We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great property, average service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The O Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The O Hotel
Ranked #23 of 64 Hotels in Candolim
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great location, great property, average service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

This was my second stay at the O Hotel Goa, and I must say that the standards have come down, if only slightly. The property itself is great, with a beach all to itself and decent facilities, and the location (just 3 minutes scooter ride away from Candolim village, and 15 minutes from the hub of Baga) is superb. However, the service and the staff attitude needs to catch up.

The breakfast spread is very good, but there's never enough seating available. The room was quite comfortable, although the balcony is so tiny I think it's more a case of the architect having some spare space available rather than being a planned balcony. The shower is attached to the bathtub, so it's a bit of a clamber to get in and have a shower. Tall people (like myself) will bang their head into the rain-shower head :-D

At the end of the day, this is Goa. You don't come here expecting to use five-star facilities in your hotel. But when you're shelling out as much money (when most people prefer to stay in shacks in Goa), you expect your money to buy you something. It buys you location, it buys you a private beach, it buys you comfortable beds, but it does not buy you 4-star service.

Room Tip: Try and get a room near a staircase. Else you'll have to walk a long way everytime.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Atyanand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    230
    104
    36
    41
See reviews for
168
250
12
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

Visited this property with a few friends in June 2012.
I was expecting much better than what i got. Paid a decent 6.5k per room night but what we got was quite disappointing. The service was really bad. it started with a small car arriving to pick us up from thivim station for 4 passengers. The car driver was told that there are only 2 passengers. A big goof up. So travelled the 45 mins to the hotel in a cramped space. Then the rooms were not ready as we arrived but that was fine as the official check in time was 2 and we had arrived at 12.30. We got one room though after half an hour but had to carry our luggage to our room as we waiting for a long time for the bell boy to bring our luggage from the reception but when there were no signs of that happening even after a couple of reminder calls to the reception decided to do it ourselves. The pool is so small that with 10 people in it you would struggle for space. Definately not a pool for swimming, its just a large size bath tub i would say. Dont even get me started over the food. As we had a all meal plan we were served similar food all the 4 meals. The food wasnt great either. For deserts we had the same icecream all 4 meals plus a small other sweet added. There is no gaming room in the property, so if it rains in Goa and you cant go anywhere than all you do in this hotel is sit in your room and watch TV.
Definately not the kind of luxury you would expect right. Not a resort really. Its a glorified hotel with a casino.

Room Tip: None of the rooms have any view, so it really doesn't matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sachin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

will never visit this resort again and never recommend anybody the service here was phethatic had ordered for rotis and it took 20 mins for the same...the waiter served only two glasses of water when we were 5 on the table even the rooms were not clean.There was no facilities near swimming pool.even the food was not up to the standards

Room Tip: we had booked the Hotel for 16 to 18 June the hotel is quite ok but the service they given was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chirag812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

The O Hotel is located centrally in Candolim... walking distance to the market etc. It's a nice, well maintained property, decently big for it's location. The property also has an attached pool, not too big, but solves the purpose.

There's a private access to a beatiful beach from the property, with stunning views. However, we did witness some tar-ish/blackish sediments litered around the shore, which made it a tad unappealing.

The rooms are new, clean and well kept.

However, the staff/service is fairly average. While the staff is friendly, and seemingly helpful, they seemed rather unorganized.

There's a mediocre (at best) breakfast spread every morning, with a rather frantic staff. Surprisingly so, given that we were there during the off-season.

All in all, a good property, I'd stay there for the basic comforts. Wouldn't expect a vow. Given that we had paid off-season rates, it wasn't too shabby at all.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Divz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

Its a nice resort, not huge in area but excellent in decor and ambience. The location is strategic. with fort aguada and north goa beaches in vicinity. The Food is OK but its not something anybody is gonna complain about. The beach is at a stone throws distance . The beach is pretty good with a stylish shack, calamari. The hotel rooms are awesome. The service is a little laidback . The ground staffa re helpful, courteous.
The GYM , POOL and SPA is something they should have worked on.
Else, its a value for money resort.

Room Tip: all the rooms are standard with a garden facing view. U need to choose a Suite in order...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sudipto81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Candolim hotels
1.6 km away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
#7 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
0.9 km away
Lemon Tree Amarante Beach Resort, Goa
0.2 km away
Marquis Beach Resort
Marquis Beach Resort
#14 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Novotel Goa Shrem Hotel
Novotel Goa Shrem Hotel
#9 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
2.6 km away
Hyatt Place Goa Candolim
Hyatt Place Goa Candolim
#13 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.5 km away
Whispering Palms Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The O Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The O Hotel

Property: The O Hotel
Address: S Dando No 114/1, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Region: India > Goa > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Candolim
#12 Spa Hotel in Candolim
#13 Luxury Hotel in Candolim
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Candolim
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,589 - ₹ 13,749
Hotel Class:5 star — The O Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, ClearTrip, Agoda and Yatra so you can book your The O Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The o Hotel, Goa Hotel Candolim
The O Hotel Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing