We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So many better options especially for the price”
Review of Dona Alcina Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dona Alcina Resort
Ranked #65 of 66 Hotels in Candolim
Reviewed 16 December 2011

Dona Alcina did not live up to the booking reservations made on a booking website. We were promised a non-ac room with a TV and a continental breakfast. There was no TV, and the 'continental' breakfast included extremely weak coffee and 3 pieces of dried bread (extremely hard with no warmth or toast markings) with only enough butter and jam for 1.5 pieces. The reception staff was extremely miffed that we wanted to check-in. It seems we interrupted an in important call, as he didn't put the phone down while trying to process us. He wanted to keep our passports for the night as he needed to photocopies. When we asked why he could copy now, we were told because it was closed. We still aren't sure what was closed. We tried again the next day and the front desk woman, again didn't want to put her phone down and but wanted us to wait for an hour for the photocopies. The only good point was the pool, it looked nice but you can't bring outside food or drinks to the pool, you MUST order from the restaurant. All in all, there are so many better choices with considerably better locations for considerably less in Candolim or elsewhere along the Goan coast. If you have any choice, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jcm199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (123)
There are newer reviews for Dona Alcina Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 57 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2011

My husband & I have just returned home from a month at the Dona Alcina & would like to give our views.
The hotel is in a good location on the main street with loads of excellent restaurants, bars & karaoke around.
Now the drawbacks! Firstly, on arrival, everone seems to be given the grottiest rooms available, until they complain, then they are given a better one - still extremely basic but better. This happened to a vast number of their guests.( one chap was moved 5 times in one day!) Depending on which tour operator your with you will NOT have a fridge in your room. When we complained we were told to our faces by the manager Cornelius and the Jewel in the Crown rep, that no rooms had fridges as they had got rid of them all at the beginning ot this season as they were very old (buy new??) This turned out to be a blatent lie, as during the course of our stay we found out from others who had one, that at least 5 rooms have fridges and possibly more. Drinking warm bottled water for 4 weeks is not appealing.
Most rooms are spacious & a lot have an inside door locked with a big padlock, it you can look into this room from you balcony you will see it's a kitchen with a FRIDGE in there. The tele's don't work either, and the boiler, heated by immersian heater, dosn't hold enough water for one entire shower. The rooms are cleaned as often as you wish - just leave your key at reception.
While the reception staff are dour and surly, the bar & restaurant staff including the chefs are a joy. It's run seperately from the hotel by franchise, and they are all friendly, polite and will do anything to make you happy. The resaurant & bar area was washed & hosed down a few times during our stay, whereas the area on the other side of the pool wasn't done once during our 4 weeks and is the resposibility of the hotel. The pool itself is nice & clean, inviting & warm with the sun on it all day. Plenty of sunbeds & chairs, the only drawback here, is the lady who sweeps up the leaves often has a bonfire with them at around 10.30am in a corner of the pool area, with smoke drifting around the whole area depending on the wind - perhaps early morning would be a better time. Incidently, the pool is not the one shown in the Jewel in the Crown brochure, that picture belongs to the Alor Grand next door!!!
All in all we had a great holiday and met some lovely people, the weather was superb and at the end of our stay, the Brits were evenly matched in numbers with the Russian.
Will we go back to the Dona Alcina? NO.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PandK_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

I stayed at Dona Alcina for a week in Feb 2011. The hotel facilities are basic, although the swimming pool is nice and is kept very clean. Rooms are cleaned every day, and linen changed. We paid locally for air con, which was worth it as it was very hot. Breakfast is nothing special, toast and tea/ coffee but its adequate, as orices for eating out in Candolim are excellent.

Service at the hotel was good, the staff on reception were very helpful and any laundry was done very quickly and wasn't expensive. Hotel location is good, very handy for the beach (10 minutes walk) and for restaurants and bars.

Overall, its not a bad hotel for the price, could do with redecorating but its clean and in a good location.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank redkaz21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

I went here on holiday for the first time and all i can say is how great it was, the staff at this hotel are just outstanding and cant do enough for you. they are polite and happy. the food we had in the hotel was great the chicken and naan bread was amasing and also the omelette and chips were great to. the cleaners were good and when you needed it cleaned they would be there almost instantly, it was not a dirty place like some people say about this hotel and they are doing reservations at the moment to make the rooms better, which the manager did show us and it looks great, you just have to give them time. it was a short walk to the beach and everything you needed was on the doorstep. i love the place and everyone in this hotel and cant wait to go back again next year.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sazzle70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2011

Where do i start...

When i booked this holiday package i was told it was a 5star hotel, when i got there it was like a hostel. Very grim reception welcome the path leading to the pool was lined with broken bulbs with the elements exposed, when i saw this my hopes for this place droped if this was the welcome the give at the start of the hotel, what hope lies for the rest.

On the way to our room we passed the pool the path was just broken paving stones very dangerous to walk in, the steps leading to the room were very slippery. The rooms were disgusting they had not been cleaned after the last people and the smell was horrid the smell of open drains, the bed knocked me sick with out being graphical they sheets were soiled and just covered up with a throw-over. The air conditioning was stuffed full of empty spirit bottles and the fans were covered in a inch of grim, having one of my party members being asmatic he did not really have a comfortable stay. Having complained about the room we got a vacant look from the cleaners as if to say "what wrong with it". Once they "cleaned" the room trying to sleep in the depressing dismal room was a challenge due to the packs of dogs in the grounds fighting all night, drinking from the pool and doing there business around the hotel and the staff did nothing but stand and watch. The food was bland being half-board we feel they made it this way to have it order off the other menu as they always gave us the two menus. The staff attitude was not the best it was as if they did not care. One morning we went down for breakfast and one of my party members ordered bacon and eggs when it arrived his face droped in disgust he picked up a piece of FAT that was in the shape of bacon and it was cooked and served that way to him, there was not a single scrap of meat on it just 100% fat. Having called the waiter to complain the waiter asked "whats wrong with it?" we then said would you eat that??, the wait replyed ill get some fresh for you we told him not to bother. As the waiter walked off a dog came over to the table and urinated up the table, this was our final straw and the waiter stood and watch the dog do this, having had a few cross words with them and the management about teh poorly run "hotel" we decided to eat out from then onwards. The room service was crazy also at the bar a beer cost 80rps room service 550rps.

Haveing complained to our REP she tried to get us in to another hotel but was unable to as she said "it worse than this". So from there onwards we stayed out most night in beach shacks which were better than the hotel. The place we stayed was at "The Cool Place" in morjim beach, owned by Jack and Michelle, Michelle being from England understood where we were coming from.

I know some of you may say maybe you had you hope high with it being india, ill tell you now just 40sec walk down the road is a lovely hotel sadly it was full, and about another 300yard is the Highland Beach Resort another beautiful hotel.

So i will end this review by saying PLEASE TRUST ME do not go here, it is a depressing, dismal disgusting place.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JakkDaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Candolim
3.1 km away
Hotel Dona Terezinha
Hotel Dona Terezinha
#93 of 116 in Calangute
97 reviews
1.1 km away
Summerville Beach Resort
Summerville Beach Resort
#53 of 66 in Candolim
97 reviews
0.1 km away
Prazeres Resorts
Prazeres Resorts
#56 of 66 in Candolim
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Valentines Retreat
Valentines Retreat
#52 of 66 in Candolim
145 reviews
1.4 km away
Lui Beach Resort
Lui Beach Resort
#41 of 66 in Candolim
192 reviews
0.3 km away
Saikunj Holiday Homes
Saikunj Holiday Homes
#23 of 66 in Candolim
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dona Alcina Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dona Alcina Resort

Address: | Opposite Candolim Health Centre, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 66 Hotels in Candolim
Price Range: ₹ 1,223 - ₹ 3,928 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dona Alcina Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MakeMyTrip, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TravelGuru so you can book your Dona Alcina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dona Alcina Hotel Candolim
Dona Alcina Candolim
Hotel Dona Alcina
Dona Alcina Resorts
Dona Alcina Hotel Goa
Dona Alcina Resort Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing