We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (245)
Filter reviews
245 results
Traveller rating
108
100
20
8
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
100
20
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfootball pitchjacuzzi baththe main roadtoast and eggsbusy roadair consmall friendly hotelbeach roadhuge bedreception staffsuite rooman excellent hotelthe ground floorrooms are bigtea and coffeeswimming pool iscandolim area
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 245 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2017

This was our third visit to this hotel our last visit being in February last year, we have travelled extensively throughout the world but Goa is right up there on our list of favourites so we chose it for my wife's big birthday and our wedding anniversary (the hotel staff on both occasions brought flowers and a cake to our room ) .
The hotel itself is a mixture of great and not so great, great being the staff who without exception in our experience are polite friendly and prepared to do anything to make your stay an enjoyable one, the rooms although maybe not quite 5 star are comfortable with big beds, very clean and roomy with big walk in showers and Jacuzzi baths in some rooms. Not so great is probably the location as it is as mentioned in other revues on the wrong side of a very busy main road when heading to the beach, also the surroundings of the hotel can be noisy with barking dogs being the worst offenders. I would repeat that the best thing about this hotel is the staff, who will do their utmost to make your stay comfortable. We would recommend this hotel to anyone and we will return for a fourth time. A.McManus
PS. One more thing to mention is this was our seventh trip to Goa but our first in March and we found the heat very uncomfortable on some day's ( 38 - 40 degrees C ) .

Room Tip: Front elevation high floor is a good option.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017

Stayed herefor 3 weeks in November, was really looking forward to it as i LOVE goa. On arrival hotel looked lovely and we noticed the new hotel over the road being built i thought this to be a problem at first, when we went into the reception it was very well decorated for india. (They clean the sofas with what smells like petrol and it lingures for days) we got our keys to our room which was a pool view room so the new hotelbuilding wasnt a problem at all. Lovely view from the ground floor balcony and room was huge with two chairs a huge bed and nice shower room. In our second week room was cleaned and my portable speaker went missing from our room. I told the manager he at first said he will sort it for us THEN WENT HOME!!! only when we said we would tell our rep about it he came back and in the end offered us £20 for the speaker. I would of peffered a replacement to be fair. Would NOT stay again due to this issue. The staff are terrible on reception and after this happened they snarled us all the time. The bar staff where lovely and a member of the breakfast. WIFI non existent.

Room Tip: Bottom floor room with balcony is great as for pool facing room.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Aaron1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Silver Sands Hideaway is not near beach road as stated on Thompson web site it is opposite side of busy main road some 400 metres from beach road near football pitch. We had a suite room friends room was massive but overlooking road at front of hotel we opted for pool view smaller but good size shower no bath . Hotel very clean. Breakfast very basic only variations on eggs and toast unless you wanted to pay. Kumar waiter very good as were all the staff from reception cleaners and security very helpful and smiley. As the Hotel was small think 23 rooms got to know lots of fellow guests which was nice. Pool was in need of a bit of maintenance kitchen end small but we loved to cool down after walk back from beach. Stroll to beach about 15 minutes cross main road left side of church alongside football pitch keep going straight to beach see separate review on Alex shack. Think Hotel could have made more use of indoor bar which they seem to open only in bad weather looked really nice on photos lots of bugs at pool bar after dark maybe have happy hour or have specials food evening didn't eat once at hotel in evening. Hotel booked us a cab to Baga see Paradise jewellers review coming soon driver didn't know where we wanted to go disappointed to find out we were charged nearly three times going rate .Over all great staff very clean and friendly although a bit off beaten track lift to all floors with good wheelchair access. Wi Fi poor except near reception frequent power cuts but despite this Would recommend.

Room Tip: rear of hotel for quieter room
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Hurst66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017

We arrived on 9th February 2017 for a 2 week stay. The rooms were spacious (14, 303), with a really wide, comfortable bed, and plenty of wardrobe space. My parents and niece shared a family room and both rooms were more than large enough for the extra bed. The safe, fridge and air-con were free of charge. The air con was really effective, and there was also a ceiling fan above the bed. The TV signal wasn't great, but we didn't really watch TV much. Our bathroom had a Jacuzzi bath with a shower over. We only used the shower. There wasn't a shower screen/curtain, but it's so warm that any water-spray on the floor soon evaporates. There was free wifi, but the signal was weak and intermittent.
The breakfasts were mainly just eggs cooked different ways, and toast. We had omelettes every day and they were delicious. The tea and coffee was also good. We ate in the hotel a couple of times and enjoyed the food. The staff were all really friendly and helpful. The pool area was nice, with comfortable sun beds and pool towels provided (not to be taken to the beach). The only slight downside was that the 'shallow end' of the pool was over 5ft, and as I'm only 5'1", I was unable to touch the bottom. Also there was very little breeze around the pool and there was always some part of it in shade.
The hotel was situated off the busy, main road, down a dusty track. You have to cross the main road to get to the beach - it was not a pleasant experience to say the least. Everyone sounding their horns (it's their law)., no discernible highway code - seemed like a free-for-all. The road is REALLY busy and noisy, and was the one negative aspect of the holiday for me. The beach was about 10-15 minutes walk from the hotel, and was really nice and the sea was really warm and the waves really high, which was great fun.
We tried quite a few beach shacks and the food and drinks at all were good quality and cheap (although my mum has been returning to Goa for about 20 years and she says the prices are much higher than even a couple of years ago).
There are plenty of bars and restaurants on the main road, and the beach road - you could easily eat at a different place every lunch and dinner if you wanted to.
Although the hotel was really nice in all regards, if I returned to Candolim I would choose accommodation on the other site of the road (beach side) to minimise the number of times I had to cross the road.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TracieMartin2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017

just got back from a two week stay, amazing hotel, great staff, hotel very clean, room cleaned each day clean bedding and towels, room lovely, food very nice what more can we say apart from we will be going back next year.

Room Tip: superior room has jacuzzi .well worth upgrading
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank allen3167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews