We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”
Review of Sonesta Inns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sonesta Inns
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in Candolim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Lovely hotel. I stayed in a luxury room which was very nice - large, spacious, tastefully decorated. Lovely bathroom. The balcony is large enough to sit out in comfortably. It is worth getting a pool facing room as the view from the others is not as nice. Pool is a good size and has a proper deep end. The hotel has a large garden and is an easy walk to the beach as well as the rest of Candolim. It is located on Fort Aguada Road but is set back a little so it is not noisy. Food was ok - breakfast is laid out in the garden but is nothing to write home about. Staff are polite but the hotel has strange rule that visitors are not allowed in the hotel. We found this very bizarre. We had friends staying at a nearby resort who came by to see us and the guard didn't allow them inside the gate. Finally we had to appeal to the receptio staff who finally allowed them in. But it was rather strange.

Room Tip: Get a pool facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank allamanda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (638)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

494 - 498 of 638 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2011

Had booked sonnesta based on tripadvisor review and research and was not taken unaware when we reached here.

Its a beautiful hotel, on Candolim beach, with a sprawling big property, spacious rooms (we stayed in suite) and a well maintained swimming pool and clean lawns.

U get privacy yet will not go unattended, there are supervisors around the pool, attendants to pamper you around the lawns and some good advises in the reception.

Rooms are clean, spacious with special mention for the wash rooms as they are equally good if not better. Light up some candles around the bath tub and you can have your own relaxing spa with some wine and chillers to support.

The suites also have their own living room where u can also have your private candle lite dinner.

The only con which we found out is the private roadway to the beach which is dark and unlighted beyond a point and non-supervised too. But its perfectly safe otherwise and those who have been there must have met the Floyds Shack and Nandu the cook who can blow you off with his lobsters and vindaloo.

Overall rating for this hotel is an A+ for those who are looking for a peaceful, hasslefree stay, who wants a quite, relaxed holiday away from the maddening crowd of Calangute and pestering of the vendors of Anjuna and Baga. For a family holiday and for honeymooners, U'll love it.

For bag packers, this might be a costly option as this is a luxury hotel in true sense and not an Inn which it might used to be before.

Room Tip: Get pool facing suites on 1st floor. We recommend 209.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank saikatbardhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Me and my wife had been to hotel first time. Place is very quite and nice, best part is that the Candolim beach is only 200 meters from the hotel, there is a way through the property to the beach . So you can walk into and out of the beach in your beach wear. Staff is warm, breakfast is good. If you are a vegetarian please try to eat near Bagga beach, the veg food at the hotel is not that great. I got a 10% discount for the hotel room, all rooms have a mini bar. The place has a swimming pool which is well maintained. The rooms are very comfortable, we stayed in a non pool facing room.

Initially we wanted a pool facing room, but after checking in the non pool facing room we realized that the balcony of all the non pool facing rooms are private, unlike the pool facing room balconies.

The propery is 4 kms from Calangute and about 6 kms from Bagga. We wanted a quite holiday so we choose this and hotel rooms were luxurious. For the nights when we wanted to go out, we went to Baqga which close by, so best of both worlds.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank changaez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

We have stayed at the Sonesta a couple of times in the past, but the rooms were getting tired. Over the last two years they have given their rooms a complete makeover which was a wonderful surprise when we arrived there in November '11. They have a much more luxurious feel and really do the hotel justice. As the hotel rooms are only over two floor in small blocks, it gives a much more intimate and friendly atmosphere. The pool is great but the children's one a little small and deep for tiny children. The staff couldn't be more helpful and attentive. A morning paper was left by our door and the pool man sorted out a towel for us to lay on the sun beds with an sun umbrella.. There were a couple of small hiccups like the water not being hot one evening but it's India, you go with the flow and can't get upset about these things. It was dealt with and sorted out straight away. We did go a little out of season so it was very quiet. I am sure over the Xmas period things liven up. The hotel also puts on special themed evenings which people seemed to enjoy. It is very near the beach which is only a short walk through their gardens. It is however a little distance from Candolim but taxis are outside waiting to take you wherever you want. We will certainly be going back for a little r & r.

Room Tip: We opted for a room facing the pool so that we could sit out on the balcony at night and enjoy the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JanetBEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

We visited Resort Rio in the 2nd week of Nov'11 for 5 days. The hotel and its surroundings are very beautiful. We immediately felt relaxed the minute we entered the resort. The large swimming pool really an inviting one.

The Rooms are very elegant and really huge.As we stayed in a Suite room which is been recently refurbished ans has the most of the facilities like LCD televion in the bedroom, mini bar and also a very spacious dining area and ofcourse the bathtub. Our balcony faced the pool side so we had a lovely time during the sunset. Service was very good, all in all a perfect holiday resort when you need a break from the hustle and bustle of your daily life. Cant wait to visit again.
I also had seen the Luxury room during my visit they are also been refurbished and are very good.

Room Tip: One should try out the Suite as its the best room and also the other category of room which is a Lux...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zelig_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Candolim hotels
1.6 km away
Lemon Tree Amarante Beach Resort, Goa
0.4 km away
Novotel Goa Shrem Hotel
Novotel Goa Shrem Hotel
#7 of 66 in Candolim
1,238 reviews
2.4 km away
Santana Beach Resort
Santana Beach Resort
#3 of 66 in Candolim
1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 km away
Whispering Palms Beach Resort
1.1 km away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
1.4 km away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 66 in Candolim
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Inns? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Inns

Address: Anna Vaddo, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Candolim
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Candolim
#9 Romantic Hotel in Candolim
#10 Family Hotel in Candolim
Price Range: ₹ 6,645 - ₹ 18,194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonesta Inns 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3 star resort in Goa with a perfect beachside location on the beautiful stretch of Candolim's Golden Sands, an ideal place to relax. Tastefully arranged around a vast central pool area, a gently shelving expanse of sand and garden runs from the grounds to the warm waters of the Arabian Sea, the scene of a spectacular sunset almost every evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MakeMyTrip, ClearTrip, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Yatra, HotelQuickly, Booking.com and TravelGuru so you can book your Sonesta Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Inns Hotel Candolim
Sonesta Hotel Candolim
Sonesta Candolim
Candolim Sonesta
Sonesta Inns Hotel Goa
Sonesta Inns Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing