We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
Ranked #13 of 64 Hotels in Candolim
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A Real Gem”
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We stayed there for 2 weeks from 13th Jan and found it to be excellent in terms of lovely rooms, great choice of food for breakfast , very nice food, best hotel room we have ever stayed in ( very clean , towells changed daily and room cleaned daily ) and the staff where where very friendly and helpful ( especially the breakfast man and staff on reception )
If this hotel was the beach side of the busy main road it would be perfect but we didnt mind too much that it wasnt as its in a quiet part of Candlolim

Room Tip: We think the 2nd floor rooms maybe the best on the side that gets most sunshine
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lancasterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    542
    510
    165
    55
    49
See reviews for
451
532
26
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

My wife and I had booked a 3 nights at Girasol and made the full payment in advance. Had selected Girasol since our favorite hotel in Goa was all booked. There was a family emergency and we had to cancel our trip. We informed the hotel about the same well in advance. After several reminders they mentioned they will be deducting one night's charges and refunding the rest. This is fine and acceptable.

However it has been one month and we still do not have any information on when we are getting our money back. We are sick and tired of sending them emails and calling them up!

They either hang up the phone and put me on hold for indefinite time.

Please give them your money at your own risk. We might be filing a case in the consumer court as well as talking to the tourism department in Goa. Extremely unprofessional attitude.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ads13d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CISGOACANDOLIM, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
At the very onset allow me to apologize for any inconvenience caused. As you are aware (booking confirmation) that your cancellation fee is 100% yet as a special case the management has made an exception for you.
Refunds generally take place within 15 working days after the date of departure.However in your case there has been a slip up and once again I apologize for the same. Let me assure you that your amount will be refunded within 24 hours.
I hope you give us another opportunity to serve you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Stayed here in Jan 2012. The hotel is in the middle of changing names and making a conference centre for entertainment. Rooms are very nice and well maintained. There are only a hand full of sunbeds, not enough for the number of rooms, plus one side is always in the shade. Most guests go to the beach therefore not many people using the dining room for lunch or evening meal. The hotel is set back from the main road a 5 min walk. The coaches do not drop or collect you from the hotel, they expect you to drag your cases up a dark road and wait on the main road in the middle of the night. I suggest getting a taxi to the airport as they can drive up to the main entrance. The management and housekeeping cannot do enough for you, the staff are very accommodating and friendly. Striving to be a 5 star.

Room Tip: We had a top floor at the back of the hotel which was relevently quiet except for the dogs barking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shortyca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We stayed for 3 weeks at the Girasol over Christmas and New Year. It was our first time in Goa, so I can't compare with other hotels in the area, but we found the Girasol to be of a good standard for any western hotel.

The hotel is built around a central courtyard and swimming pool, so all rooms have a balcony facing inwards to the pool, with a walkway running around the outside of each floor to access the rooms. There is a lift if required although we never used it.

The room was spacious, with a large VERY comfortable bed - better than our bed at home actually! Bedside cabinets, small couch which we never sat on, coffee table, dressing table and wardrobe complete with electronic safe. Also a small fridge which seemed to work fine for us. The balcony wasn't that large but had space for the 2 chairs and table on it.

Nice bathroom with walk-in shower and enough room for all your toiletries. Towels were nice and thick although they were changed every day it was sometimes a bit random as to what towels you'd get! On one occasion we weren't left any bath towels but a phone call to reception and they were delivered within 10 minutes. No hairdryer so take one if you need one!

We enjoyed the buffet breakfast served from 7.30am - 10.30am. Fresh fruit, cereal, toast, egg chef doing whatever style eggs you want, and a variety of cooked items both western and Indian. Plus fruit juice and tea/coffee. The coffee is just instant put in a jug that looks like it will be filter, so not great if you like a strong coffee! We didn't eat any other meals at the hotel, so can't comment on that.

Pool was kept clean & tidy. Not that many sunbeds and one half of the pool always in the shade so it could get busy. Not much breeze with it being in a courtyard so could get a bit sticky!

The staff were friendly and polite, although to be honest we didn't see that much of them as we were out and about most of the time. The room was kept clean, but not spotless - but I'm guessing that's India!

Good location down a quiet side street but no distance to walk to the main eateries of Candolim, or to the beach. We really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely stay again if we go back to Candolim and are able to book it!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd or 3rd floor will be more private than ground floor rooms which can be very close t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StronsayLimpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

This was our first visit to the Girasol, and we didnt really know what to expect, but we were very pleasantly surprised. The rooms were large, well furnished, clean and with an excellent shower room. The fridge was a bit erratic, either not chilling water at all or freezing it solid. A very good feature was the safe in the room- in previous hotels they have been in reception and needed signing for each time you went in. The flat screen TV was also very good.
The pool was good size, but only half was in the sun, which could mean a struggle to get sunbeds, and the pool water was never that warm. If the pool boy was very helpful, but if he wasn't on duty you had to try and get your own towels from house keeping.
The staff were all very friendly, and fairly efficient by Indian standards. Breakfast was nothing to get excited by, but they never are. The location was very good, with Candolim's main drag only a few minutes away, with lots of bars, restuarants and the Chocolati tea garden nearby. We were there for New Year's Eve, and had a really good gala dinner, but only eat there one other time, which was fine but a limited menu.
Some reviews have mentioned noisy Russians, but we didnt have any problems with them.
We liked it so much we wanted to book to go back next season, but because the hotel has new owners you cannot book yet. if it does become available, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: B block rooms haven't got handles on the outside balcony doors- be careful you don't get tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TriuumphNed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Candolim hotels
0.1 km away
Fortune Acron Regina
Fortune Acron Regina
#4 of 64 in Candolim
1,524 reviews
2.2 km away
Hyatt Place Goa Candolim
Hyatt Place Goa Candolim
#12 of 64 in Candolim
449 reviews
0.4 km away
Whispering Palms Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Golden Tulip Goa Candolim
Golden Tulip Goa Candolim
#8 of 64 in Candolim
525 reviews
1.1 km away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
#6 of 64 in Candolim
926 reviews
0.6 km away
Lemon Tree Amarante Beach Resort, Goa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
Address: Bamonvaddo, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India (Formerly Girasol Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Candolim
#8 Family Hotel in Candolim
#8 Luxury Hotel in Candolim
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,780 - ₹ 14,406
Hotel Class:4 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Goa Candolim. One of the most conveniently located hotels in Goa, India, the Country Inn features a pristine setting near Candolim Beach and offers easy access to the best tourist attractions in Goa. Guests at our beach hotel in Goa can enjoy stylish and comfortable rooms with all the amenities needed for an enjoyable stay. The Country Inn & Suites also offers on-site dining, an outdoor swimming pool, well-equipped Fitness Centre, on-site banquet and conference facilities and complimentary wireless Internet access. Reserve your room today and experience one of the best hotels in Goa, India. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ClearTrip, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Girasol Beach Hotel Candolim
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing