We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very mismanaged hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kohinoor

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Diu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Kohinoor
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Diu
Certificate of Excellence
Ahmedabad
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very mismanaged hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

Hi,

I visited this hotel during August 2011 with my family. I had checked reviews at trip advisor before booking the hotel and was satisfied with the available reviews. However, on day 1 of reaching the place when we went for the dinner (included in our package), I was shocked to see that it was served in a large hall with no tables but only small chairs and coffee tables arranged randomly. Imagine the site of attending a wedding in Gujarat with guests just taking any available small chairs and tables and making their own arrangements.

Rooms very decent however, bathroom were not properly cleaned. It did not have any ventilation thus used to stink on every usage. Most surprising thing was they dont provide remotes for AC! Our room balcony was facing the water park and was dirty and smelly. Water park was under maintainence.

Food quality was very very average with flies in sandwich on some occasions. Room service was prompt but had very limited items available. Also, they were very expensive if you compare with the Hotel Azarro which is just opposite to this hotel.

There were multiple occasions when the reception, room service gave us bills with errors in values and totals thus we had to be very careful. During check out their credit card machine malfunctioned and it seemed it was being used for the first time. We were invoiced even for items that were included in our package like morning Tea / Coffee.

On the positive side, they have a nice swimming pool and beer and snacks being easily served next to the pool. Rules were also enforced for usage of pool which was heartening to see. They have a large garden which is well maintained.

Overall, it was a hotel with good infrastructure but very bad management. I would never recommend this hotel for the price we paid. Maybe if you can get it for 2000-2500 per night it may be a good deal.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank call_gaurav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    41
    22
    4
    1
See reviews for
46
17
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

there was good service for food and room accommodation facility. . All rooms and suites are furnished to the finest standards of luxury with complete amenities. Rooms are designed not only for their comfort and style, but also for maximum convenience. All rooms combine contemporary elegance with facilities beyond expectations.

Room Tip: room was clean and all facilities in attach bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arvinda_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ahmedabad
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2011

Good stay. the location is good on airport road. Spacious area of the hotel. The rooms are well located. Service is good enough. But more politeness and instant response woua have been preferred. A clean and calling swimming pool. But the environment is not taht calling. Rooms are good but typical smell of a hotel and first entry give a repelling effect.

Food is good. But overall good stay for a day or two. But beach is far oof and u have to walk r move by a vehicle.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyingbirdahmedabad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2010

Was visiting diu on friends recomendation for the fiirst time.....a little apprehensive.but was totally overtaken by the beauty of the place and most important the hotel we stayed in...hotel kohinoor ...very beautiful property...good rooms ,hygienic and clean and most important the best food u can possibly think..since i was with my kid their waterpark ,gamesroom andpoolkept him busy while we had a great time at their Ayurvedic massages and great evening walks on beautiful roads of diu....it's actually a paradise unknown to many but unforgetful once u visit it....already planning to go with a large group of friend vey soon....but undoubtedly staying at the hotel....a sure recommendation.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PadmajaBatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

We were 4 people who visited the Hotel as Family. Pros are the swimming

pool, beautiful lawn and 24hr service. Resturant had great food. But the

rooms need more cleanliness. We had to call the housekeeping guys to spray

some room freshner too. The hotel is located in city center and is the best

hotels in diu the only draw back is it dose not have beach adjoined to it,

but the hotel pool is good.

Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank alokmisra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diu
0.4 km away
Krishna Park Resort
Krishna Park Resort
#11 of 17 in Diu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
1.8 km away
Apana Hotel
Apana Hotel
#8 of 17 in Diu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.0 km away
The Fern Residency Somnath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Kostamar Beach Resort
1.6 km away
Hotel Apaar
Hotel Apaar
#2 of 26 in Diu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
10.1 km away
Hotel Relax Inn
Hotel Relax Inn
#16 of 26 in Diu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kohinoor? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kohinoor

Property: Hotel Kohinoor
Address: Fofrara-Fudam, Diu 362520, India
Region: India > Daman and Diu > Diu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Diu
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,668 - ₹ 4,585
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kohinoor 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Kohinoor Hotel Diu
Hotel Kohinoor Diu, Daman And Diu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing