a bit further along with shacks offering fabulous fresh seafood and friendly relaxed service, they have sunbeds and umbrellas too.
Overall we had a wonderful stay and the location is truly memorable. Catering to wedding parties, independant travellers like us and guests on various packages is evidently a huge challenge, and yet to be sucessfully met. There are a lot of issues at this hotel that need to be addressed before it represents anything like good value to the independant traveller.
If i were to sit with the manager over a cup of instant today i'd say train the staff to a higher standard, supervise the staff a lot more closely, provide more sunbeds and try not to let the weddings encroach on other guests enjoyment.
Oh and please, please,pleeeeeeease put a coffee machine in the pool bar!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a garden view. Top Tip slightly unrelated: Don't tell retailers outisde the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlasdairDavidson, Executive Assistant Manager at Alila Diwa Goa, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Firstly thank you for the taking the time out to write such a detailed review about your stay with us. While we are glad that you enjoyed the ambiance of the resort and the amenities on offer, I am concerned to note the inconsistencies in service by our Food & Beverage Team. We definitely take our coffee culture very seriously, having specially created two exclusive blends of coffee for our hotel which are also available in our retail boutique. I have briefed my Food & Beverage Manager and we are acting on your comments on service and food and beverage quality across the resort. We have also considered your feedback on having more authentic Goan entertainment for all our guests to enjoy and have already actioned the same for the upcoming season. I do hope to welcome you back to Alila Diwa Goa on your next visit and look forward to that catch up over a new espresso machine and freshly brewed Alila Blended coffee!
Warm regards,
Alasdair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,022
    484
    113
    38
    39
See reviews for
560
637
40
159
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Most amazing hotel but the service is quite possibly the worst I have ever come across. 2pm check in turned out to be 'possibly 4pm' but would not commit. Order food 3 places set wait another 10 mins for 4th to be put out. Food then left on bar for 5 mins before being served cold to you. Not enough sun beds must be around 40-50 beds but 153 rooms. Such a shame that the service couldn't match the quality of the hotel. The staff are very polite but unable to deliver.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liz f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlasdairDavidson, Executive Assistant Manager at Alila Diwa Goa, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Guest,
It is disappointing to read your comments about your recent stay with us. Regarding your experience at check in as well as slow service in the restaurants I would like to inform you that I am personally investigating the cause of the problem and we will address the same via increased training and in depth departmental briefings. Will also look into increasing the number of loungers by the pool. I hope you will consider staying with us again and experience a different Alila on your next visit.
Warm regards,
Alasdair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We had a Suite Allocated, which had a Living Room with 42 Flat T.V and Sofa Sets, Bed room with Luxurious king size bed again with a 42 inch T.V, and a jacuzzi bathtub in a spacious Restroom. It also had a private Balcony which overlooked the pool and small garden.Living rooms in our suite of Alila Diwa Overall it was a Luxurious suite. (Only thing i was uncomfortable was, Whole suite was full of mirrors and had transparent doors, having no privacy, changing dress was a big challenge having stayed with colleague as room mate. This suite is mainly designed for a couples, but even then i feel atleast transparent doors for toilets can be avoided:))

READ MORE CLICK HERE

http://relivingmyfavouritemoments.blogspot.in/2012/02/my-year-and-half-stint-at-mindtree-this.html

Room Tip: Choose Diwa wing which is little far from restaurant and main reception, but it has great view and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reliving23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlasdairDavidson, Executive Assistant Manager at Alila Diwa Goa, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive review. I am glad that we were able to meet your expectations and provide you with an enjoyable stay at Alila Diwa Goa. In regards to the bathroom, your comments are correct, the bathrooms are large and spacious with a mirror / timber combination enhancing the spacial effect. I will look into the transparent doors as all rooms are designed with frosted glass for privacy. The large mirrored wooden doors also slide shut to provide a closed room for complete bathing privacy. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to South Goa.
Warm regards,
Alasdair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

This is one of the best hotels I've stayed in.It is not opulent nor ornate but the buildings and grounds are beautiful. Set in a rural location 15 minutes from the beach,it is an ideal spot for a relaxing holiday.My husband and I were fortunate in that we were upgraded to the exclusive Diwa wing which has only 34 rooms ,its own reception,pool and bistro.The rooms are huge .Even the 40 inch TV seemed small.The bed was enornormous and so comfortable.The bathroon was bigger than many standard rooms with a bath in the centre of the room which we never used.The 'rain shower' shower was blissful and the toiletries excellent. Even the Air con system was very quiet .Our balcony was large with 2 very comfortable chaise longues.Mosquito coils were provided every evening so we could sit outside.Free wifi was a bonus too.The service in the hotel was superb,including the housekeepers,the pool boys and the staff in the Bistro restaurant.We loved the a la carte breakfasts served all day.The food was so delicious.The shuttle ,available on demand, took us to the beach and back,which was only a 10 minutes walk.,where sunbeds and sunshades were available.We found plenty of restaurants within walking distance,although a torch is recommended.Although we loved this hotel , it wont suit everyone as it was very quiet and there are limited organised activities.Taxis to nearby towns are fixed price eg Colva 500 rupees one way and Cavelossim 900 rupees.

Room Tip: Try for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan-Ash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlasdairDavidson, Executive Assistant Manager at Alila Diwa Goa, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent feedback on your stay with us, it is good to note that you had an enjoyable time at the resort and enjoyed the amenities on offer at the Diwa Wing. While we are located in a quieter part of Goa, we do offer a number of activities to cater to our guest's desires via our Leisure Concierge Services. Were you able to try any of our destination journeys on offer? If not, I do hope you will the next time you visit. Look forward to welcoming you back again.
Warm regards,
Alasdair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We have stayed 1 week at the Alila Diwa in Goa from February 6 through 13. Having stayed at Alila Ubud in Bali we had relatively high expectations of the hotel, which were eventually mostly met. Overall Alila Diwa is a rather small and well designed hotel, good located with a relaxed atmosphere and 2 good restaurants. The perfect spot for a troublefree vacation in a quiet environment.

On the positive:

- Very nicely designed property (excellence in terms of Indian standards) blending Indian with more modern touches. Feels great!
- Both restaurants are excellent in terms of food variety and pricy/quality. Studio Spice is tryuly excellent and offers great value (less the 30 EUR for 1 starter, 2 main courses and drinks)
- Rooms are spacious, well designed, very comfortable beds, spacious bathroom, nice terrace, and good lighting system.
- Main pool is well designed, nice view on the fields and coconut trees. Sunbeds are comfortable.
- The bar at the pool is truly well build and furbished. Drinks are good and of good value.
- The beach is stunning, and the beach service provided by some local guys is very smooth and gentle. A very nice beach experience and these guys go the extra mile to make you feel comfortable.

For improvement:

- There is 1 thing that truly bothered us at Alila Diwa: Studio Spice is a stunning restaurant both in terms of setting and food quality. The experience of enjoying this facility is nevertheless TOTALLY RUINED by having each night some karaoke singer shouting through his/her microphone. This may be suitable in a 1-star hotel canteen, not in a restaurant of the standing of Studio Spice. We truly do not understand why management opted for this cheap type of entertainment to ruin a gastronomic experience. Maybe that expalins why the restaurant was nearly empty...
- Some further details to improve: service quality during breakfast was very variable: one day you're attended to immediately, another you have to ask 5 times for some coffee; staff at the front desk could be more friendly and welcoming as sometimes we were barely answered when asking something; and finally, hotel taxis, the only way to move around, are on the expensive side.

All in all, a very pleasant experience, and when visiting Goa again the future, we will very likely return to Alila Diwa.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlainAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salcette District
7.1 km away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 15 in Benaulim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,582 reviews
22.8 km away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
17.0 km away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.5 km away
Acron Waterfront Resort
26.3 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa
1.5 km away
Planet Hollywood Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alila Diwa Goa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alila Diwa Goa

Property: Alila Diwa Goa
Address: 48/10 Adao Wado | Majorda, 403713, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Goa > Salcette District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Salcette District
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Salcette District
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salcette District
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salcette District
#3 Family Hotel in Salcette District
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,455 - ₹ 73,572
Hotel Class:5 star — Alila Diwa Goa 5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alila Diwa Goa is situated in South Goa along the coast of the beautiful Majorda Beach with panoramic views of vast verdant paddy fields leading out to the Arabian Sea. The resort is also perfectly located just 20 minutes from Goa’s Dabolim International Airport. Alila Diwa Goa blends contemporary Goan architecture with the magic of Goa’s cultural richness to create a stylish and relaxing environment that remains true to the destination. At the heart of the resort is an endless infinity pool that extends out into the paddy terraces. Its 153 rooms and suites are designed for quiet indulgence with an amazing bath experience, luxury bedding and a private terrace to take in the picturesque setting. The resort is complemented by a family entertainment zone that includes a theatre and children’s activity centre, and a comprehensive event centre that can accommodate your need for a versatile and ‘surprisingly different’ venue equipped with a ballroom, meeting rooms and a large outdoor lawn that can accommodate up to 300 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, TravelGuru and Hotels.com so you can book your Alila Diwa Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alila Diwa Goa Hotel Salcette
Alila Diwa Goa Salcette District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing