We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service--good basic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Alamogordo
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Alamogordo
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good service--good basic hotel”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We had a very good basic room, but what made me give a great rating was the service we received at this Hampton. The lady at the front desk went out of her way to open up the sun porch outside the pool early one morning. They also have sleds they will loan you to use at White Sands. They had a list of resturants to hand out at the front desk and we visited two of them. Breakfast was typical and room amenities were good. Only negatives were that our a/c didn't work very well in our room and the mattresses on the bet were too soft for me--seemed a bit old.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    140
    52
    12
    9
See reviews for
118
120
13
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This pool is one of the cleanest and largest indoor pools I've used in a hotel. My three kids had a great time here. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was everything you'd expect. I have only good things to say about this property and the management. Everything was great.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TouristCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Went to White Sands on a weekend trip.
This Hampton has the nicest pool and hot tub I've seen. Nice and clean. Adjacent to a Chili's and across the street from Golden Corral.
Breakfast was pretty good.
Only drawback was the walls seem too thin. I guess its my fault but I asked for a downstairs room. Apparently a family with a couple over-active kids had the room above us. Heard them running back and forth unitl about 11:00 pm and started up about 6:30 am. Could hear several showers running, toilets flushing etc.
Not the managements fault. Thought they were great. Will stay there again, just upstairs.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joeboe57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
266 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We enjoy the Hampton Inns, and stay often when we travel. Physically they're all pretty much the same, so the evaluation is in the execution, and this one falls a little short. We were in 216, a handicap room because there were no other kings left. The handicap room had an ordinary tub shower with extra grips and the bathroom was big enough for a wheelchair, but if you are mobility challenged, beware that you'll need to climb into a tub to take a shower, unlike the usual handicap bathroom stall shower. All of my complaints are small, but all in all they add up to a less than expected performance. Usually there are three or four bath towels at a Hampton, here there are two. The hooks on the back of the bathroom door were loose and almost falling off. The hot water isn't hot, it's only pretty warm, and showers are taken with only hot water on. The shower head is at the end of a hose, but the attachment to the wall is too low for tall people (I'm 6' 3”) and anyway the holder for the head is loose so the shower aims at the drain and won't stay up. The rubber tub mat was not taken up when the room was cleaned and the tub was not cleaned. With only about six people at breakfast when we arrived, the coffee had run out and was not replaced for about ten minutes. And so on. The bed was comfortable, the lighting was good, the TV was fine, so everything was OK, but not up to expectations.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vpoleshuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Park, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

This Hampton in Alamogordo is an ok hotel for us. Let me start with the positive. The front desk personnel was really nice. I requested to be moved to another room and she gladly moved me. They served breakfast like any other Hampton Inn. The room is clean and when we requested for some items, they provided. Basically what you need is here, a place to sleep, clean and safe and a good breakfast. The internet is fast. But if you want or expect something nicer, this is not it. Alamogordo is not a huge city, so I wasn't expecting much. They have an indoor pool by the way.

The price for the night we stayed, I would not say it was cheap because of the hotel condition. The hotel lobby and rooms looks dated. But still clean and you can sleep. The breakfast area is small, you have to wait sometimes when there's a lot of people. This is probably an older Hampton and it needs updating. As per their website when I booked, I believe they are going to do some renovations. So maybe next time, it might look and feel better. I'm a Hhonors member so I might still check this Hampton again before booking another hotel in the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vicamille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alamogordo hotels
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites
0.2 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Alamogordo
0.6 km away
Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 13 in Alamogordo
144 reviews
6.1 km away
Super 8 Alamogordo
Super 8 Alamogordo
#2 of 13 in Alamogordo
647 reviews
0.4 km away
White Sands Motel
White Sands Motel
#1 of 13 in Alamogordo
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Alamogordo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Alamogordo

Property: Hampton Inn Alamogordo
Address: 1295 Hamilton Rd, Alamogordo, NM 88310-7823
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Alamogordo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Alamogordo
#3 Family Hotel in Alamogordo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alamogordo
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,969 - ₹ 11,421
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Alamogordo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are several restaurants with in walking distance. We have an indoor pool and fitness room. We have a nice hot breakfast daily from 6am to 10am ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Alamogordo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Alamogordo Hotel Alamogordo
Alamogordo Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing