We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sonnesta Inns Refurbished” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonesta Inns

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sonesta Inns
Ranked #7 of 64 Hotels in Candolim
Certificate of Excellence
Co Durham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sonnesta Inns Refurbished”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2011

Just returned from 3 weeks at the Sonesta Inns, Candolim, Goa and although we have been to this hotel many times before we were pleasantly surprised to see that they have totally refurbished the bedrooms, this does not just mean a lick of paint it means that the whole room, bathroom, bed, furniture, flooring, tiling everything is brand new. This made our time spent in the room much more enjoyable. The rooms are now definitely of a western standard, plenty of hot running water in a beautiful tiled bathroom with a drencher shower. The beds now have deep mattresses and new quiet, air conditioning units and a plasma TV mounted on the wall. All colour co-ordinated too! The hotel is situated in a quiet area with grounds that lead down to the beach. Although in a quiet area it is well situated just off the main road and a walk away from restaurants and shops with taxis available 24 hours. Lovely staff who will make your stay an enjoyable experience

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mickta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    267
    70
    22
    11
See reviews for
198
223
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2011

I travelled with my girl friends and booked Sonesta online after reading some reviews. We were apprehensive at first since reviews can be mis-leading, but we could not have asked for more. the hotel is quite well known by the cabbies and hence not hard to find at all. it is located just at the beginning of candolim...not far from calangute but far enough from the maddening crowd! The rooms are large and really tastefully done and the bathroom is awesome. the room also has a nice little balcony.
We did not get a pool facing room, but that hardly made a difference since we were out most of the time. the pool itself is nice and large and the hotel staff is really polite and helpful.
the only negative was the breakfast - it was very basic with hardly any variety. breakfast was included in our room rent but we ate there only once. but this should hardly keep you from staying here if you are looking for medium budget places. the beach is a mere 2-3m walk through the hotel's garden.

i would love to go back & stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellernamz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2011

A beautiful hotel in a lovely setting. The staff are a delight , so charming and helpful; except reception! Here unfortunately the only people able to offer any assistance are the ladies working the 'day shift' on weekdays. There is not even a system to record your problems and pass them on to those with authority to act. A shame and I am not the first to complain about this.
Our room was, at first, a disappointment as it was on the ground floor loking out onto the 'Jungle', but we quickly got to enjoy the peace this offered. However as soon as the sun started to set the mossies seem to arrive, so it was necessary to come in and close the balcony doors at that time of day when you would most like to sit out, probably with a sundowner. Or have an early shower and apply good repellent;- essential in Goa.
Only about half the balconies in the hotel have chairs and tables the rest simply have two fixed concrete benches. Not good enough really.
The only other issue was the noise at night from some groups of guests (not Europeans) who felt that the only way to shut bedroom doors was to bang them, and to shout loudly to each other in the stair wells. It would be a good idea to put soft closures on all the doors and at least a notice in the rooms asking people to close them quietly.
However let's get to the good stuff.
The pool area is a delight and there are generally spare sunbeds, the attendant is quickly there with clean towels and parasols if needed. The friendly bar staff are always on hand to bring refreshments of any type.
Its a short walk to the magnificent and nearly endless beach, and the shacks are good places to spend the day, although the beach sellers are a nuisance. Worse than last time in spite of completely pointless patrols by guys driving along in white 4x4's. They are visible a mile away.
I enjoyed the breakfasts, but I am happy with a choice of eggs cooked as you want them, cereals, toast, fruit juice, coffee, tea, plus a couple af Indian dishes to add flavour. All eaten in the delghtful gardens.
In spite of my grumbles I will be back but need to find a way to guarantee a 'high floor, pool view room. It really is a lovel;y place and better than most in this area of Goa.
If you are looking to go out to eat breakfast, lunch, dinner; enjoy a peaceful morning coffeee or fresh orange juice, the Harmony Bistro outside the hotel is a deligh,t and ran by a close group from Nepal who are the friendliest people I have ever met.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CumbriaMandm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2011

I enjoyed the room, comfortable bed and very nice bathroom. Food was good, nice pool and bar. The hotel is a little walk from the main road so if you are a solo traveler this can be an issue at night. I would stay there again if I was with someone else.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dransom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bikaner, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2011

WARNING! I DO NOT RECOMMENT THIS HOTEL AT ALL! The appearance of this hotel and the staff are curteous and friendly, however one evening my partner and I were in bed asleep and someone broke into our appartment. They forced the lock and stole a very expensive phone and the equivelent of $1000 AUD. We were told by locals that this happens all the time and most likely it would have arranged by the Hotel Manager. Management did not want to call the Police after the event and the Director of the hotel refused to speak with us. The security guards apparently saw nothing which is strage because there is no way into the hotel except for past the security gates. I am sure some people have had a pleasent stay at this hotel however I have no doubt there are many who have had a similar bad experience to us.This event left us very disheartened and untrusting toward Indian people. Lucky these thieves are a minority and not a majority.

Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank SaraAustralia31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Candolim hotels
2.0 km away
Whispering Palms Beach Resort
1.4 km away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#2 of 64 in Candolim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.4 km away
Novotel Goa Shrem Hotel
Novotel Goa Shrem Hotel
#11 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Lemon Tree Amarante Beach Resort, Goa
1.1 km away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
#8 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
1.6 km away
Santana Beach Resort
Santana Beach Resort
#4 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Inns? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Inns

Property: Sonesta Inns
Address: Anna Vaddo, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Region: India > Goa > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Candolim
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Candolim
#9 Romantic Hotel in Candolim
#10 Family Hotel in Candolim
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,020 - ₹ 9,583
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonesta Inns 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3 star resort in Goa with a perfect beachside location on the beautiful stretch of Candolim's Golden Sands, an ideal place to relax. Tastefully arranged around a vast central pool area, a gently shelving expanse of sand and garden runs from the grounds to the warm waters of the Arabian Sea, the scene of a spectacular sunset almost every evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Yatra so you can book your Sonesta Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Inns Hotel Candolim
Sonesta Hotel Candolim
Sonesta Candolim
Candolim Sonesta
Sonesta Inns Hotel Goa
Sonesta Inns Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing