We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good service”
Review of Ryans Shack

Ryans Shack
Ranked #12 of 313 Restaurants in Candolim
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Ryans shack is a funky shack situated at candolim beach and specializing in Fresh grilled seafood and BBQ,S and Indian and chinese and variety of salads , Theres plenty of sunbeds and hammoks and sofas to chill everyday the music which is played is DEEP HOUSE,CHILL DEEP HOUSE ,REAGAE ,ELETRO and TECH TRANCE . Every week is BBQ PARTY ,,,fireworks Born fire ,Fire jaggler and Rocking tunes .
bristol
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“good service”
Reviewed 17 May 2012

very good beach shack - good food and reasonable rates - the toilets were very good

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mbigaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

579 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    103
    42
    20
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“quality food on the beach”
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Ryans shack is perfect for lunch on the beach, it is noticable that this is a chef truely gifted in indian cuisine but with the suggestion of european influence. Typical indian dishes cooked with love and to the heat that suites your palate with some of the finer attributes found in european cooking, for example fish cooked in white wine and butter, fresh salad dressings and the biryani is a corker to!. All the lads working at ryans shack do thier upmost to look after you, always smiling, always happy. My highest recommendation for food on the beach.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachaeldean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east sussex
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“average shack”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Nice shack but overpriced compared to resturants. Found that you could get just as good meal and drinks in local restaurants for less money

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank EastSussexHaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ryan's Shack 2012”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stumbled upon Ryan's Shack on one of our daily walks along Candolim beach. We had tried two other shacks, niether were to Ryan's standards. The staff are very welcoming, Ryan himself takes time to meet and great all his guests, the food is fantastic and the toilets spotless, exeptional for a "beach shack". We were privilidged to be the last two customers of the 2011/2012 season, and the boys were dismanteling the shack, but all that stopped when we arrived. They served us drinks, and prepared food for us that was of a standard you would expect of a mainstream restaurant, at really reasonable prices, as always. We are going back to Goa in December, and Ryan's will be our first stop. BRILLIANT !!!!!!!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ColnJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
actonarthur2
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent shack,forget the moaners”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Just had a wonderful 3 weeks there and thoroughly enjoyed our experiences there every day.
Ryans shack is without a doubt the best shack we have been in and we have been in plenty of them.
Ryan the owner is a great guy who goes out of his way to greet all his customers and takes the time to chat to everyone.
The food i have to say was truly outstanding,we practically tried everything on the menu and my real favourites were chicken cafreal (had that several times) and also chciken chilly fry with cheese garlic naan.
His chips are absolutely fantastic,chunky chips and cooked in clean oil.
All of his team that work with him are really great and Vinnie (his right hand man) or as my wife calls him "superman" was brilliant.
I personally asked to look in the kitchen area and it was spotless in there, just could not believe how clean it was ,no food lying around,it was all in fridges.
The chefs accommodated my wife who doesnt do spicey food and she loved the butter vegetable noodles and Ryans special pancake.
The loo was also the best i have ever seen on any shacks.
Tiled floor and always spotless in there,there is a seperate urinal and also seperate wash basin with hand soap and paper towels.
We enjoyed our same spot on balcony 2 and they put our towels on there every day for us.
There is also a seperate shower so you can wash off the salt water after swimming which was really appreciated.
Just cannot describe what a great time we spent at this shack and Ryan was great company and truly cant wait to go back to say "Hi" next time.
Other reviews say its not the cheapest but in my eyes you get what you pay for and there are other shacks charging a lot more for drinks and food and not as good quality.Great location from where we were staying.
Shame its the end of the season for them now and the staff will now be made redundant till next season.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank actonarthur2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ryans Shack also viewed

 
Calangute, North Goa District
 

Been to Ryans Shack? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing