We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (245)
Filter reviews
245 results
Traveller rating
108
100
20
8
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
100
20
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfootball pitchthe main roadtoast and eggsbusy roadsmall friendly hotelbeach roadhuge bedreception staffsuite rooman excellent hotelthe ground floorrooms are bigtea and coffeeswimming pool iscandolim areabars and restaurantsrama
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 245 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Silver Sands Hideaway is not near beach road as stated on Thompson web site it is opposite side of busy main road some 400 metres from beach road near football pitch. We had a suite room friends room was massive but overlooking road at front of hotel we opted for pool view smaller but good size shower no bath . Hotel very clean. Breakfast very basic only variations on eggs and toast unless you wanted to pay. Kumar waiter very good as were all the staff from reception cleaners and security very helpful and smiley. As the Hotel was small think 23 rooms got to know lots of fellow guests which was nice. Pool was in need of a bit of maintenance kitchen end small but we loved to cool down after walk back from beach. Stroll to beach about 15 minutes cross main road left side of church alongside football pitch keep going straight to beach see separate review on Alex shack. Think Hotel could have made more use of indoor bar which they seem to open only in bad weather looked really nice on photos lots of bugs at pool bar after dark maybe have happy hour or have specials food evening didn't eat once at hotel in evening. Hotel booked us a cab to Baga see Paradise jewellers review coming soon driver didn't know where we wanted to go disappointed to find out we were charged nearly three times going rate .Over all great staff very clean and friendly although a bit off beaten track lift to all floors with good wheelchair access. Wi Fi poor except near reception frequent power cuts but despite this Would recommend.

Room Tip: rear of hotel for quieter room
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Hurst66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017

We arrived on 9th February 2017 for a 2 week stay. The rooms were spacious (14, 303), with a really wide, comfortable bed, and plenty of wardrobe space. My parents and niece shared a family room and both rooms were more than large enough for the extra bed. The safe, fridge and air-con were free of charge. The air con was really effective, and there was also a ceiling fan above the bed. The TV signal wasn't great, but we didn't really watch TV much. Our bathroom had a Jacuzzi bath with a shower over. We only used the shower. There wasn't a shower screen/curtain, but it's so warm that any water-spray on the floor soon evaporates. There was free wifi, but the signal was weak and intermittent.
The breakfasts were mainly just eggs cooked different ways, and toast. We had omelettes every day and they were delicious. The tea and coffee was also good. We ate in the hotel a couple of times and enjoyed the food. The staff were all really friendly and helpful. The pool area was nice, with comfortable sun beds and pool towels provided (not to be taken to the beach). The only slight downside was that the 'shallow end' of the pool was over 5ft, and as I'm only 5'1", I was unable to touch the bottom. Also there was very little breeze around the pool and there was always some part of it in shade.
The hotel was situated off the busy, main road, down a dusty track. You have to cross the main road to get to the beach - it was not a pleasant experience to say the least. Everyone sounding their horns (it's their law)., no discernible highway code - seemed like a free-for-all. The road is REALLY busy and noisy, and was the one negative aspect of the holiday for me. The beach was about 10-15 minutes walk from the hotel, and was really nice and the sea was really warm and the waves really high, which was great fun.
We tried quite a few beach shacks and the food and drinks at all were good quality and cheap (although my mum has been returning to Goa for about 20 years and she says the prices are much higher than even a couple of years ago).
There are plenty of bars and restaurants on the main road, and the beach road - you could easily eat at a different place every lunch and dinner if you wanted to.
Although the hotel was really nice in all regards, if I returned to Candolim I would choose accommodation on the other site of the road (beach side) to minimise the number of times I had to cross the road.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TracieMartin2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017

just got back from a two week stay, amazing hotel, great staff, hotel very clean, room cleaned each day clean bedding and towels, room lovely, food very nice what more can we say apart from we will be going back next year.

Room Tip: superior room has jacuzzi .well worth upgrading
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank allen3167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

Had a great time at this hotel. Location is always important and it's situated a few mins walk from the beach (10 ish) and shops (5 ish) once you get used to the traffic on the main road. It's that traffic that makes this location so good, from here you can't hear it. Very friendly staff who couldn't help enough. Always clean and tidy. Trying to find a down side (and it's hard) you better like eggs for breakfast, cooked anyway you like tho.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mark b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017

Arrived early after an internal flight from Bombay, had a short wait for the room (we did arrive around 8AM so expected it), sat round the pool had a pot of tea...no problems, In our room by 9am, nice, spacious, clean, and (by comparison to previously stayed in hotels in Candolim) ........a lovely comfortable bed,
excellent air conditioning, nice bathroom, very cold fridge, towels changed daily, rooms cleaned daily, lift to our 3rd floor modern and clean...
Breakfast sufficient, All the staff were excellent whenever we had contact with them.
Also used the hotel MPV for our trip back to the airport for flight back to Mumbai (cost a bit more than local cab but convenient when staying at the hotel)
Highly recommended........and will stay there again Definately

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews