We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not a 3Tmore like a 1T” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alegria - The Goan Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alegria - The Goan Village
Ranked #30 of 64 Hotels in Candolim
Certificate of Excellence
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“not a 3Tmore like a 1T”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Arrived at the hotel after completing the Golden triangle tour "excellent holiday up to this point" and was shown to our room " a deluxe room" on the second floor over looking the pool. On entering the room we were greeted by an awful smell, and what can only be described as a sub standard basic room. the shower had no shower curtain the bedding appeared unwashed. the door leading to the back balcony was poorly fitted and appeared unsecure. the view over the back balcony was one of an open sewer and the smell from it was very off putting. The room appeared dirty and the furniture both dated and shabby, which was not what we had paid for.
We returned to the reception and asked to be shown a deluxe room ,the manager assured us this was a deluxe room, at that point we asked to see another room but was informed there was none available. So we then contact the resort Rep and got moved to another hotel imeadiatley .The moral of this story is do not stop in this hotel unless there is no other option.

Room Tip: previously stayed in the Ronil hotel this is not a patch on that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank parmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    119
    41
    20
    14
See reviews for
88
115
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Im in my early twenties and me and my boyfriend stayed here. Customer services is fantastic they really go out of their way to make sure you have a great stay. Is A small hotel in a lovely setting and they even have a little spa where you can have massages and really chill out. I never got a chance but would have liked to. Nice bar to have a drink, bar staff are quick to ask if you would like a refill when finished, dont have to go back up. Room very clean. Spent one night at the hotel for the entertainment and was fantastic had a traditional indian dancer with a band and she gets you up to have a go with her. Whilst in the midst of all this theres fresh seafood. Choose what you want and the chef will cook it there and then. Absolutely fantastic best meal ive ever had. overall a big thumbs up fron me for this hotel. Keep an eye out for the marketing director nash mandrekar he is a lovely man, very welcoming. Me and my boyfriend struck up a good friendship with him and he is a brilliant person to ask on some of the best places to visit in goa. If anyone from the hotel is reading this thank you for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Escape1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We have just returned from a lovely 2 weeks in Candolim. We should have been staying at the Sonesta inns, where we stayed 2 years ago, and were disappointed to have been moved however as it turns out we liked the Goan Village better.

Although the Goan Village was not quite the same standard as Sonesta it was a very nice hotel in a very good location for lots of shops and restaurants. Our room, 304, was spacious and kept clean with a well stocked fridge (supermarket prices). However when the room was cleaned sometimes the clean towels were not delivered but contact with reception soon rectified this. The staff were all friendly and helpful and the food good especially the porridge at breakfast. the BBQ nights were good but I dont think they advertise them well enough. We had read on trip advisor that some of the rooms had noise from the dogs out back and we did hear these but it did not cause us a problem.

The beach is just a short walk from the hotel and we used to use the beach shack Club 21 which was great. We were looked after very well by Suresh and Bibi and the food was lovely.

There were so many good restaurants within easy reach of the hotel but some of the really good ones we found were Just Chinese, Green Jacket, Angaara (lovely Indian), Roma Pisa, Roys Thai and Ocean Beach Cafe. However for a simple fish & chips Patricks and Tonys are really good. If you want more upmarket food you need to go to After 7 at Calengute or East meets West at Baga which are only a tuk tuk or taxi ride away.

We were very pleased with our stay at this hotel and will probably come back to it next year or the year after.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blackpool16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

I spent 5 days from 14th to 18th Feb 2012 in this hotel and I must say this is the best place to be in Goa specially when you want to be around with the decent people not the raw and junk crowd. The food quality is awesum!!! I heard that North Indian food is not good anywhere in Goa but it was best at this place, starting from the breakfast to the dinner food was amazing.

Unlike other hotels like Le Seasons resort and many others the staff was nice and took good care of us. Just 2 min. is walk distance to Candolim beach and just in front of the hotel gate you will find 2/4 wheeler on rent.

All in all this is the best place if you are planning to go Goa with family or just couples.

Room Tip: Have a Suite Room which are nicely located and have good ambiance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank p7sharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Stayed at the Goan village last year year and enjoyed it, this year not so much room allocated was 208 directly of the dining room, chef stands at your room window, the back balcony is full of extractor fans from the kitchen, on complaining we were moved to 308 which at least had a balcony all be it noisy that you could sit on, once my attitude had changed from glass half full,to glass half empty I started seeing the grime around the light switches etc, the room had'nt been touched up or properly cleaned since last season, won't be staying there again.

Room Tip: If possible try for one on the village street at least they've got a bit charm about them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmsterdamGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Candolim hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Silver Sands Sunshine
0.5 km away
Casablanca
Casablanca
#21 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
0.9 km away
Sukhmantra Resort and Spa
Sukhmantra Resort and Spa
#47 of 64 in Candolim
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Sea Mist Resort
Sea Mist Resort
#22 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.6 km away
Casa Candolim
Casa Candolim
#29 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
1.5 km away
Baywatch Express Urbane
Baywatch Express Urbane
#32 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alegria - The Goan Village? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alegria - The Goan Village

Property: Alegria - The Goan Village
Address: Next to Health Centre, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Region: India > Goa > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Candolim
#11 Romantic Hotel in Candolim
#13 Spa Hotel in Candolim
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,868 - ₹ 5,606
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alegria - The Goan Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Algeria - The Goan Village is a 3 star vibrant resort adorned with psychedelic paintings ideal for all sorts of holiday goers. The hotel offers all the luxuries and comforts of home facilitated with an efficient service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ClearTrip, Agoda, Yatra and Hotels.com so you can book your Alegria - The Goan Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alegria - The Goan Village Hotel Candolim
Alegria - The Goan Village Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing