We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highland Beach would go back” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Highland Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Highland Beach Resort
Ranked #54 of 64 Hotels in Candolim
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Highland Beach would go back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

This hotel complex is quite large and caters for all its location is excellent for the main resort amenities and the beach is a 10 minute easy going walk and the shacks a fantastic an excellent hotel and resort we will definitely be going back. Lovely hotel and staff.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms opposite the gym as as they exercise they are looking into your room 303
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sprow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    209
    114
    63
    61
See reviews for
113
277
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

This was my first holiday to Goa and had very mixed feelings prior to going due to the fact that this is after all a third world country. Go with an open mind and if you can get past the first few days when you will notice the standards of hygiene are not what you are used to, then start to embrace their culture ..............
The Goan people are some of the most helpful and lovely people that I have ever met. Forget the rudeness of most European countries as you will find, if you talk to the Indians, them to be lovely. They may have very little and yes there are beggars just about everywhere you go, but remember we are only who we are by the fortunate circumstances of where we were born and who we were born to...
We stayed at the Highland Beach resort. For the price, it wasn't bad value for money. As to the comments of rats on some of the other reviews, yes I saw a couple of rats but then I saw rats in the restaurants too. There is no weekly rubbish collection in Goa, people burn their rubbish when it becomes too much. So expect rats. Expect to be shocked but expect to be stunned too.... Take the 5 day Golden Triangle trip (Delhi, Agra and Jaipur) but book it at Shantadurga tours when you get there as you will find it much cheaper than booking from home.
The beaches in Goa are vast and sandy but the water can get a bit rough so be careful. The Bay View beach shack is great and the toilets are just about the cleanest ones on the beach !
I surprised myself ............ Would I go back? Yes..... maybe not next year but one day .....

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new buildings. Take your own padlock for the 24 x 7 monitored safe. Forget th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Topsy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We were at the HB Feb through till March 15. Not our best visit and have found a new apartment complex to go to next season. Why the blip ?? several reason caused us to think it's not for us anymore. We witnessed some Brit tourists actually getting to the pool area at 7am and removing the umbrella's to their room so they were alright jack types. Then those that arrived at half 7 were putting 3 umbrella's around 3 sunbeds so none left for a lot of folks. We never use the pool area's as we much prefer the beach but to witness these selfish people looking so stupid doing this is embarrassing. As we don't use the pools I'm only highlighting how selfish you look when removing and stashing them for yourselves.
We also saw a few rodents running from the kitchen towards the block over the pathway opposite the gym block.
The laundry service was poor and shoddy and they make the prices up I'm sure ....
So after 6 years at the HB it's a sad farewell.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Wazzman1629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suresh G, Sales Associate at Highland Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
If the guest want to remove umbrella, it will be removed. However, they are not supposed to carry it to the room, so we will look into this matter. Regarding tourists hanging around the pool, all are our guests, it is difficult to stop, we cannot reserve the pool exclusively for any person. It is on First Come First Serve basis.
Laundry service was poor? We wish the guest had made a complaint ; also laundry prices are fixed by management. If you made a complaint and we did not address it immediately, please write such a review. Otherwise , this is unfair. We regret the guest has chosen to stay elsewhere. We promise to do all we can in this matter & we look forward to serving him again .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guernsey
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Excellent value. Have stayed there many times. Friendly, Clean, Up to speed! You must remember India is very basic if you want to get out and about to see how things work, which I do. You will be comfortable here. If your only interested in 5 star go to Taj Holiday Village and pay 3 times the price. But when you come out of the compound you will be still in India. I love it!

Room Tip: Don't use tour operator transport. Get your own taxi outside. Could save you 1 hour waiting for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FredW76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

I just got back from Goa on Thursday 22nd March 2012. Highland Beach Resort the services is very bad, and the pools were not looked after. They were dirty and many dead flies floating in them. Dirty food trays lying round the corridors. The Towel and bedsheets were not clean. I would not recommend this place to any one.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Narcg11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Candolim hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Candolim hotels
0.3 km away
Sea Mist Resort
Sea Mist Resort
#22 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.9 km away
Sukhmantra Resort and Spa
Sukhmantra Resort and Spa
#47 of 64 in Candolim
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.7 km away
Casablanca
Casablanca
#21 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Casa Candolim
Casa Candolim
#29 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.4 km away
Phoenix Park Inn Resort
Phoenix Park Inn Resort
#13 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
0.9 km away
De Alturas Resort
De Alturas Resort
#20 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Beach Resort

Property: Highland Beach Resort
Address: Near Primary Health Center, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Region: India > Goa > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Candolim
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Candolim
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,880 - ₹ 8,442
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Highland Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highland Beach Resort is an all suite property situated at Candolim, Goa. A 3 star property, it is spread over a vast 8 acres and offers multiple swimming pools and all other modern amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ClearTrip, Agoda and Yatra so you can book your Highland Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Beach Hotel Candolim
Highland Beach Candolim
Highland Beach Resort Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing