We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel in Daman”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Emerald

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Emerald
Ranked #14 of 24 Daman B&B and Inns
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Daman”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

This is 'the' best VFM hotel ever seen. Actually the rooms are better than the premium hotels in Daman.

The hotel is in the heart of the city (!!!) and is 3km from the beach.

Service and food are OK.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ManuShankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    11
    11
    4
    5
See reviews for
12
7
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kerala
Level Contributor
169 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 523 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

I was actually about to stay in another hotel, but there was some problem with the booking and i ended up in Hotel Emerald. It's in the Nani Daman town, close to beach. From outside, it looks like it's going to cost you a lot. But it's not. It's a cool, excellent budget hotel with all rooms Air Conditioned, nice bathrooms,fast and good room service, nice menu, a good lounge, great bar and excellent staff. All rooms are equipped with satellite television, phones even in bathroom, small refridgerator, nice cupboards. Rooms are clean and well maintained. Corridors well lit and clean. Food is excellent, especially the Desserts. No complimentary breakfast, but if you pay for one, it's wonderful.When you walk in you'll be well greeted and be provided with a small pamphlet with all train timings from Vapi (the nearest railway station) and the places to visit and the distance to those places. Walk into the bathroom and you'll find a whole kit with Tooth brush,tooth paste, soap, shampoo,a comb and even Shaving Set!! 24 hours running hot water. But the water is a bit brackish. You won't feel completely fresh even soon after a bath. One problem that i found was with the check-out time which is 11 AM. That's a little bit disturbing, making this not good for a holiday location. Let me add a very important point. NO BED BUGS/Mosquitoes/ House flies unlike many other budget hotels out in the same locality. I would recommend this to all business travellers and those holiday goers who have no problem in checking out at 11 AM!!

Room Tip: Try for 2nd floor rooms, bathrooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank doctor-indyeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2011

Hey,
My family just decided to hop on to Daman to spend the New Years and we drove there all the way from Mumbai. I did try calling some hotels for bookings but most of them were either fully booked or didnt have a prior booking facility. But most of them assured me rooms saying that Daman had lots of hotels as it is a holiday hotspot, so I should get a place to stay even without prior booking. And they were right. Daman is loaded with a lots of hotels fitting every budget.
Hotel Emerald is on the Sea Face Road, Nani Daman centrally located in the market place and a stones throw from the rocky beach. Infact most of the hotels mentioned in trip advisor are just adjacent to each other. Hotel Emerald has a very cosy family feel to itself with the interiors a bit glossy but yet beautiful and modern. They also have a lift inside for the two floors. We took the deluxe room on the first floor whose biggest selling point was the bathroom tub. When on vacation with children, thats all the kids want in their hotel room. The room is also tastefully done complete with a wall painting and false ceiling. The sheets and the towels were also clean. We were three adults; myself, my husband and MIL and also two kids. But the room was spacious enough to accomodate all of us with an extra bedding. The bathrooms were clean and spick with all the signature toiletries as a four or five star would provide. We also had a fridge in our room. There is no view from the room but I aint complaining.(See room snaps) The staff was also courteous and helpful.
Breakfast is not included in the tariff but the room service was adequate. We ordered for a south indian snacks for breakfast half expecting sweet sambhar gujju style but were sure surprised to receive the perfect crisp dosa and spicy sambhar like in an udupi joint. Even the puri bhajji was delicious. The restaurant near the reception is very tastefully done, infact I would say the designer has poured his heart out into the decor. Very nicely color coordinated with great fittings. And the food is also worth a try. And oh yes, they also have free internet connectivity in the room, which was very useful for us.
And what makes me most happy was that it wasnt exorbitantly priced (unlike the other hotels we visited) considering we had gone on New Years and that too being a weekend. Just a little marginally over the normal tariff. All in all Hotel Emerald really did make my New Years special.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manasi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2010

We were 3 friends who stayed in The Emerald for a day. The hotel's ambience was Good. The room was spacious and luxurious for the tariff we paid. The best part was the food. No complaints. They make everything good from Rotis to rice to continental. Hats of the the Hotel Team. They made our stay very memorable.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivekmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daman in India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2010

the hotel is right in the town.
the restaurant serves good food, you dont have to look anywhere else.
co operative staff.
overall a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ar_kshitij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Daman hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Sovereign
Hotel Sovereign
#5 of 17 in Daman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
2.2 km away
Silver Sands Beach Resort Daman
3.9 km away
Hotel Jazira
Hotel Jazira
#7 of 17 in Daman
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hotel Saikripa Imperial & Vista Rooms
4.4 km away
Sandy Resort
Sandy Resort
#4 of 17 in Daman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Gurukripa
Hotel Gurukripa
#6 of 17 in Daman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emerald? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emerald

Property: The Emerald
Address: Sea Face Road, Daman 396210, India
Region: India > Daman and Diu > Daman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Daman
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,998 - ₹ 3,351
Hotel Class:2 star — The Emerald 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip, Yatra and Agoda so you can book your The Emerald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Emerald Daman, Daman And Diu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing