We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Santana Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 66 Hotels in Candolim
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“decent”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

location on candolim beach is good. service is good. cheap for the price so you should keep you expectations in line with what you are paying. there was lots of rain and down side was there is nothing around to do near the hotel and you have to have a bike or taxi to go anywhere as walking if far other than the beach. overall good experience

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pratimagarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    969
    578
    103
    19
    15
See reviews for
595
695
35
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (524)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Stayed for 3 days during mid august with my wife. One need to walk only 5 minute to reach the beach. Beach was very clean and very few people were there. Santana beach resort is a really nice and calm place to stay, also not very far from the crowded (so called happening) beaches like Bagha, Calangute beach etc. There are few shops and lots of restaurants near by this resort. Food is ok, nothing great. Swimming pool looks nice, we did not try it. Also it has a sunken bar. Check in and check out was really smooth. I booked throgh make my trip and got a very good deal. Only negative point is the service staff (room service), they were rude whereas the people at reception were very helpful. Overall its worth the money and we will stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a room near to swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VidhuKhare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Visited: 13-15 August 2012 with Friends

The first thing I would say is that this should be the preferred hotel for one and all whoever visits Goa and in not looking for a mere tag of 5-Star. Located right beside the beach, you can always take a stroll. Though the beach is not private, it is nearly empty as only hotel guests go there.

All the rooms are built in cottage format with separate entrance. once you get in, its gives the feel of an independent bunglow in woods. The rooms are tastefully decorated, toilets are clean and modern. The kitchen needs special mention - A refrigerator filled with beer, wine breezers and what not and all at most unimaginable price.. Looked like a personal bar.
Now the staff - very warm and always smiling. At the reception we were welcomed with a pleasant smile and nice welcome drink. Room service was very efficient and prompt.

Now the Pool and Splash Bar - Again clean and well maintained with nice music playing all the while. The staff there went extra yards to accommodate our requests.

Restaurant - The morning breakfast is complementary and has a buffet system with at least 25-30 items unlike many other places where they serve you with standard bread-butter-omelete.

Overall an awesome experience. Certainly looking forward to the next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view or beach view rooms if you want. All the rooms are equally great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shivshekhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kozhikode, India
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I have visited Goa with my wife for a weekend trip in monsoon which is off season for Goa, so I got a very good deal to stay in Santana Beach Resort, Candolim.
Positives:
1. Value for money. I paid less than 2000 per day for a couple stay in double bed room.
2. Conveniently located very near to candolim beach.
3. Cosy rooms and a beautiful swimming pool.
4. good hospitality.
5. Scooter rental available
6. And the total ambiance is very cool and maintained the greenery very well
7. spacious rooms with an additional dining room
Negatives:
1. Restaurant Food is not good and they are using rape seed oil (Goan Dishes)...
2. Reception needs to improve.. (staff and room)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suvid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrance, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

As the title suggests, I want to clearly state that this review is for my visit in August and most of the stuff IMO may not be applicable for a peak season visit.
The hotel rates are higher if you book directly from their website. I drove a long way to that place along with my wife on an August morning and asked for a Standard room. The guy at the reception was acting pricey and said there were no rooms available and said even if there was - it would cost me 2600 per night. I was zonked. It was just the night before that I saw the hotel rates as 1600 on a popular travel booking site.
We sat in the reception and Out came the almost battery-drained laptop along with the data card. Within 5 minutes, the room was booked online and this time at 1500 per night :) I promptly showed the guy the booking e-mail on my BB and I could feel his ego getting hurt immediately. He walked inside to check with his manager. After 2 minutes, I was trying to venture into the restaurant in search of lunch when the guy came upto me and said a room was available.
Almost immediately, there was a welcome drink for each of us and the bell-boy came to take our luggage. We were given the 101 room (regular hotel stayers would know the significance or lack of it for Room 101).
The room was very good and absolutely clean. The bathroom was too. The mini bar was well stocked and I couldn't stop a smile on my face when I found a bottle opener cemented to the wall.
Room had a good TV with most national and some regional (Telugu, Tamil, Kannada) channels too. The lighting was ample. The balcony directly opened into the reception area and I again smiled at the reception guy to rub it in.
We stepped out to the pool side restaurant for lunch at around 4pm. With only few options available for lunch we ordered some noodles. Flies flew around freely and I choose to attribute that to the off-season rather than spoil my trip :P

Balconies to most rooms opened inwards with no great view.

The bar inside was open but didn't look very cool.

The best part of the resort IMO is the private beach - which is just a 0.5 km walk from the reception area. I'm told that there will be beach shack during the peak season - but sadly nothing now. This private beach is good for a peaceful walk or chat along with a drink or two that you can bring from your room. Again, I think this is very good compared to the Baga or other crowded beaches where every 5 minutes, someone will walk upto you and request you to get tattoed or wear some funky accessories.

Next day, at break fast - there was NO major spread. Puri, Bhaji, corn flakes, bread, butter, coffee, Mango juice (frooti). That is it. Yes, that is all you get to eat for breakfast. Very sad.

The resort is located in a good place with a wine shop, medical shop, shop to buy simple provisions, a good restaraunt closeby. Walkable. An ATM which you would need in Goa every few hours is also 500m away.

Overall, I enjoyed the stay at this place primarily because I wanted to, but if you are someone who wants perfection then there may be better options.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank vamsisv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Candolim
1.0 km away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 66 in Candolim
250 reviews
0.4 km away
Whispering Palms Beach Resort
28.8 km away
Jasminn by Mango Hotels
Jasminn by Mango Hotels
#1 of 5 in Betalbatim
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Fortune Acron Regina
Fortune Acron Regina
#4 of 66 in Candolim
1,555 reviews
1.6 km away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
#6 of 66 in Candolim
987 reviews
1.2 km away
Bougainvillea Guest House Goa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santana Beach Resort

Property: Santana Beach Resort
Address: Sinquerim Rd Dando Beach | Dando Beach, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Candolim
#2 Romantic Hotel in Candolim
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Candolim
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,827 - ₹ 6,746
Hotel Class:3 star — Santana Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ClearTrip, Expedia, Yatra, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santana Beach Hotel Candolim
Santana Beach Candolim
Santana Beach Resort Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing