We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2012 Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alegria - The Goan Village
Ranked #30 of 64 Hotels in Candolim
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“2012 Holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We have just returned from a lovely 2 weeks in Candolim. We should have been staying at the Sonesta inns, where we stayed 2 years ago, and were disappointed to have been moved however as it turns out we liked the Goan Village better.

Although the Goan Village was not quite the same standard as Sonesta it was a very nice hotel in a very good location for lots of shops and restaurants. Our room, 304, was spacious and kept clean with a well stocked fridge (supermarket prices). However when the room was cleaned sometimes the clean towels were not delivered but contact with reception soon rectified this. The staff were all friendly and helpful and the food good especially the porridge at breakfast. the BBQ nights were good but I dont think they advertise them well enough. We had read on trip advisor that some of the rooms had noise from the dogs out back and we did hear these but it did not cause us a problem.

The beach is just a short walk from the hotel and we used to use the beach shack Club 21 which was great. We were looked after very well by Suresh and Bibi and the food was lovely.

There were so many good restaurants within easy reach of the hotel but some of the really good ones we found were Just Chinese, Green Jacket, Angaara (lovely Indian), Roma Pisa, Roys Thai and Ocean Beach Cafe. However for a simple fish & chips Patricks and Tonys are really good. If you want more upmarket food you need to go to After 7 at Calengute or East meets West at Baga which are only a tuk tuk or taxi ride away.

We were very pleased with our stay at this hotel and will probably come back to it next year or the year after.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blackpool16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    121
    41
    21
    14
See reviews for
90
117
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

I spent 5 days from 14th to 18th Feb 2012 in this hotel and I must say this is the best place to be in Goa specially when you want to be around with the decent people not the raw and junk crowd. The food quality is awesum!!! I heard that North Indian food is not good anywhere in Goa but it was best at this place, starting from the breakfast to the dinner food was amazing.

Unlike other hotels like Le Seasons resort and many others the staff was nice and took good care of us. Just 2 min. is walk distance to Candolim beach and just in front of the hotel gate you will find 2/4 wheeler on rent.

All in all this is the best place if you are planning to go Goa with family or just couples.

Room Tip: Have a Suite Room which are nicely located and have good ambiance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p7sharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Stayed at the Goan village last year year and enjoyed it, this year not so much room allocated was 208 directly of the dining room, chef stands at your room window, the back balcony is full of extractor fans from the kitchen, on complaining we were moved to 308 which at least had a balcony all be it noisy that you could sit on, once my attitude had changed from glass half full,to glass half empty I started seeing the grime around the light switches etc, the room had'nt been touched up or properly cleaned since last season, won't be staying there again.

Room Tip: If possible try for one on the village street at least they've got a bit charm about them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmsterdamGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire, England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

My wife and I have just returned from 2 weeks at "The Goan Village" - It's certainly not the best hotel in Candolim, but it's also a long way from being the worst. I'll try to be fairly honest with this review.

Rooms
A lot depends on where in the complex your room is I reckon. If yuo're on the ground floor, the rooms look quite cramped and one or two of them don't have very big windows and probably don't get a lot of natural light. You really don't want to be on the ground floor. The rooms that are on the first and sceond floors are OK (I stayed in room 303, and I also went into room 203 directly beneath which was virtually the same). These rooms had a balcony over looking the pool and one out the back overlooking.....not very much if truth be told.

The room I stayed in (rm 303) had a bit main "living area" that had two chairs, a ceiling fan, a stocked fridge (beers, soft drinks and water) and a dressing table and mirror. The bedroom had a large nice comfortable bed in it as well as a TV, ceiling fan and air conditioning unit. The bathroom was a wet room type affair with a shower in the corner.

The room was OK although a new lick of paint wouldn't have gone amiss. It was clean though to be fair and was cleaned everyday. The bedding has clearly been used for quite a while as it wasn't as white as it might have been, although it was always clean. The towels were changed everyday, although a few times we had to call to reception and ask for a couple more large ones to be sent up, as they didn't leave enough. The extra towels always arrived within a matter of minutes. The towles, like thebedding have obviously been around for a few years, as they were definitely not white anymore, although you could tell they had always been washed and they didnb't smell....they just didn't look clean.

Pool
The pool is quite nice, although which idiot decided to tile it with green and dark blue tiles needs a good talking to, this always made the pool look dark and dirty. The pool is cleaned every morning at breakfast time and is very clean, it just doesn't look it due to the colouration of the tiles (which should have been light blue, as most swimming pools have)

Breakfast
A lot of places in Goa just offer tea and toast as breakfast, with other items being charged. Not the case here, there was a selection of cereals and some fresh fruit. There is also, chaning on a daily basis, a a selection of other hot food stuffs as well. There is also an omelete station as well, where you can request your choice of filling and they bring it over within a matter of minutes. You can also request boiled eggs and fried eggs etc. The breakfast at this place is very good.

Location
You'll not get a much better location in Candolim. It's opposite Delfinos which is the new supermarket in Candolim, which I prefer to Newtons. It's also only 5 or so minutes walk from beach road, and the beach can be accessed via a 5 minute walk through the back of the hotel as well. There is also a bus stop and a taxi rank right outside the gate as well

Food
To be honest, other than breakfast, we only eat there once, and that was for one of their Barbecue Nights (Monday, Wednesday & Friday) - the food was OK, but there was little or no atmosphere, so my advice would be don't bother with it and venture out to one of the other myriad of places available

As said in my title, it's not the best, but it's not the worst place I've stayed in when visiting Candolim. I would probably stay there again, but I would want a gurantee of not getting a ground room floor!

Room Tip: Email the resot first and ask for a room on the second floor, as these seem to be the best ones - I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank erictcow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
86 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

Just returned from 2 weeks at the Goan Village and as it was our first time in India it was a culture shock for the first couple of days.
We were in a "deluxe" room on the top floor which had formerly been an apartment and the kitchen was hidden by the wardrobe which was in front of an archway.The lounge area was very basic and had a ceiling fan.The bedroom had a/c and a fan.The bathroom was a wetroom and the water was heated by an immersion heater so it took a few minutes between showers to heat up.
The bedding and towels were a bit poor but clean and sometimes in short supply as we had to phone a few times as towels were not automatically replaced when the room was cleaned.
Cleaning standards were basic but on reflection they had very poor cleaning materials supplied and some bleach down the toilet and some disinfecant wouldnt have gone amiss.
For those that mentioned the linen was blood stained it was just other guests who had henna tatoos and presumably the laundry the hotel uses does not have biological washing powder!
There were notices in the rooms concerning the tatoos and guests were warned that they would be charged for stains which occured.Whether this ever happened I dont know.
We had 2 balconies one overlooking the pool and one at the back overlooking "local life " which was interesting but a problem when you were woken a couple of times in the night by barking wild dogs.
The staff were all friendly and polite and breakfast was a bit unusual but the porridge was great and the chef made lovely omelettes.It would have been nice to have had better quality coffee & tea although we got used to what was on offer.
To me the bar area was not very welcoming for an evening but fine to use in the day if you were by the pool.
A negative point was the Russians who were staying there were very noisy and drinking alcohol at breakfast time.Needless to say we didnt stay around at night as there were so many good eating places and bars nearby.
We did get a safety deposit box which was near reception at a charge of 100rupees a day but saying that it was a perfectly safe hotel with 24hr security.
The maintenance of the hotel building was poor especially at the back and also new furniture and fridges were desperately needed.
We still had a lovely holiday and the situation of the hotel and pleasant staff made it for us.
We travelled with Thomson and I think they were a bit generous in giving the hotel a 3 star rating even though the official rating is 2 star.
I feel we got what we payed for considering the cost of our holiday and I would say that I might stay there again if nothing better was available for a similar price.

Room Tip: Rooms over reception seem good but there is no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank funnyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Candolim hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Silver Sands Sunshine
0.3 km away
Sea Mist Resort
Sea Mist Resort
#24 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.6 km away
Casa Candolim
Casa Candolim
#31 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Casablanca
Casablanca
#23 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.9 km away
Sukhmantra Resort and Spa
Sukhmantra Resort and Spa
#49 of 64 in Candolim
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
1.5 km away
Baywatch Express Urbane
Baywatch Express Urbane
#29 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alegria - The Goan Village? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alegria - The Goan Village

Property: Alegria - The Goan Village
Address: Next to Health Centre, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Region: India > Goa > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Candolim
#11 Romantic Hotel in Candolim
#13 Spa Hotel in Candolim
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,723 - ₹ 5,381
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alegria - The Goan Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Algeria - The Goan Village is a 3 star vibrant resort adorned with psychedelic paintings ideal for all sorts of holiday goers. The hotel offers all the luxuries and comforts of home facilitated with an efficient service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelQuickly, Agoda, ClearTrip and Yatra so you can book your Alegria - The Goan Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alegria - The Goan Village Hotel Candolim
Alegria - The Goan Village Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing