We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A change from curry”

The Mermaid Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 313 Restaurants in Candolim
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Salford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A change from curry”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We called here on a recommendation. One of our party was fed- up with Indian food, ( why go to India on holiday then ). The fillet steak was beautiful. Service was very good, and a very modest 400 rupees. I would recommend booking in advance as it does get very busy every night.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank RobThornton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    416
    137
    53
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford upon Avon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good Quality”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We did dine out occasionally whilst at the FAB Whispering Palms, the Mermaid was very good excellent fillet steak nice service all round very good wil return when we go back.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnsley, yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Visited in February and was very disapointed, we have been to the Mermaid several times on past holidays, but this time the food was very mediocre, the Steak was dry and over cooked, and even though we had a starter, main course and a sweet, I left thiking that if I had been really hungry I would have been looking for something else to eat, portion size seemed very stingy compared to previous visits, won`t go back, there are many good places to eat in Candolim without having to go back here.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clayshooter60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, England
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Overrated by it's loyal customers”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

This is not the worst restaurant in Candolim although a bit clicky with the scandanavian front of house lady spent most of her time patronising her regular clients rather than welcoming newcomers. The food was OK (except the fried fish which my friend refused to eat). There were many other restaurants which we found much better such as Top Nosh and Rising Waves.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StevoPreston_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, UK
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best pate I've ever had”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Heard good things so decided to give this place a try. Was first table at 19:30 and was seated and served very quickly.

Chicken liver pate starter was tremendous. Best I've ever had. Main course of spinach and mushrooms was good.

Service was excellent. Owner visited every table. Prices good.

Would definitely visit again.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sunsearcher101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mermaid Restaurant also viewed

 
Calangute, North Goa District
 

Been to The Mermaid Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing