We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some attention”
Review of Magnum Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Magnum Resort
Ranked #59 of 64 Hotels in Candolim
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Needs some attention”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Have like others stayed here a few times but the hotel is now going down hill rapidly. The rooms are the problem, to call them shaby would be a compliment.
Also seem to be getting more Russions who tend to behave as we did years ago in Spain (drunk, noisy .....)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doug1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    31
    22
    18
    21
See reviews for
21
40
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We've stayed at the Magum a few times the location is great and the staff are really friendly and helpful but the rooms definately need an upgrade they are starting to fall apart .I do hope the owner starts to spend some money improving the rooms to encourage people to continue to stay at the hotel

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sue m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Very average place, old run down resort which definately needs an overhaul. Room sizes are ok, toilets need better maintainable and cleanliness standards have lots of room for improvement. Stained linen in some rooms but basic amenities like hot water, air conditioning, swimming pool, fridge and TV were working well. Very understaffed but hospitable staff.

Wouldn't be my first option to stay there again.....

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chowface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bolton
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

having stayed at the magnum quite a few times..i found this time was awful..the hotel has been on a downward spiral for about 5 years..this is due to lack of maintainence and lethargy by the staff..the whole place is falling apart ..in the rooms the air conditioning units are falling to pieces,only half the light bulbs work,the bathrooms are in need of a very thorough cleaning..fitments are loose or hanging off..the pillows are old the mattresses are even older..the towels are frayed an old..the list goes on...the stair wells are filthy and never cleaned..by the pool there are 10 sunbeds for 60 rooms no umberellas..the gardens are unattended..i must admit some of the staff do try but are severly restricted through lack of investment in the place..i approached the owner on this visit about the state of his hotel..told him it was a disgrace..he said he hadnt the money..but arrived in a chauffeur driven £30.000 car.i believe is house is magnificent and bigger than the hotel..so i know where the money is going..also i booked bed and breakfast as usual..first morning i was told that the fruit and the eggs you used to get were no longer on the menu and had to be paid for..after approaching the manager and the owner ..three days later it was re installed..i have stayed here because of the location and friendly staff .but alas it now caters for indian visitors and mainly russians who spend therte two weeks drunk all the time..a sad demise of a once nice hotel.. on the third night i had visitors to my room...two rats who had entered via the air conditioning unit..which i immediately asked to be changed..this was done the next day..not pleasant..all in all not a good place to stay anymore..

Room Tip: there are non
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank therodlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Candolim hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We cheched in on the 5TH of November for 3 weeks, ans was put in a first floor room, facing the back of a busy noisy hotel kitchen. After 2 nights without sleep, we asked to be moved. We was moved to a ground floor room by the pool. 2 days later my partner was in the shower when the contents of the drains came flooding out from the drain in the shower floor. We reported this but it was not possible to fix that day, We were told we could use another room to have a shower. The room given to us had no water at all in ??? We had to stay in our room that night, unable to use the bathroom due to it being ankle deep in water and human faeces. The next morning we moved to another hotel. I DID NOT USE THE POOL ONCE DURING THE 5 DAYS I WAS THERE, THE POOL WAS CONSTANTLY SURROUNDED FROM ONE END TO THE OTHER BY PEOPLE FROM MUMBI OR BENGAL 3 TO A SUNBED IN FULL INDIAN COSTUME, THERES NO WAY YOU COULD SIT IN YOUR SWIM WEAR & READ A BOOK OR HAVE A SWIM, YOU WOULD NOT FEEL COMFORTABLE. THIS IS NOT A HOTEL FOR WESTERNERS

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jollybobsLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Candolim hotels
0.5 km away
FabHotel Magnum Candolim Beach
0.8 km away
Xavier Beach Resort
Xavier Beach Resort
#42 of 64 in Candolim
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.8 km away
Alor Grande Holiday Resort
Alor Grande Holiday Resort
#49 of 64 in Candolim
3.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Sodder's  Gloria Anne
Sodder's Gloria Anne
#58 of 64 in Candolim
3.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.5 km away
Summerville Beach Resort
Summerville Beach Resort
#57 of 64 in Candolim
3.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.5 km away
Valentines Retreat
Valentines Retreat
#51 of 64 in Candolim
3.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnum Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnum Resort

Property: Magnum Resort
Address: Magnum Resorts, Near Health Centre | Near Health Centre, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India (Formerly Affortel Magnum Resorts)
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Candolim
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,650 - ₹ 4,007
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnum Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best budget hotels in North Goa, operating since 2001 catering to international and domestic individual and group travellers with warmth and care. Our uniqueness lies in our location, right on the main street buzzing with typical Goan carnival activity and just 5 minutes walking to the Golden Candolim Beach. It's a 45 mts drive from the Airport and the Railway Station, while a drive to Panjim or Mapusa takes just under 30 mts. The resort offers 65 air-conditioned rooms and suites, which includes Economy rooms, Deluxe rooms, Executive rooms and Family Suites, well-appointed with DTH TV's, Refrigerators, Intercom, Wi-Fi and three fixture bathroom with running hot and cold water. The resort is known for its delicious food, warm and friendly service and most happening easy location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Yatra so you can book your Magnum Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnum Hotel Candolim
Magnum Resort Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing