We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“not as bad as said on here for sure” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Highland Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Highland Beach Resort
Ranked #46 of 62 Hotels in Candolim
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“not as bad as said on here for sure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

just had 2 weeks at this hotel, room was spotlessly clean, room boy very pleasant and helpful
we was in block 2 and it was very peaceful and we had 2 balconies one facing the pool
breakfast is the usual goan speciality EGGS !!! but the omelettes made to order were lovely
one big compliant there is no where near enough sunbeds round the pools and some miserable old b*****s seem to think they own certain ones because they are long stay if you want a bed set the alarm for before 6 !!!! you cant miss them they sit on guard in the corner with the best sun. we would return again if we do decide to go back to Goa
remember to bring a small padlock to use the free safes

Room Tip: try for the new blocks at the back of the complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dawnybrads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    199
    110
    57
    51
See reviews for
109
256
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

This was our 4th trip to Goa so we know what to expect. I work 6 days a week and my wife works full time. We are not demanding but we do expect a certain level of service, cleanliness and value for money. Here at Highland Beach you do not get that. Its it's favour it is in a good location, you get free safety deposit lockers (you provide a padlock) and the room comes with a fridge freezer. The room and the fridge freezer need a good deep clean. We were so disgusted with the first room we got a move and the second room was the same, dirty. The towles and bedding are clean but stained. The argument is that Goa has a 'green' approach and does not use bleach in its washing powder/liquid. Well we support this but in our other apartments/rooms the towels and bedding was not stained. Service is poor, requiring follow up calls to get someone to fix the tv, get towels, toilet paper etc. There are rats in the grounds, bound to be so we are not surprised. We saw food from room service left outside rooms and not collected for 48 hours so they don't help matters. Would we return here? NO. Would we recommend this place to family or friends? NO. So do yourself a favour and spend your money else where.

Room Tip: Chose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarvinDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Candolim hotels

york/england
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Just got back from the Highland Beach Resort and we had a fantastic time. India is awesome and we had a really good base at this hotel. The hotel itself is massive and it will take you a while to find your way around it (we still only found 5 of the 7 pools!!!). We were upgraded free of charge when we arrived and ended up in a two bedroomed apartment equipped with two double beds, three balconies, two bathrooms, a living room and a kitchen/dining area. The rooms where kept lovely and clean the whole of our stay and the lad that cleaned our room expected nothing from us (they appreciate any tips you leave but do not expect it). The air conditioning worked well but was quite loud so we didnt use it much. We got clean towels every day and clean sheets every other. The hotel restaurant was lovely but there are so many other places toeat out that it is a shame to stay in. Breakfast was a bit of a gauntlet but once you get used to it, it is fine - you can have eggs cooked any way you like and there is tea/coffee/juice and toast for you to help yourself to. Swimming pools cleaned everyday although you cannot get away from the bugs - its just a fact of life there!!! All in all a brilliant hotel, good facilities and will definately reccommend it to anyone considering.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xxnjxxdcxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

I got down at Thivim station and the Rickshaw guy charged me 400 Rs to this hotel. All the taximen seem to know it, so it wasn't difficult to find, even at night. I didn't have an advance booking. So I got a room for one night only as they were sold out from the following day due to the long Independence day Weekend. It is a huge property with 7 swimming pools and more than 200 rooms, located near the Candolim Beach. Just like the property , my standard room was also huge with a independent kitchenette, mini-bar, living room , large balcony, bedroom and ensuite bathroom. Furnishings are nice and comfortable.TV wasn't a LCD, and many channels were blurred. After a quick dinner of egg noodles ( huge portions, so order carefully), I went to bed. Early morning I went to the Main pool at 8 am( opening time). The Manager suggested I take a swim after breakfast or try the other pools as many guests were sitting around the pool and complained about the swimmers splashing on them. Other pools were still to be cleaned, but this is a holiday resort and no one really wakes up this early. So I had to use the main pool. It was really clean as was the rest of the property.
There were many facilities like a gym, sauna and Spa, but I had to check out by 12 so I didn't try anything.I had to get a shirt ironed, and was pleasantly surprised when it was brought back in just under 5 minutes. Got a Cab from the stand outside the gate in 1 minute and left. Excellent experience & will definitely come back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet at night, but the Ambassador rooms are very quiet as they are in the north s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PrinceMallu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

Stayed at the Highland Beach Resort from 25th December 2011 - 9th January 2012 and had a wonderful time. We stayed in the new block in a two bedroomed suite. The rooms are, as expected, basic, but very clean. The pool areas were kept clean at all times and fresh pool are towels available each day on request.
Breakfast for us was served round the pool each morning, and comprised of eggs, any style, toast, juice, tea & coffee. To be honest if you just want a change you can buy a full breakfast for a family of four at one of the many local cafes for around £6!!! The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful, particularly if you tip them early on in your stay!!
The hotel has a "gym" advertised, but it is very poor. A hot, dirty room with a shabby running machine, an exercise bike and some weights!! Disappointing if you like to exercise whilst on holiday like me.
Candolim is a lovely resort with plenty of shops and eating places. The beaches are great, just take a few minutes to walk up the beach away from the entry points as the beach shacks are cheaper and the beach is much quieter. There are lots of locals selling the usual tat, however they were never a real problem to us. A polite no thanks was normally enough to see them off.
The first week of our holiday we used the local taxis to explore the area. This usually cost about £10 for a whole day. Any excursion you do should be done this way and not through your tour operator as the price is often less than half that they would charge!! As our confidence grew we used the local buses to visit neighbouring cities at a cost of about 12p per person!! One of the main things for us is that we felt very safe all the time. We had our two teenage daughters with us and we happily allowed them out to visit the local internet cafe, supermarkets and shops.
Try the local barandy, Honey Bee, we had it with a splash of coke and it was fantastic and led to many nights staggering back home!!!
We really did love Goa, we loved Candolim and we loved the Highland Beach Hotel. We will definatley return and would recommend it to anyone.
A last word of warning though .......... The beds in the hotel are really, really really HARD and uncomfortable!! You will be longing for your bed back home by the end of your stay!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new block away from the kitchens
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alibri1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Candolim hotels
0.7 km away
Casablanca
Casablanca
#21 of 62 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.3 km away
Sea Mist Resort
Sea Mist Resort
#28 of 62 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.9 km away
Sukhmantra Resort and Spa
Sukhmantra Resort and Spa
#42 of 62 in Candolim
3.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
De Alturas Resort
De Alturas Resort
#19 of 62 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.7 km away
Ruffles Beach Resort
Ruffles Beach Resort
#38 of 62 in Candolim
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.4 km away
Phoenix Park Inn Resort
Phoenix Park Inn Resort
#15 of 62 in Candolim
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Beach Resort

Property: Highland Beach Resort
Address: Near Primary Health Center, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Region: India > Goa > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Candolim
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Candolim
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,410 - ₹ 9,686
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Highland Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highland Beach Resort is an all suite property situated at Candolim, Goa. A 3 star property, it is spread over a vast 8 acres and offers multiple swimming pools and all other modern amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ClearTrip, TravelGuru and Agoda so you can book your Highland Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Beach Hotel Candolim
Highland Beach Candolim
Highland Beach Resort Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing